We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place”
Review of Three Sisters Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baldwin City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Baldwin City B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent a night here on a trip to Baldwin City. My son was visiting nearby Baker College. The place was very well appointed and had a very homey feel. The rooms were both very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was great, Mike did a good job of accommodating our various food allergies.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MStoops, Owner at Three Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to accommodate dietary needs. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Three Sisters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

On a recent business trip in the area, I was fortunate to be able to stay at
this great Inn, wonderful host, rewarding conversation, new member of Kansas Bed and Breakfast Assoc. Lovely quiet community with an historic Methodist College. The historic site of the Frontier development, Santa Fe, Oregon Trail and California Road give you places to see and things to do.

Room Tip: For Romance the Three Sisters Suite can't be beat
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MStoops, Owner at Three Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for the engaging conversation. I am glad you enjoyed the food and your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at three sisters only one night as a little escape from the daily grind. Our arrival was late and it was no problem to them....they made us feel welcome up on arrival by a letter and even trusted us to let ourself in as we were the only ones booked for that evening.they also brought us breakfast up to our room so we can sleep in... That was nice! They went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. We stayed in the sisters hideaway, the room was large and spacious but warm and cozy! We love staying at B&B's and this one is now on our list of ones to revisit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS_rodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Three Sisters Inn on a weekend trip that included the Kansas Belle Dinner Train. We stayed in Sisters Hideaway; the attic suite. It is a beautiful room! There is a separate temperature control for the attic which is nice. The whirlpool bathtub is divine. We got the romantic package so we had roses, chocolates, and champagne waiting for us at our arrival. It was perfect for a relaxing getaway and we couldn't have imagined a better setting. The grounds are lovely; there were beautiful fall leaves everywhere in early November.

The owners showed us around the house on arrival which was fun. Just a note: they do not offer menu items for breakfast on Sundays. The family that owns the B&B understandably makes a continental breakfast so they can go to church. This was just fine as the breakfast included wonderful cinnamon rolls, great yogurt and fruit as well as cereal, coffee, tea, etc. The have small and large tables in the tea room for breakfast so you do not have to sit in a large group if that is not your thing.

Overall, this place is picturesque and peaceful; I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela_Houser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MStoops, Owner at Three Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I wanted to let you know that we now serve full breakfast seven days a week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Quiet and restful. Lovely restored home with a gracious owner - who is a fabulous cook. We enjoyed our breakfast there.
Stayed on a Sunday evening and found a variety of things to do in surrounding sites around Baldwin. Black Jack Memorial Park, Douglas County Lake, Campus of Baker Univ. and Antonucci's Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Although we didn't stay at this facility, our new family members did and we visited with them. They had rented the downstairs suite which had a kitchen, living room and bedroom, so we had plenty of room to relax and visit and get to know each other. There were no other guests in the Inn (it was during the week), so we could take a look at the entire facility. The decor was stunning. I felt like I was in your grandmother's home. It was just that warm and friendly. Our family said the proprietors were the best and when we were invited for breakfast one morning we found out that they were only telling us the half of it. The breakfast was so fine. We are planning to arrange another family event and rent the entire Inn for the family. The grounds were beautiful and would be perfect for wedding events. Baldwin City is such a beautiful little town that is blessed to have such a nice B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

My sister, brother-in-law and I had never been to Kansas and were going to Baldwin City, Kansas to attend the graduation of our great nephew from Baker University. We particularly wanted to be close to the University and after searching the internet found that there were no major hotels located in Baldwin City. However, after checking the internet and finding TripAdvisor, I discovered there were two bread and breakfast facilities within blocks of the University. I chose the Three Sisters Inn because of its decor (Victorian) and two reviews that appeared on the TripAdvisor site. Both reviews indicated that their experience there had been great and that the proprietors/owners, Kevin and Shawna were wonderful. First, having to arrive after the stated latest check-in time, Shawna said that that would be no problem and were present when we arrived after 7:00 p.m. on December 17th. We were greeted by Kevin who was so friendly and escorted us to our bedrooms located on the second floor. The inn was decorated throughout for Christmas, as well as outdoors, so we immediately experienced a warm environment. We rented two of their bedrooms and they were fantastic. The beds were ultra-comfortable and the Victorian decor was great. Each room had modern conveniences, such as cable TV. To my mind one of the best things was each of us in our individual rooms could set our own heating levels because of separate thermostats. Shawna is a magnificent cook and provided an amazing breakfast each morning. We were also allowed to change the times of our breakfast from the stated time of 8:30 a.m. In addition, I requested a special celebration dinner for my nephew to be attended by family members and some of his classmates. Shawna catered the whole dinner and had provided to me a menu in advance of our coming to the Inn from which we could select various dishes for the dinner. Shawna is an outstanding cook and the food was superb. Just imagine sitting in a beautiful dining room with fabulous Victorian antiques and Christmas decorations romantically lit by candlelight all around you. As indicated, Shawna is a fabulous cook. Some advice regarding dessert, don't forget to try her apple pie! Finally, Kevin and Shawna allowed us free rein of the house. We could get snacks and refreshments anytime we wished. Shawna and Kevin at the property, so they provide you with a key to the front door, as well as to your room. I told them that it was like we rented the house from them. As you can see, we absolutely loved our stay at Three Sisters Inn and if we are ever in the area again, we will make sure we seek accommodation there. A final word, if you would like to have a great place to celebrate an anniversary or have a honeymoon in the area, stay in Three Sisters Inn's attic room. You won't believe the style and luxury of the room.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldwin City
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
435 reviews
13.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
13.7 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel
12.7 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
254 reviews
20.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Olathe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Sisters Inn

Address: 1035 Ames St, Baldwin City, KS 66006
Location: United States > Kansas > Baldwin City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baldwin City
Price Range: $99 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Sisters Inn is a restored turn-of-the-century home, at one time the residence of the three Ripley sisters - Della Rose, Melissa, and Edith. In 1995, the home was moved to it's present location and lovingly restored by Jim and Diane Niehoff, founders of the Three Sisters Inn. Today's owners, Mikel and Pamela Stoops, have lovingly retained the same ambiance. The gracious hosts ensure that each guest that crosses the threshold experiences genuine hospitality in a sparkling-clean, comfortable bed chamber at a cost that compares to any bed-and-breakfast in the Midwest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing