We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the quaint town square of Winterset, Iowa” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi Pueblito Mexican Restaurant

Mi Pueblito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Winterset
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Although there seemed to be a lot of people in the restaurant, Maybe it was just us but I've much better Mexican food and $3.50 for a side of guacamole is quite high.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
223 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Right on the quaint town square of Winterset, Iowa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Filling lunch with fast, friendly service. Right across the street from the lovely county courthouse. Many of the buildings are marked with the date they were built, by whom and for what purpose. John Wayne birthplace just a couple of blocks away, so don't miss that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NNMinAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A surprise in Winterset, Iowa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Coming from out west we were a little worried about trying Mexican food in such a small town especially in Iowa, but my husband and I were very surprised. Great flavors, and the food was fresh, different tasting from our western restaurants, and very huge portions. I had the taquitos and my husband had fajitas. We literally had enough food for four people. The waiter was very friendly and nice and the restaurant was very clean. We'll return someday when in Iowa.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexico in Iowa?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Didn't expect much from a Mexican Restaurant in Iowa but it had a super menu but be careful - they give you enough food to feed an army. Very good service in nice old building right on the town square.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Mexican Surprise in Iowa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a surprise for us Texans to find such a good Mexican meal in the middle of Iowa! They have an extensive menu that includes about any Mexican meal you may want. Note that this is real Mexican food, as opposed to the somewhat spicier Tex-Mex variety we see further south, The wife and I ordered a combination meal, similar to fajitas, for two. Pricey vs. the rest of the menu, but so good. Mixture of beef, pork, and chicken, grilled with onions peppers, and fresh tomatoes, and seasoned perfectly. Served with fresh tortillas and the usual accompaniments. There was enough food for about eight people. The waiter was even kind enough to ask if we had somewhere to store the leftovers - which we will be enjoying for the next few days. A "must stop" if you are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank herbeehusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly, cheap and consistent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The food is good and cheap. The service is friendly and everything is consistent. Try to stop here anytime I am in the area and always know what I will get! I love that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jno823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Pueblito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mi Pueblito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing