We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too cold rooms for so much money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The lodge is very nice and the rooms awesome. Only let it know that we went in august and it was very cold days. The room had not heaters and to be honest it was an unforgetable night. But on the bad side.

The guide was very good and the place very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting Wolwedans, we appreciate your custom. Unfortunately, Winter in the desert is cold and we have not found a safe and ecologically friendly solution to warm up our tents, considering our current solar supply system. I'm sure you appreciate the huge cost behind running a hospitality operation like Wolwedans in such a remote location, and with eco committment as well. We're so sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations.
Kind regards
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is one of the most extraordinary places we have ever been to. The landscape is breathtaking ...

We will never forget the scenic drives with "Felix" our personal guide.
A very big thank you to Eric and the wonderful staff!! Every single detail was cared for to make us feel comfortable and at home in the middle of the desert!
Friendly Staff, great food, We will be back one day ...
And yes ... it was cold ... august is winter in Namibia .. but for us that didn't spoil the fun nor the overall magnificent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guldemont1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest
thank you for your five-star review, your personal praises of the team and for sharing your experiences with the TA readers.
We will forward your feedback to the team, who will be most grateful that they satisfied their guests. Wishing you many more returns to Wolwedans.
Kind regards, ALison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The setting of Wolwedans Dune Lodge is mind-blowingly beautiful. At every turn, the views take your breath away. Our guide Elias was superb, extremely knowledgeable and hit just the right note. However, for us, that was the extent of the positives. On arrival we were met by the manager Eric who has clearly been in his job too long. He was so laid back that he gave the impression that he didn't care whether we had a good time or not. We were there from 12th-14th August and having read other reviews can only assume that the usual chef and other members of staff were away on holiday. The food was average at best - stale toast at breakfast and weak, tepid, instant coffee. The evening meal was a 5 course affair served with a fanfare but the quality of the food was really disappointing. There were several members of staff who were doing a month's work experience whilst we were there and a couple of them bordered on being rude and had not been sufficiently trained. Our tent was very nicely presented with antique furniture, 4-poster bed and was very spacious but we were not comfortable due to the freezing cold weather. Hot water bottles should have helped but on our second night the housekeeping staff were so slack that the previous night's water bottle (which had gone cold) was simply shoved back in my bed without being re- filled! It would have been funny had we not been so teeth-chatteringly cold. A tea/coffee tray is delivered to the room each morning but on both days the 'hot' water in the thermos flask was so tepid that it was impossible to brew a cup of tea. Due to the camp being run on solar power, we couldn't even have a hot shower at night or first thing in the morning to help warm us up. This was our last stop on our 14 day tour and when planning the holiday we thought we'd saved the best till last. How wrong we were. I'm sure that in warm weather and with their normal staff it would be gorgeous but we left feeling hugely disappointed and ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at Wolwedans. We appreciate your candid feedback, and are most concerned that we failed to deliver the "Wolwedans experience" for which we are renowned. Our hospitality manager is investigating each point you raised, as many of the items are basic deliverables, and unforgivable if not done so. Our solar geysers usually deliver hot water for a late afternoon/early evening shower, albeit not piping hot for a long leisurely shower in winter - they need more sunshine to heat up the next day. We hope that you raised your concerns with your guide, who in turn would have passed your feedback on to management. Our sincere apologies for the lack of service delivery - we trust that some of the positives could contribute to fond memories of your stay.
Kind regards
ALison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location is simply breath taking. A great place to escape the human mass and find space to breath again. I would strongly recommend staying for three nights, shorter than that and you wont have a chance to enjoy all that is on offer. More than that then the magic fades.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest
Our sincere appreciation for your kind words, describing in short what a stay at Wolwedans on the NamibRand Nature Reserve means to you.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Kind regards
ALison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've been fortunate to have visited the Dunes Lodge at Wolwedans on two occasions. The first was shortly after the facility was established, but the second was in July 2013. On both trips, I was simply blown away by the quality of the food, friendliness of the staff, comfort of the accommodation and more than anything, the location. Building such an earthy, yet comfortable lodge in such an unforgiving environment is sheer genius. It is often said that Namibia is the 'land God made in anger'. But the Dunes Lodge is an island of calm and luxury in this harsh world. As is to be expected, the views are simply astounding, but the entire package is overwhelming.

Upon arrival, guests are greeted by their game ranger/helper down at the parking area. Luggage is transferred to a game viewing Land Rover, and you set off for the lodge itself - a 15 or 20 minute drive into the dunes. After that, everything becomes a somewhat surreal blur of enjoyment in the harsh Namib.

The general areas are tastefully decorated, with leather and wood and images that linger. The entire structure is made of canvas and wood, and has an eco-friendly feel about it. As a matter of fact, the overall approach of the lodge is one of eco-friendliness, and it shows. Not only in the food they prepare, and how they prepare it; but also in the way they use electricity, equip the rooms and just about everything they do. Unfortunately this goes hand-in-hand with some getting-used to - such as not being able to charge batteries in your rooms (there are plugs for common use in the lounge), or being limited in the amount of water you can use. But then again, this is practicing what you preach, and a chance for guests to truly experience eco-friendly travel. In short: If you want to pay lip service, rather than experience eco-friendly, head somewhere else. If you're willing to sacrifice a little, but experience a lot, this is the place!

The rooms are amazingly luxurious, and if the weather is good, I would highly recommend sleeping with the front flaps of the canvas sections rolled up. The stars here are claustrophobically bright, and the sense of having the vast Namib on your doorstep is incomparable.

The food... Is astounding! It would have been fantastic in Stockholm or Paris or Joburg - but served in the Namib, on the side of a dune, 100's of kilo's from a city? Utterly amazing.

The staff is highly professional, and very friendly too. They help where they can, and make every moment as special as possible. I visited with my two young daughters (5 years and 6 years old), and the staff bent over backwards to make it enjoyable for them too. They even made special efforts during meals, which enchanted my daughters completely.

If I had any negatives to mention, it would be that the game viewing is limited. There are plenty of oryx about, as well as some smaller game like jackal. But overall a visit to Dunes Lodge is not about the game, but rather about the overall experience. With that said, I would still recommend a late-afternoon drive with sundowner - worth watching the sunset for sure!

Other things to do? Ask one of the guides to do a talk on star gazing. You couldn't ask for a better spot to see them in all their glory!

Namibia may be the land God made in anger, but Dunes Lodge is a testament to man's ability to survive - and thrive - anywhere.

Room Tip: Closer to the main lodge is better over here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallasBallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Everything was just perfect... amazing landscapes that make you saying "oh wow!!!" every 5 seconds.... amazing rooms luxurious and relaxing... amazing atmosphere that they are able to create between the guests standing all together around the fire chatting and drinking after sunset. Simply amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laetitia_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Would highly recommend the Wolwedans Dune Lodge, everything was perfect. Beautifully decorated tent (if you could call it a tent), very friendly and helpful staff, terrific food, absolutely breathtaking scenery, everything just incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near NamibRand Nature Reserve
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
0 mi away
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
#2 of 4 in NamibRand Nature Reserve
38 reviews
23.6 mi away
Greenfire Desert Lodge
Greenfire Desert Lodge
#2 of 9 in Maltahohe
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolwedans Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Price Range: $935 - $1,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Lodge is perched on top of a dune plateau, overlooking panoramic vistas in all directions & capturing the beauty of the desert. The building style is a combination of wooden structures and canvas blinds, opening up to the desert beyond. The lodge reflects the ambience of a tented camp, but provides the comfort and protection of a permanent building. Each of the nine spacious chalets with en-suite bathrooms has a private verandah, which connects you to vast stretches of untouched sand. Sleeping with your canvas blinds open is like sleeping under the stars. The main complex consists of two lounges, a number of sundowner decks, a fireplace, a tea deck, a library, the wine cellar and two dining rooms. The lodge also has a swimming pool, suspended above the sand. All communal areas of the lodge open out onto decks with superb views. The variety of recreational space makes a visit both exciting & relaxing. To make the most of your view, we recommend staying three nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolwedans Dunes Hotel Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing