We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of The Holt Fleet

The Holt Fleet
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family owned and run business since 1983. Open all day everyday for food and drinks, using local produce where possible. We are a popular wedding venue and have a civil marriage license. We offer a Sunday carvery and also run a light bite, table d'hote and main menu.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Menu is much to long so I should have known better. Most food comes out of the microwave and choice is unoriginal.
Bar service was fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoobydosue, Public Relations Manager at The Holt Fleet, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

Our menu is extensive and I wouldn't describe it as unoriginal, however non of our food is microwaved. Most food is prepared from scratch , locally sourced and homemade. Even our chips are homemade!

There are no details on when you visited or what was ordered to substantiate the comments made, therefore this is based on lack of knowledge of our menu. If you would like to discuss how our food is prepped please do not hesitate to contact us.



Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    75
    28
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers without the comedy”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have been here twice the first time was for a drink and we found an old lady scratching around the bar hilarious. She was clearly getting in the way of the younger staff who was clearly more efficient. She took a long time to serve the drinks we asked for some crisps where she picked up grubby cardboard box where there was a random selection of crisps, having not found the ones we wanted she did not tell what was in the box. We sat and watched this entertaining lady pottering around for some time.However we saw people eating and the food looked good so we decided to come next time to eat.
In hindsight we should of booked. We decided to take our boat down the river and stay overnight near the Jolt fleet where we were intending to have a night food and drink. We arrived just before 7pm and saw people order food. We had a drink and went to order and we were told that we would not be served food as they had a large function. We asked if even we could have a sandwich or some chips as at this point the lock had been closed and we could not return on the boat. The waitress went to speak to the chef and returned reporting that we could not be served due to the function. We were made to feel unwelcome and that repeat business wasn't important to them
Therefore stranded we ordered a taxi to stourport and had a wonderful meal there.
This was last summer and maybe things have improved however i will not be going there to find out

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurtleScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoobydosue, Public Relations Manager at The Holt Fleet, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our venue when you visited last summer,

I apologise you felt unwelcomed when trying to order food, but we are a very busy summer venue particularly in the wedding season and cannot always provide meals in what we deem a suitable amount of time, therefore you would have been told there was a delay in ordering, not that no food at all was available. I can state this as a fact as we are a family run and owned business and my husband is the head chef.

If you had have booked as you thought you should have then we would have been able to acommodate you immediately at the time booked.

As I mentioned we are a family business, and the 'old lady' you refer to is my mother who has worked here for over 30 years, many customers love and respect her so feel it unecessay to make such personal comments in your review.

However, we would welcome your business and if you would like to book and actually try our food next time, you will see for yourself why we are so busy, then maybe we will get a fairer review as you will have experienced what we offer here at The Holt Fleet

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good quality food, and a great setting”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great quality food, always tastes very fresh, steaks are wonderful, and the chips are a real treat, not what you get in your average pub. Always look forward to the crunchy side salad, never managed 3 courses, but puddings look good too.

Like the conservatory dining area, If you remember to book Sunday Carvery is fab.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drjulian-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5*”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic Carvery, portion control is not an issue! The family and staff are clearly dedicated to producing food beautifuly presented, cooked to perfection and not overly priced. Having dined here over a period of 5 years the experience is consistently first class, no mean feat in this day and age.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Carvery in Worcestershire”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, lovely food, wonderful location and the beer isn't bad either.
A real family run establishment, well done.

Helpful?
3 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holt Fleet also viewed

Ombersley, Worcestershire
Ombersley, Worcestershire
 
Hallow, Malvern Hills
Ombersley, Worcestershire
 
Holt, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Holt Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing