We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bonner Springs
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We ended up at this hotel on a last minute trip when all the hotels in Lawrence were full due to a football game. Check-in was efficient and the front desk clerk was pleasant and helpful. We were lucky to get the last available room but unfortunately we were not happy with the room. It was a non-smoking room, but we could smell smoke from nearby rooms. The room did not seem clean- there were imprints on the bedspread indicating someone had been lying or sitting on the bed. The carpet had stains and did not smell clean. We spent the night and departed as soon as possible in the early AM.

Also- avoid the nearby Waffle House. Scary.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dougly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimi G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
So sorry to hear about your experience last fall. We have been making changes on our third floor to help eliminate the smoke odor from the smoking rooms which I do believe has helped the situation. I apologize for the inconvenience and really wish we had been made aware of the problem while you were here and we could have moved you to a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
12
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel was just ok. I didn't have any soap in my room so I had to get re-dressed and go down to the desk and get some (not a big deal). The TV was kind of crappy and wouldn't even display the channel (again, not a big deal). The toilet would barely flush (I dealt with it). What really grossed me out and the reasons for only the average rating was that there was some red/brown crusty boogery substance on one of my bath towels, which I'm glad I saw before I used it and the tub was pretty gross.

Pros
bed was comfortable
good location
friendly staff
decor was not that ultra modern retro crap that other hotels are switching to
room had refrigerator
ok free breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkiesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I would rate our one night stay as average.

Check-in was easy, friendly desk person. We were on the third floor, where half of the rooms were smoking and the other half were non-smoking, so the hallway had a smell. The elevator was extremely warm inside, as were the stairwells. Too tired to use the pool/hot tub. The pool looked very small, but clean.

The room was clean and odor-free, and the bathroom was clean and in good shape. Clean sheets, comfortable (soft) mattress, no bugs. Only complaints with the room were the TV (not the best picture) and there was some gum on the curtains.

Breakfast was excellent (as Holiday Inn Express usually is), however it was not all ready to go at 6:00am when it was supposed to open, and the attendant was still getting things ready by the time we were finished eating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a2myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Nice hotel room - comfy bed but our room was on the third floor which we did not realize is half smoking, half non-smoking so cigarette smell was strong in the hallway and seeps into the non-smoking rooms. Water pressure issue - I was in the shower covered in soap and conditioner in my hair when the water completely shut off. Staff said that happens when they are cleaning the pool.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor where the whole floor is non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

When my friends and I arrived we were impressed by the decor of the Holiday Inn. So, we expected great service. we were sadly disappointed. "Helen" seemed very annoyed that we had arrived to inquire about rooms. First she suggested we go to the hotel next door. Then once we heard the expensive rate, we decided to stay, much to her annoyance. After some gruff instructions of where we should park she disappeared before we got all of our questions answered. We waited for her to return, when she did not we called out at the front desk. Looking scary like the crazy lady from the movie Misery, she arrived at the front desk and asked "What did you need now?"
All we could do that night was laugh about how rude she had been - they really allow people like that to be ina customer service position?
Room was ok, but not worth the price. Breakfast was ok, the omeletes a little soggy, but we got full.
I would not recommend this hotel. But the next time we were in town we did go to the hotel she suggested across the way.
If you are looking

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripFantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimi G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
This employee is no longer with the hotel (as of late June, 2011)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bonner Springs hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

This property was sold and is under new management in spring 2011. The previous owner let the property run down over several years. IHG did nothing, but collect the franchise fees. Sad, but true, IHG (the Holiday Inn Parent franchise Company) allowed the bad property owner (franchise owner) to abuse customers by not following basic standards. Be careful if you must stay here until all remodeling is complete. Ask to SEE the room before you take it. Look for running toilets, lumpy - old bed mattresses, and smelly rooms. The location is good, right off I-70. It is close to the NASCAR racetrack - however - they increase room rates by more than 100 % every race weekend - because they can - plan to pay about $200 a night for a poor quality room - or just the basics - like a Motel 6. Employees are nice, but the product is bad. There is free parking and internet and a free big breakfast. There is a small indoor pool. There are several fast food restaurants in the area around the hotel, within walking distance. Overall - a bad sleep - old - soft - lumpy mattresses. Small pillows, Filthy carpet. Old Fish Eye TV's with a limited number of channels. No restaurant on site. There is a Super 8 next door owned by the previous bad owners - good luck with that one.

Room Tip: Look before you take the Room - Good Luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nearnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimi G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Sorry to see you had such a bad experience last year. You are correct in that the hotel is under new management now and all renovations are complete, including new TV's in all rooms. Please give us a try again and I believe you will find the experience quite different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Bonner Springs on our way to Colorado for a fall vacation. We usually stay in the area near Cabellas but the friends we visit in KC had recently moved to Bonner Springs, so we stayed at the H I Express. It was an average stay for a H I Express. The breakfast was really lacking and not up to ordinary standards. I had some leftover burnt ends and I warmed them up for breakfast or things would have been pretty sparse. The room was clean and comfortable as expected. Nothing special but adequate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonner Springs
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Bonner Springs
Super 8 Bonner Springs
#1 of 2 in Bonner Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#9 of 21 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs
Address: 13031 Ridge Dr, Bonner Springs, KS 66012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Bonner Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bonner Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Kansas City-Bonner Springs is located on the west side of Kansas City, at the intersection of I-70 and K7 Highway, just west of the Kansas Speedway, Cabela's, and Nebraska Furniture Mart. We are also the closest hotel to the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, Kansas Renaissance Festival, and Basehor Field of Dreams. We are within walking or short driving distance to a great selection of fine dining and fast food restaurants. We offer 63 guest rooms with Sealy Posturepedic Plush mattresses, an indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, free wireless high speed internet in all guest rooms and public areas, voice mail, 48 digital satellite TV channels including ESPN, ESPN2, Fox Sports Network, 7 HBO channels, complimentary Express Start Breakfast, and refrigerators in every room. We also offer eleven Executive King Rooms that are optimized for business and three Jacuzzi Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bonner Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bonner Springs
Bonner Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing