We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Place... Not up to Expectation.. Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vedic Village Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paravoor
Ernakulam, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small Place... Not up to Expectation.. Expensive”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Saw the picture of the property on the internet and booked for a one day vacation. On my visit i was surprised, the total property is just a small piece of land. I was the only guest for the day. Though the room was big, the arrangements were very poor. TV was kept on a Stool, no luggage space etc. The bathroom had a direct sunlight roof which was attractive, but could hear people talking outside as the rooms were on the road side.

The Food was good, i had to order the dinner in by 5pm and also had less choices. I was told of a buffet breakfast. but had to order the previous night itself. The pool was dirty & not hygienic, no activities other than a boat ride. The Spa & Massage services were costlier than a 5star rates.

Even though i was the only guest i did not get any kind of privacy. The rates are too high, would get better hotels for the deal. I was totally carried away by the Website.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaibugc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    56
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
89
73
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Karnal, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel location , ambiance and staff is very nice. Appreciate the response, friendly and nice behaviour by Hotel staff specialy Mr. Shijoy (Manager) and Ebin (CA).
Rooms are neat and clean , property is far from city crowd and covered with the beauty of nature.

Hotel is situated on lake and feel the awesome experience of Coffee/tea outside the rooms.

Complimentary boat ride is additional value for money.

Food options are limited and serve as per demand hence should plan accordinlg.

Lots of good places are near by to this place (with in 1.5 hours) and specily one famous temple.

Room Tip: King Nest rooms situated on lake are better and within the budget. Kovikolam are most precisous b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel was very difficult to find with our taxi driver having to ask many people for directions. The resort is small with very beautiful gardens but the swimming pool is dirty and poorly maintained. We did not see anyone use the pool. The rooms are large and comfortable but very dusty. There are no real activities or attractions nearby. The backwater trip by speedboat was disappointing as we spent most of our time in a large river rather than in the backwaters (charged 2000 Rupees for one hour by the hotel). For a proper backwaters experience you probably need to go to another resort nearer Kumarakom. Overall, we spent 2 nights here and found it very relaxing and staff were great. The hotel offers good massages too. If you want a backwaters experience and attractions/activities this resort is not suitable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina_Priya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupur
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

the place of the location of this resort is very nice, and the rooms are very clean, food are very good. staff are so kind, also resort offer spped boat service, in that we can drive for an hour and also plesent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsk2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location of the place is fabulous, but poorly connected. Ideal for a lazy holiday, to just relax on the hammocks by the water, read books… Avoid travelling to other places, having said which, there are lot of interesting places close by, but the staff is not updated on the same.

Pool is good for kids, but not recommended for grown-ups. Food quality is average; however they cook what we requested.

Also the rooms have minor hitches such as the shower quality, doors don’t lock properly, television placement can be better.

Slightly expensive for the price we paid.

Overall a good experience could have been better if they pay a little more attention to minor details.

Room Tip: Go for the pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sekhar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with family. Property is in a remote location & since we arrived around 9 pm, it was very difficult to reach there due to narrow roads & very narrow approach road. The property has a nice location facing the backwaters but a very small property. Cottages are too small and are very close to each other, restaurant has tables too close to each other and the swimming pool is meant for kids. We had planned to stay in the property during the day but found it better to stay outside sightseeing and come back only for sleeping in the night. Food served is good but very limited options. The place is too costly for the value it offers..

Room Tip: Avoid it if you are looking for a resort - it does not offer any value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashmi201312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Like others have stated in their reviews, you have to choose this place with the proper intentions. It is situated in a backwater area that is absolutely gorgeous. However, there is not much to do around there. Fortunately they have a driver who can take you around at rates comparable to private taxis in Kochi which is rather steep. It takes 1 1/2 hours to reach Kochi, and Cherai beach is 20 minutes away.

The food was good, simple, and reasonably priced, but there are no restaurants within walking distance. Spa services were very good as well. I highly recommend taking their boat trip around the local water ways. It was a fantastic experience.

We decided to shorten our stay because going to Kochi and back just took too long. Also, the facilities were sparse. The staff said the pool was operational, but the water level was below the recirculation jets. There is no fitness center at the resort. This is more of a set of cabins rather than what I interpret a resort to be.

When the manager learned that we were shortening our stay, he was genuinely interested in knowing why. I said that I was interested in having crabs, and that wasn't available in his hotel. He insisted that he would get some from the market, but supposedly there weren't any available when we arrived for dinner.

The lodging could have been better. The king sized beds had a twin topsheet so it wouldn't completely cover the bed. We asked for a replacement, but none arrived. The bathroom had mold in the grout. The furnishings were simple, which was OK to us. Overall, the price of the stay was too much compared to what other hotels offer in Kochi. However, Kochi doesn't have the natural surroundings that this place had.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank globaljournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paravoor
3.0 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
14.2 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
625 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#2 of 7 in Cherai Beach
447 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#4 of 7 in Cherai Beach
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedic Village Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedic Village Resorts

Property: Vedic Village Resorts
Address: VP Island | Near Moothukunam Bridge, North Parur, Paravoor, Kochi (Cochin) 680 667, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Paravoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paravoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vedic Village Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedic Village is a resort that lives up to the motto that it has chosen for itself: customer satisfaction. What makes this possible is the flexibility that is built into every aspect of the facilities offered here. The ambience of this exquisite holiday home is such that it curves around the physical and mental contours of each customer and make him feel that the place is specially designed for him.From Cochin city we are located 45 Minute's journey and from Cochin airport 30 Minute Journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vedic Village Hotel Kochi (Cochin)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing