We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laughable service don't waste your time!!”

Anything Sweet & More Cafe
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Winterset
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American, German, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Anything Sweet & More Cafe is located on the south side of historic Downtown Square in Winterset, Iowa. Originally, we opened in February 2012 as a pastry, bread, pie, & sweet shop. In March 2012 we began serving hot, homemade entrees & soups & fresh, made-to-order sandwiches and paninis, along with our delicious desserts. We are a popular lunch cafe for both area residents & tourists, as well as a meeting & dining place for several local clubs & groups. Our menu changes seasonally, with selections celebrating Italian, German, & American heritage with an emphasis on comfort foods. We are happy to accommodate special requests -- vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, or other customer requests are our pleasure. Our atmosphere is casual, clean, & friendly & we're always glad to see you! Open M,T,Th,F,Sat from 11 AM to 3 PM.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not sure if the food was any good we had absolutely horrible service yesterday...sure enjoyed those 2 lemonade a we were served - the waitress never came back and took our order- NOT her fault though at least 2 other employees there barking orders at her- when we left they had her doing dishes. Apparently all the employees that observed us staring at each other and the menu for over 15 minutes didn't want to serve us either. Then, on top of it, when we went to pay for our drinks told we had to wait bc they were making change. Quite possibly the worst service experience we have ever had- I can honestly say I have never gotten up and walked out of a restaurant before. Again, no idea about the food but if it's as good as the service I would skip it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jdkssqad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinsen A, Owner at Anything Sweet & More Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback about Anything Sweet & More Cafe – negative or positive, our customers’ opinions are always welcome. We saw your review on Facebook first and we replied within two hours (see our reply below) with an attempt to make your experience right. You ignored our Facebook reply and posted your same negative rating here on TripAdvisor.

On TripAdvisor you rated Anything Sweet & More Café a “1” on everything: Food, Service, Atmosphere, and Value. Obviously, when you rated us you were upset, because you did not order any food, so you would not have had a measure of the food or the value (and you said your beverages were good in your posting). Our customers often complement our décor, so we’re sorry if that also offended you at the time of your visit. We understand that you were unhappy and we had hoped you’d reply to our Facebook post to make everything right, but perhaps you’ll see our reply today here on TripAdvisor.

Per our previous reply on Facebook, Management checked with the server specifically about service to your table several times. The server reported that no one at your table was ready to order after she had inquired repeatedly. We think she asked you but she forgot to check back after several tries. To be sure, the owner herself could have asked you at your table, but we had a full house and the owner was the only cook in the kitchen that day. We often have tables that just order beverages, so there was no way to know that you felt forgotten. There was also another server working (who had 7 tables, one with 10 customers!) who we wish you would have flagged for service. You paid the owner for your drinks but you didn’t indicate that you had any problems with service. With your server being new, your customer feedback would have been invaluable for her training and we would have welcomed your opinions while you were in the café to help us improve service (by the way, that server is no longer with us).

In order to receive and rate any type of service, good or bad, you must first allow yourself to be served. It is our belief that you did not want to be served that day when you had multiple opportunities to order – perhaps after feeling forgotten by our new server you did not want to let us make things right. We apologize again for your poor experience: If you choose to come to Anything Sweet & More Café you will get good food and you will get good service, and our offer to make things right still stands.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Anything Sweet & More Cafe - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Anything Sweet & More Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I got the German burger and WOW!! It is no surprise to me that her sauerkraut took first at the fair this year! The interior itself is too cute, love the mismatched tables and chairs! Owner is very fun and greeted us in the nicest way. GREAT LITTLE PLACE, DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yummynummy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A unique experience
We had the opportunity to stop at Anything Sweet and More Cafe' at Winterset's Bridge Fest Days last year. We immediately decided that it would be our restaurant of choice for our one week stay in this charming town. We got to know the owner, a very personable woman, Lisa Alessandro. She always took a moment from her very busy work in the kitchen to come out to greet us. She was always asked how we liked certain dishes because she prepares many of her unique dishes from old family recipes. She explained to us that she was fortunate enough to have gotten recipes from her German mother, who is a gourmet chef in her own right, and from her Italian father, who claims he just likes to eat. We discovered that this takes nothing away from Lisa's own creative concoctions and we noted that she has received many blue ribbons from The Iowa and Ohio State Fairs for her excellent fare. We recommend several great dishes to try. Especially the two potato soup and sandwich wraps. During our stay in Winterset we ate at least once per day in this unique place and we were never disappointed. In fact, even though the cafe' closes at 4:00PM we were very happy that Lisa accommodated us when we arrived late after touring the bridges of Madison County. (She happened to be there preparing for the next day). We had the opportunity to try ALL of the various restaurants around the square in Winterset and we must report that Anything Sweet and More stands out far above the others. Did I mention to be sure to save room for dessert? We plan to visit Iowa in the future and will certainly make a point of stopping in Winterset again if only to enjoy another meal in this charming cafe'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GilKar1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Winterset has a GEM in Lisa, the owner of "Anything Sweet and More." Her German Burgers and her soups are delicious! My favorite dish is her "Shepherd's Pie." She also has the very best Rice Pudding I've ever had. No wonder there are so many blue ribbons from State Fairs framed around her shop.
An added pleasure is choosing from the many imported chocolates Lisa has from all over the world.
And I LOVE having lunch with music playing from the 40's!
Over all GREAT experience! GO!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013
Google Translation

Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anything Sweet & More Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Anything Sweet & More Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing