We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a fabulous alternative to a hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heavenly Habitat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Winterset B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Steve was a great host for my short (1 night) business stay. I stayed in the Maureen O'Hara room. Comfy bed and very clean. Breakfast was a delicious rose shaped waffle, fruit and poached eggs. This location is very close to the center of this quaint town.

I would definitely stay here again should business or pleasure bring me to Winterset.

Room Tip: I stayed in Maureen O'Hara and it was nice... room across the hall was pretty too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisadhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nancy and Steve are gracious hosts that made us feel like family. We stayed here for 3 nights. The people of Winterset, Iowa are nice, knowledgeable and helpful . They are proud of where they live. Birth place of John Wayne and the filming of "The Bridges of Madison County". Nancy and Steve turned this church into a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We are excited to return next year. If you are looking for perfection with a quaint town that has antiques and a friendly community Winterset is your place. Thank you Steve and Nancy for an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms here along with a kitchen, dining and living room. There is no pool or fitne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a delight to spend four nights in the former St. Paul Lutheran Church building. This is where my granddaughter was baptized and it was with her that I enjoyed my stay at what is now called Heavenly Habitat. The two guest rooms are comfortable and charming, decorated with antiques and special touches that let you know you are in a former place of worship. What was once the fellowship area is now a lovely sitting room and kitchen area dedicated to guest use.

Room Tip: Either of the two rooms would be great. We stayed in the room that was decorated with paintings of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marasgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We loved staying at heavenly habitat with Steve and Nancy - the owners making us feel extremely welcome. They helped us with any questions we had about getting to the "Bridges of Madison County' as well as advising us of our attractions around the Winterset Area. Everything was clean and the cooked breakfast just delicious!!! My partner and I would highly recommend "Heavenly Habitat"

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent two nights here. Excellent breakfasts, quiet, not wanting for anything. Pleanty of towels, soap, shampoo, etc. The bottled water in the refrigerator was appreciated (I don't promote bottled water, but when you're traveling you sometimes don't have an alternative).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frank2176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We found the "Heavenly Habitat" B&B on the internet, but their web site failed to adequately convey the comfort and cozy atmosphere we found visiting Winterset, IA. The owners are genuine Iowan's now, even if they moved from Texas, and their hospitality was refreshing. We shared the large dining and living space with another couple, but since there are only 2 guest rooms, that was not a problem. The high ceilings of the converted church fellowship hall gave a real sense of spaciousness to the place. The bed was comfortable, the private baths usable, and the cleanliness impeccable. Breakfast was home cooked and hearty. The neighborhood had lots of interesting architecture, and of course Winterset is home to the "Bridges of Madison County" and John Wayne's birth home. Say hello to Steve and Nancy for us!

Room Tip: The West Room has one queen bed, the East room had a full and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelFromIA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was the best B & B I have ever stayed in and there have been more than one. The rooms are very clean and the host (Steve) couldn't have been better. If you're in the area, this is the only one. In fact, this is the only place to stay. The breakfast was delicious. My wife and totally love it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carbfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterset
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
242 reviews
21.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
23.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Osceola
23.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel Casino
Lakeside Hotel Casino
#3 of 7 in Osceola
490 reviews
19.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heavenly Habitat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavenly Habitat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 218 S 2nd Ave, Winterset, IA 50273-1804
Location: United States > Iowa > Winterset
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winterset
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our room's are entirely separate from our living quarters. Each room has a Queen bed with private bathroom and walk in shower. There is HD Cable Television, and free WiFi. In addition to the room's you have access to a full kitchen, living room and dining area. A hearty breakfast is served at a time of your choosing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heavenly Habitat Bed & Breakfast Winterset, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing