We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural indulgency”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The NamibRand Reserve is a must when visiting Namibia; Unique landscapes and a service to go with... its what Wolwedans offers to you. Attention to detail is never forgotten. The simple touch of turning off the lights of the Land Cruiser while returning at dusk to the lodge, is magical. Next time you see an Oryx, you think of Wolwedans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apfLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest
thank you for your five-star Trip Advisor rating, and for sharing with readers what a magnificent destination the NamibRand Nature Reserve is. thank you for choosing to stay at Wolwedans, and for reinforcing that our efforts to promote the NRNR as a Dark Sky Reserve meet with your approval. We hope the fond memories of your visit last for many years to come, and that you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 312 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Most probably the best lodge of Namibia. It is located inside the huge Namib Rand conservancy. The game drives are to be considered more are scenic drives around the conservancy and are simply amazing with tall green gras covering red dunes. No where does one get as close to the Oryx who come as close as to enjoy the shade of the tents of the lodge. Very confortable tents, great food and a well trained staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominiqueSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest
thank you for sharing your 5-star review with readers - the scenic drives on the NamibRand Nature Reserve are amazing (as you say). We also appreciate your vote of confidence for our accommodation, food and staff. The team looks forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

splurge on this lodge - it was the best of all! the 'tents' are nothing but perfect and at night there are warm water bottles in the bed...in the morning a tray with with coffee and cookies for the first wake-up. the bed is heaven, great sheets and the way the tents or tented cottages are made is nothing but perfect. The view, the silence, the wildlife, sunsets spectacular. Dinners very well done, but be prepared to dress warm on cool nights. one of the best things was the massage on the deck of our hut. nice literature in your 'tent' as well.
the excursions - included - are GREAT! We had a just wonderful guide and experiences.
Thanks to Eric we got to know the wine cellar as well - superb experience altogether!
there are 6 units to the right of the pool which are spectacular but to the left there are some adjoining rooms which are close to the kitchen and so recommendable as we heard from other guests there. there is no mini-bar, but they bring you a cooler and ice-cubes to your 'tent'.
we took a flight from there and it was spectacular too, we were able to stay at the lodge for lunch to be picked up for the flight which was great.
Unless you order special drinks even the gin-tonics and so on were included - a treat. don't miss the evening cocktail before dinner. the whole set-up is just wonderful, the public lounge areas and everything. Lunches war GREAT, they serve salads which are planted in the local garden - as fresh as imaginable.
I recommend 3 nights to fully enjoy the setting, we spent 2 and it was AMAZING. This is one of the few places I would return to whenever possible.

Room Tip: at the Lodge try to get a tent to the far right side...the furthest is the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest
thanks for choosing Wolwedans, thanks for your review and thanks for saying you'll return ......
the team looks forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, ALison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Namib Rand is a unique landscape, and one of the most beautiful we have experienced, and Wolwedans Dune Lodge is exquisitely positioned in it, and is the only lodge in the huge Namib Rand conservancy. This landscape was for me an almost spiritual experience, and for widely experienced travellers this lodge and its landscapes have to go into our global top 5 (and I don’t order these). It is expensive, but to experience this landscape on a virtually solitary basis is wonderful and frankly priceless. We stayed 2 nights, and wished we’d stayed longer. The business end of things is dealt with a 15 minute drive away from and out of sight of the lodge and this simply highlights the thought and planning which has gone into this. The suites are beautifully done. Food was very good. The desert walk fascinating and surprising and I will say no more so as not to spoil it for you. But the drives in the reserve are the true highlight, and memories of the beauty of that landscape and the light are unforgettable. The fact that you are reading this review means that you are considering a visit to Namibia, in my view Wolwedans is a must.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest
thank you for your kind words in your review. The landscape is exquisite, and if you value solitude and wide-open spaces and unspoiled nature, then Wolwedans and the NamibRand Nature Reserve is your kind of place - judging from your feedback, this is your kind of place ...... We wish you many happy returns.
Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

On our roundtrip through Namibia we spent two nights in Wolwedans Dunes Lodge. Our group (6 persons between 40 and 79 years) liked everything there. The location is exceptional. We enjoyed the colours, the silence and the expanse of the land. The lodge itself fulfills any requirements. Set up completely ecological, the rooms have stunning views and are beautifully equipped and decorated. It was really hot (37 degrees), but as you can open the rooms all sides, the wind coming through the room made the stay very pleasant. All stuff was very friendly and helpful. Alpha went even hiking with Wolfgang at 5.30 am. Food, wine....... was really good too. Although the lodge is in the desert we saw many animals, like Oryx, Springbock, Ostrich, Zebras. I would say the lodge is not cheap, but for us it was worth every penny and i definitely will go back.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine, the also have a very nice honeymoon-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ingwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, OFFice md at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guest
We are most appreciative of your feedback on your recent group trip to Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, and for your vote of confidence. The NamibRand Nature Reserve is, as you put it, "exceptional" in all aspects - it's beauty, solitude, and wide open spaces. Our team will be really pleased that you were satisfied with their service and efforts, and look forward to welcoming you back to their little piece of paradise.
Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Flew here with Wilderness Air from Windhoek at the start of our second visit to Namibia. What a beautiful place. All of the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. The view from the room was exceptional. You also didn't have to go far to see the local gemsbok, during the day they sheltered under your room from the sun or drank from the water hole in front of the lodge. Food was very good and served in the main around a family dining table with impressive table decorations. Our guide, Lister was very knowledgeable and all of the drives were stunningly beautiful. There were some great sundowner spots as well. The lodge does laundry so you can pack light. To relax even more have a massage, terrific.
Great hospitality.

Room Tip: Stay close to the lodge, the soft sand can be quite awkward to walk on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IWPCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, md's office at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Wolwedans, and for your encouraging feedback. The team are most grateful for your praise of their service and culinary offerings. The NamibRand Nature Reserve is beautiful, and we're delighted you loved your stay and all that Wolwedans and the Reserve had to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our remote paradise, in the near future.
Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at both the Dunes Lodge and the Boulder Camp. Both have outstanding scenery but different types. The services esp. the kitchen staffs are excellent. While this is not a place for the big 5, we saw enough wildlife to be overwhelmed - giraffes, onyx, elan, zebra and even witnessed a leopard hunt at the Boulder Camp. We just wish our guide to be a bit more flexible and creative instead of insisting to do a sundowner everyday. There are so many spots to explore. Beginning of Oct. is quite hot during the day time and cool to cold at night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, md's office at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest
Sincere thanks for your review of Dunes Lodge and Boulders, and for your words of praise. We appreciate your feedback as to the need for flexibility in our guiding activities, and operations management have noted your suggestion. You are correct in headlining that our camps are situated in a most beautiful location - remote but serene with touches of ruggedness. We hope that your 5-star TripAdvisor rating means that we will be able to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future.
Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near NamibRand Nature Reserve
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
0 mi away
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
#2 of 4 in NamibRand Nature Reserve
38 reviews
23.6 mi away
Greenfire Desert Lodge
Greenfire Desert Lodge
#2 of 9 in Maltahohe
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolwedans Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Price Range: $935 - $1,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Lodge is perched on top of a dune plateau, overlooking panoramic vistas in all directions & capturing the beauty of the desert. The building style is a combination of wooden structures and canvas blinds, opening up to the desert beyond. The lodge reflects the ambience of a tented camp, but provides the comfort and protection of a permanent building. Each of the nine spacious chalets with en-suite bathrooms has a private verandah, which connects you to vast stretches of untouched sand. Sleeping with your canvas blinds open is like sleeping under the stars. The main complex consists of two lounges, a number of sundowner decks, a fireplace, a tea deck, a library, the wine cellar and two dining rooms. The lodge also has a swimming pool, suspended above the sand. All communal areas of the lodge open out onto decks with superb views. The variety of recreational space makes a visit both exciting & relaxing. To make the most of your view, we recommend staying three nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolwedans Dunes Hotel Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing