We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you know how marbles are made?”

Moon Marble Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Find your marbles at the Moon! Shop for marbles, traditional toys & games, and gifts that will remind you of your childhood. See marbles made throughout the year by a glass artist! Call or click for demo schedule.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
477 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Do you know how marbles are made?”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

While this is a retail store that sells manufactured marbles, toys, and other items, the attraction is that you can watch an artisan make a marble. it is interesting, educational, and fascinating to watch how glass rods are heated and blended together, and then decorated to make a marble. And these are not your dime store marbles, they are pieces of art, with the price of a piece of art.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    31
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the stop”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Traveling to KC for the weekend, we stopping at the marble factory. We had a great time. Bruce was informative and amusing while demonstrating the art of marble making. The collection of nostalgic toys and games were awesome. Brought back many childhood memories.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KsAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“even fun for big kids (adults)”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This tour of a marble company includes a nice demonstration of hand made glass fused marbles. The owner Bruce does the fusing demonstrations with wit and humor. Fascinating demonstration of custom marble construction.

Also made but not demonstrates are paperweights and other fine glass art.

Cool toys are available for purchase.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“a must see on every kansas city visit!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

we always come here when we visit kansas city! we love playing agrevation so this last visit became a mission! with marble names like white tiger, butterfly, zombie, t-rex, etc., there is something for everyone. we all got to pick the perfect marble to pit against each other! they show marbles being made the old fashioned way and also give marble shooting demonstrations! there is also a huge selection of vintage toys, t-shirts, and glass art to purchase, check this place out on your next visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank eroom5721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Found this place in an online search- we totally enjoyed it- It looks kinda shady when you pull in the lot, but it's worth it. When you walk in, you will see tons of marbles in bins- keep in mind those are NOT made there, the ones they make are in the next room. We found this out after we bought a ton of them. On Saturdays, they do a marble making demo at 10- it was pretty interesting to watch and the man who makes the marbles was very nice- actually, the whole staff was. We are glad we found this place while in Kansas City

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanillac2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Marble Company also viewed

 
Bonner Springs, KS
Kansas City, KS
 

Been to Moon Marble Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing