We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo Springs Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samburu Simba Lodge
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime!!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This was our fist 2 night stay on our Virgin 7 day safari! I celebrated my birthday here and have to say it will never be beaten!! The lodge was truely amazing. All rooms look over the African planes with views of animals everywhere!! Even the shower had a window in it so you didnt miss the view!!

At one point our party of 4 were the only guests in the lodge which meant the staff could not do enough for us - dinner to order, drinks on tap and information about the animals whenever we needed.

If you are only staying in one lodge whilst on safari make it this one! AMAZING!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a middle room to ensure a window in the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the lodge on our first 2 nights of our 11 night safari in Kenya during Dec.

We were welcomed by cool towels and cool drinks and quickly shown to our lovely, spacious rooms overlooking the park. Immediately an elephant ambled by.

The lodge seemed very quiet during our stay (only one other family). They assured us it was because of the "time of the year", but we wondered if it had more to do with the recent tensions in the nearby town of Isiolo. Nonetheless the service was always excellent.

The food was good with a mix of a la carte meals and buffet. We particularly enjoyed the Indian food. We were well attended by Martha for the time we were there and she quickly learned the names of our children and helped attend to their needs.

There were a few more "bugs" there at dusk and dawn than at other locations but they had just had some big rains. We were able to spend one afternoon around the pool which was lovely. Vervet monkeys and olive baboons strolled by for a visit much to our kids delight.

The park was wonderful and we were able to see some great animals when out on Safari.

Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akelsall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I went to this lodge in November 2010 with my girlfriends, this was our first stop on a 10 day trip accross Kenya. The lodge was nice with friendly staff, spacious rooms and a great view of the park. I wasn't a huge fan of the 'english food', but the Indian food was very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Samburu Simba Lodge for 3 nights in October 2011 during our 3 week African Adventure holiday.

We travelled by road from Nairobi which takes approx 5 to 6 hours. Upon arriving at the Lodge we were greeted by the staff with some refreshing hot towels and cool fruit drinks (which was a welcoming touch).

Our room was spacious and modern and decorated in African décor. Each room has a large balcony looking out to the reserve.

The meals are served buffet style with a large variety to choose from each day (and the menu changes each day).

You are allocated a waiter for your whole stay so the atmosphere in the dining area is friendly and relaxed. This gives you the opportunity to get to know your waiter a lot more than if they changed each day.

The only tip we would suggest is if you are travelling from Nairobi, fly into Samburu rather than travel by road. It’s a fair distance and is a lot quicker by Air (although you are restricted to 15kg’s of luggage each)

The Game Drives are very good with a lot of animals to see (although they can be quite well spread out in the Park).

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our first Safari experience in Kenya and our stay at Samburu Simba Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySKI_ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Outstanding service and staff. Excellent brand new and clean accommodations. Nice open big deck with well stocked bar. Elephants stroll within 50 yards. All meals were very good and served buffet style. Lots of options. Went here as part of a 2 week safari and it was definitely in the top 10% of places stayed.

Room Tip: Top rooms have excellent view of the water and animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was the first lodge we visited in east africa.The moment we set foot in the lodge I was amazed by its cleanliness & beauty.The staff was very friendly. They served us with wet towels & welcome drinks. The rooms were spacious & clean. The toilet was modern. It looked like the lodge was newly renovated. The pool at the lodge was refreshing.The view from the balcony in the room was great. We saw herds of elephants passing by from the balcony.The food was very delicious with lots of varities. Altogether the two night stay at the lodge was excellent. We saw many rare animals in samburu like orix, reticulated giraffe, gravy's zebra, kudu, nile crocodiles etc. We also saw many elephants, cape buffellos, dikdiks, gazels, many varieties of birds like the mara bushstork, red beak hornbill & two leopards from up close. There is a resident nile crocodile & a resident hippo in the waterhole of the samburu simba lodge.The ambience, rooms, food, gift shop, hospitality, cleanliness, decoration& view from the lodge was incomparable. In one word the stay in samburu simba lodge was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonale19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants. UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we were simply blown away by the view from our room, looking across the small lake (with a Crocodile) we saw antelope giraffe and elephants, all in a vast open plain. and then the baboons came! rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly, the food was good. And the infinity pool is a great place to cool down while you watch animals roaming the plains as nature intended. I could have stayed there forever ;o)

Room Tip: rooms on the other side of the pool from the main bar restaurant area all face the best view in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buffalo Springs Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
841 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#12 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Simba Lodge

Property: Samburu Simba Lodge
Address: Buffalo Springs Game Reserve, Buffalo Springs Game Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Buffalo Springs Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buffalo Springs Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Samburu Simba Hotel Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing