We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

Nevill Crest and Gun
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Eridge
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Since the new renovation this little place has been opened up very well, the new conservatory at the back is fantastic and gives a very nice atmosphere.
The food is very very nice and priced very well.
The downside to the new renovation is that the childrens play area has been removed and all that is left is a tractor for children to climb on so think will need to find somewhere else for summer time pub lunches which is a shame.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaireaBelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    161
    78
    55
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Outing”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are big fans of the Brunning & Price group and live in the North West, so when we visited family in Maidstone made arrangements to visit this pub ( even though its a 40minute drive away) There were 4 adults and 2 year old.
The young lady who waited on our table was very friendly and helpful, suggesting that we could order our grandaughters meal first before we had all decided, which was a great help, as after the 40 minute drive her patience was running low for her lunch. The waitress chatted to her each time she visited the table which was a very nice touch. We all enjoyed our meal very much good menu with some interesting combinations. The final bill was also good, (especailly for the south)as being a lot less per head than a certain pub outside of Chester whose food I have also reviewed and not in a good way. Well done once again Brunning and Price

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Vikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'd happily come back here”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

After a warm welcome we were shown to our table in the conservatory which was a very comfortable setting.

Due to health issues, I wasn't able to choose my preferred menu choices, but the smoked salmon starter and the thyme polenta, wild mushroom, parmesan and pine nuts salad was very good, although I would have felt the starter was on the small side if I'd have had my usual appetite.

The desserts sound wonderful and I'll have to come back to try those in the future.

All of the service was warm and friendly, which made for a very pleasant evening, I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraderOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

lovely menu! great food, although on ebad point: £7.20 for a glass of pinot?? will be drinking something less costly next time

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zjcogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Above average local pub”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Since the refurbishment the food, service and ambiance has gone up a notch. The conservatory is realy nice and even in the midle of winter was warm and cozy. Reasonable pricing, nice and clean. Very extensive menu, perhaps too much so? Nothing special but a good value meal in nice surroundings.

Helpful?
Thank nimbusgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevill Crest and Gun also viewed

Eridge, East Sussex
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Nevill Crest and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing