We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Heavenly Habitat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heavenly Habitat
Ranked #2 of 3 Winterset B&B and Inns
BLAINE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a great and relaxing time. Steve and Nancy are perfect hosts and the B &B is comfortable. quiet and most accommodating. Will definitely return in the fall either this year or next to see the Bridges and hopefully the completed John Wayne Museum. While in town, strongly recommend the North Side Cafe, provided you are still hungry after the huge breakfasts that Steve prepares.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jqbjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, Owner at Heavenly Habitat, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Your too kind. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Clean, quiet, well built. They didnt try to cram too many rooms into space. Good cooked breakfast. Not frozen pre fab food. Very nice owners. Available when we neeeded them. But let us do our own thing. Very accomodating. Nice town. Fair priced. Great history of the building.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, Owner at Heavenly Habitat, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about visiting our B&B. We enjoyed your company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A beautiful and homey setting. Very clean. Friendly owners. Full kitchen where we cooked dinner and ate a meal. Also an awesome bathtub for a relaxing bubble bath!! If I find myself back in Winterset I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, Owner at Heavenly Habitat, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. It makes us feel lucky to get to know guests like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Super clean, affordable, and private accommodations. This isn't your typical B&B! Each room is attached to its own personal bath; there is also an amazing claw foot tub available to soak in with your choice of complimentary bubble bath.
Not only was the location, room, and price a score, we fell in love with the owners. Being a "younger couple" than most B&B guests, we sat and talked to "Mom and Dad" during breakfast. They are such a wonderful couple. We truly felt at home! I even had breakfast in my sweats with wet hair.
We are already thinking of any excuse to go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Heavenly Habitat was previously a church which has been converted to a bed and breakfast. The owners have done an excellent job and the rooms are attractively decorated with every guest requirement thought of. A bonus is the guest lounge and kitchen which makes it perfect for a stay of a few days. Steve and Nancy are helpful and informative hosts and very knowledgable about the local area. An ample breakfast is included in the rate. I thought this property was very good value for money. We chose to stay here because it was highly rated on Trip Advisor and the ranking is well deserved.

Room Tip: There are two rooms and both are equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Steve was a great host for my short (1 night) business stay. I stayed in the Maureen O'Hara room. Comfy bed and very clean. Breakfast was a delicious rose shaped waffle, fruit and poached eggs. This location is very close to the center of this quaint town.

I would definitely stay here again should business or pleasure bring me to Winterset.

Room Tip: I stayed in Maureen O'Hara and it was nice... room across the hall was pretty too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisadhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nancy and Steve are gracious hosts that made us feel like family. We stayed here for 3 nights. The people of Winterset, Iowa are nice, knowledgeable and helpful . They are proud of where they live. Birth place of John Wayne and the filming of "The Bridges of Madison County". Nancy and Steve turned this church into a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We are excited to return next year. If you are looking for perfection with a quaint town that has antiques and a friendly community Winterset is your place. Thank you Steve and Nancy for an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms here along with a kitchen, dining and living room. There is no pool or fitne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterset
23.1 mi away
Hotel Greenfield
Hotel Greenfield
#1 of 1 in Greenfield
45 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
23.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel Casino
Lakeside Hotel Casino
#2 of 7 in Osceola
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Winterset
28 reviews
19.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Stuart
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Winterset
Super 8 Winterset
#1 of 2 in Winterset
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heavenly Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavenly Habitat

Property: Heavenly Habitat
Address: 218 S 2nd Ave, Winterset, IA 50273-1804
Location: United States > Iowa > Winterset
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winterset
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our room's are entirely separate from our living quarters. Each room has a Queen bed with private bathroom and walk in shower. There is HD Cable Television, and free WiFi. In addition to the room's you have access to a full kitchen, living room and dining area. A hearty breakfast is served at a time of your choosing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heavenly Habitat Winterset, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing