We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dedza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dedza Pottery Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Dedza B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“hidden paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We loved it! It was recommended by a tour company warmheart, and we were grateful to that.

The room is spacious, garden beautiful, staff friendly, you have your own lawn and porch if it is a superior room. The price is quite fair for such a wonderful lodge.

The only two complaints are NO wifi available during our visit and the dining service is extremely slow.

Room Tip: superior room is perfect! with lawn in front of the porch and everything with minibar, fridge availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuyao2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
14
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The rooms here are spacious and comfortable and set in lovely grounds. We stayed just one night on our way from Lilongwe to Zomba, mainly to go and see the nearby rock art. The lodge is about 10 minutes drive away from the M1. We took a guide from the lodge, Chris, who directed us in our car - you definitely need a guide as in true Malawi style there are next to no signposts so you would never find it on your own! It is worth visiting the rock art and Dedza Pottery Lodge is a perfect place to do this from. The food is very good but it can be quite slow so it is worth ordering about an hour before you actually want to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had business in Central Malawi, on both sides of the mountain pass between M5 and M1 (which, BTW, takes an hour from the Pottery Lodge to M5). This was the perfect place to stay for that, and what an incredible value! We booked half-board since we wouldn't be near the hotel for lunch anyway. Meals were fabulous! One caution though, if you'll be in a hurry, schedule your meals a day in advance. (Actually, one meal in advance is fine.) We did that on a few occasions, and it always worked out perfectly -- especially if you need an early breakfast.

Two cautions. One, when you check in, have the person in the office check the reservation book (it's done by hand) for your entire stay. Ours started on one page and concluded on a second page since we were there for 5 nights. Turns out there was a conflict once you flipped the page. It was resolved to our satisfaction, but would have been easier had we verified it upon check-in. Two, not really a caution, just a hint on finding the lodge. Coming from Lilongwe on M1, as you approach Dedza, look for a big group of small signs on your left -- perhaps 20-30 signs. Turn there, and turn left again about 1/4 mile (400 meters) up the road. Once you turn, it's about a mile (1.6 km) on your left. That's a guess. There are 2 sawmills, one on the left & one on the right. Go past the one on your left, and when you get to the sawmill on your right, the Pottery Lodge is opposite that.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms here. The only difference between a standard and a deluxe room is the number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a long flight from the UK and a not particularly relaxing stay in Lilongwe, this lodge was perfect. The tour around the pottery workshop was incredibly interesting, but the real highlights were the tours up Dedza mountain and to visit the rock art with our incredibly knowledgable guide, Gift. The food was fantastic - the Cheesecake in particular, but it is worth ordering an hour before you want it, then take advantage of the beautiful gardens with a drink and a pack of cards. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff happy to help with any issues. All crockery and most room decorations are made on site which is lovely to see, and really gives the place some character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a two week work trip in Malawi and spent one night at the pottery lodge. Compared to other places I stayed along the way the pottery lodge is nice and clean but was very quiet,perhaps too quiet if you are on your own. No Internet meant it wasn't great for a work trip but I only stayed one night so it wasn't a major issue. The rooms were clean, beds comfy and staff all very pleasant. The food was nice and came really quickly, breakfast the next morning offered a good variety- homemade marmalade was very tasty as was the coffee. All in all it was a nice play to stay if you need to be in dedza.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

After 3 attempts via email and phone to book 2 rooms for 2 nights, here, I wasn't too surprised to find confusion when we arrived. An inexperienced employee was blamed and we were upgraded to very pleasant, clean, well-appointed rooms with a lovely view, However, my minibar was non-existent. TV functioned but channels limited, to say the least.

Meals were average with acceptable service.

I feel an opportunity is being wasted here: this is a lovely place - chase up / complete / check bookings and make guests feel wanted. I usually tip generously but didn't feel I received more than a very basic level of service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We camped here in October 2012. For the price (about $4 per person) we were quite happy. Campers have use of a separate bathroom and shower facility which was clean and pleasant. There are rarely other campers so you'll probably have it to yourself. The campsite itself is nothing to love but you're not there to spend a bunch of time in your tent anyway.

The pottery is a great place to stop in at. The food was tasty and quick and the ambiance of the restaurant was lovely. Maybe I've been in Malawi for too long but we thought the cheesecake lived up to it's reputation - delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful; we had none of the issues with ambiance or attentiveness previously mentioned. We hiked in the surrounding mountains and had great views. Overall a fun weekend (or day) trip from Lilongwe or a good stopover between Lilongwe and Blantyre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sp12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedza
0.0 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedza Pottery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedza Pottery Lodge

Property: Dedza Pottery Lodge
Address: Dedza, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Dedza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dedza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing