We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace of mind”
Review of Baxter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baxter Inn
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
“Peace of mind”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Baxter Inn is a nice, clean and well maintained motel to stay in the city of Baxter Springs, KS. I was extremely happy to stay in Baxter Inn. The motel is in a very quite area to have a good sleep. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. I will stay in this motel if I ever travel this way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pre booked this hotel in advance got charged $10 more than first quoted. Got given the wrong room key twice. Once in the room there was a nasty smell and the carpets felt all weird. Slept with our clothes on and left very early 6am the next day. It is a good location for exploring the little town though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baxter Springs hotels

Manhattan, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wanted to surprise some friends & stayed here for one night. Saw a review for this place from 5 years ago that warned of this place--don't know if I missed more recent ones or what, but I thought that they probably improved or had a bad day--WRONG! Stay at a Baxter Springs B&B or in Miami OK or Joplin MO--both about 15-20 min away w/ many more options. The owner claimed that he was full & gave my husband & I the only room left which had 3 Queen beds--huge room for 2 people. He discounted the room to $73, but we saw hardly any cars in the parking lot. The room was not clean. The owners are Indian (dot, not feather) & the lobby had a strong odor of Indian cooking. I have no problem w/ their race/culture, but hotel owners have to provide decent stay to get decent reputation. The hotel is reknown in the community as a dump & sub-par in service. Cont. breakfast was packaged honey buns, muffins, & other cakes, jug of OJ, & pot of coffee. I remember when cont breakfast was donuts & oj & I try to see the positive, but hotels are simply doing more now to earn your stay & this place is doing less than that when they don't keep clean rooms. I can deal w/ the less-than-par breakfast, but cleanliness is necessary. Carpet was not vacuumed & floor in bathroom had black hairs all over it. Money needs to be spent to replace/ repair some things in this room--carpet (several stains) & bathroom floor stained w/ something & bathtub faucet coming away from wall of tub by 2+ inches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After I booked the hotel I read some reviews of it and thought that I made a wrong decision but then when I got there it was all up to my expectations. Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and clean sleeping arrangement. I would recommend this hotel based on the standard of the room and the exceptional value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iqbal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world!
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for one night only (thankfully). Dated room, smell of damp, stained towels, no staff in sight. Room rate was $60 dollars (excl. tax) and supposedly included continental breakfast. The 'breakfast' consisted of coffee and packaged cake and nowhere to sit. Compared to similar range motels along the route, not good at all. In the morning, there was nobody in reception.
McDonalds and Walmart nearby.
If you do find yourself staying there, make sure you go for a nice home cooked breakfast at Weston's cafe, a couple of miles down the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Clean. Not much to say about it. Not bad for a small town with no where to stay. Continental breakfast was worst I have seen. Staff not friendly. If you just need a place to sleep it is ok. Small town has a lot of history.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

On our Route 66 road trip this place was oft recommended. We found it a disappointment. We were charged $75 for a worn out, truck-stop type accomodation. Room extremely dated and tired. Aircon didn't work, no hair drier and no in-room coffee. Poor breakfast of juice, coffee or prepacked cake. Next door steakhouse was essentially a fast food style enterprise and no waitress sdervice establishments apparent elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter Springs
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#9 of 23 in Joplin
841 reviews
14.4 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 23 in Joplin
142 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Joplin
1.2 mi away
Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage
#1 of 2 in Baxter Springs
4 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Miami
Hampton Inn Miami
#1 of 8 in Miami
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baxter Inn

Property: Baxter Inn
Address: 2451 Military Avenue, Baxter Springs, KS 66713-2326
Location: United States > Kansas > Baxter Springs
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baxter Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baxter Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baxter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baxter Hotel Baxter Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing