We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Baxter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baxter Inn
the world!
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for one night only (thankfully). Dated room, smell of damp, stained towels, no staff in sight. Room rate was $60 dollars (excl. tax) and supposedly included continental breakfast. The 'breakfast' consisted of coffee and packaged cake and nowhere to sit. Compared to similar range motels along the route, not good at all. In the morning, there was nobody in reception.
McDonalds and Walmart nearby.
If you do find yourself staying there, make sure you go for a nice home cooked breakfast at Weston's cafe, a couple of miles down the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Clean. Not much to say about it. Not bad for a small town with no where to stay. Continental breakfast was worst I have seen. Staff not friendly. If you just need a place to sleep it is ok. Small town has a lot of history.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

On our Route 66 road trip this place was oft recommended. We found it a disappointment. We were charged $75 for a worn out, truck-stop type accomodation. Room extremely dated and tired. Aircon didn't work, no hair drier and no in-room coffee. Poor breakfast of juice, coffee or prepacked cake. Next door steakhouse was essentially a fast food style enterprise and no waitress sdervice establishments apparent elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baxter Springs hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our route 66 trip. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The staff were very nice and the room was clean and tidy. Good amount of parking outside. Plenty of towels in the room, the shower was ok - not very powerful but fine. The air-con was good. In the morning there was free coffee and pastries for breakfast. Dollar store and walmart nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nataleec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found the Baxter Inn acceptable as it was clean and relatively quiet. The staff was friendly as well as helpful.
With that said, there is ample evidence this is an older property that could use a touch up or two. Still, if we were in the area, and needed a place to stay, we would consider the Baxter Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventurerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Baxter Inn was a nice place to stay on ROUTE 66. The manager was friendly and the rooms there were very clean and the area was not too busy, Baxter Springs is a quiet little town. It was also inexpensive. I would recomend this Hotel to others that are traveling on Route 66 or are just passing through the area if you are looking for a place to relax for a night or more.

Room Tip: All seem to be kept clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were on day 5 of a route 66 trip and stayed here. It is and cheap. We have stayed in nicer place but payed more. So for $50 bucks it was good and clean. If ever in the area again we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texaspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter Springs
11.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Miami
16.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffalo Run Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami
12.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Miami
Econo Lodge Miami
#6 of 8 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
14.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baxter Inn

Property: Baxter Inn
Address: 2451 Military Avenue, Baxter Springs, KS 66713-2326
Location: United States > Kansas > Baxter Springs
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baxter Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baxter Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baxter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baxter Hotel Baxter Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing