We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Northside Cafe

Northside Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Winterset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

My sister was visiting from Chicago during the Thanksgiving holiday. We stopped in for lunch and loved the food, the atmosphere, just everything in general. My husband and I will be going back to try out the breakfast menu.

Helpful?
2 Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    43
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beecher, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little place off the square.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Don't know what went wrong for those other people, but I've been going to the North Side Cafe for over 12 years during my annual pheasant hunting trip to Winterset and it's always been GREAT. Some years I've made 2 or 3 trips of 3 or 4 days each and have had breakfast at the cafe every time. Always , good food, clean place and great staff. The menu has changed a little this past year, but it's still great. I'd recommand the North Side Cafe to everyone who travels to Winterset.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprising Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't know why those other folks had a bad experience. Sorry. Try again, though.
Our small town has many good restaurants and this is one of them! I am always surprised
by the variety, even ethnicity of some of the food. PLEASE don't leave without having
a slice of PIE! And remember... the staff is very friendly and helpful. Especially Melody.
:} I personally think Northside has the BEST iced tea anywhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“In the movie it was great, not so much in person.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I had taken my easy-going sister with me for lunch. She had ordered chicken strips and I got the tenderloin. When they finally arrived they were very dark like they had either been cooked too long or the fryer oil was old and hadn't been changed recently. Waitress was ok but not overly attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummynummy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst cafe ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our waitress was awful and our entire experience was awful. Waitress.....maybe I misunderstood what a waitress was but boy did she make us WAIT. We waited for our drinks to be ordered, we waited for our drinks to come, we waited for our food to be ordered, we waited for our food to come, we waited for our bill, and we waited to get our card back. We waited 2 hours; it was not busy but, boy was our red headed waitress busy.....busy talking to the cook and busy doing her homework. I went in looking forward to a nice cafe meal......I left with a sour taste in my mouth. I will never recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Northside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing