We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is not very good”

A8 Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Williamsburg, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service is not very good”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been to this restaurant 4 times and have had problems with the service on 3 of those occasions. Problems were served wrong food, had to wait a long time for order (4 others were served before me and they came in after I did), and food was cold. After this last experience I will not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch/Dinner Spot off of I-80”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch while driving across Iowa, and we will definitely be repeat customers anytime we need to drive across Iowa (Danish Inn in Elk Horn, Iowa is another restaurant we always stop at for lunch while driving across Iowa). The restaurant is right on the main square of town, you have to drive into Williamsburg from I-80 - but it is a very nice and easy drive (I think 2 miles).

We were very happy with our lunch. This is a very good Chinese Restaurant you would expect to find in any nice neighborhood in Chicago, St. Louis, Minneapolis, etc.

This place is not a buffet, its a real restaurant. The prices were very good, and the service was excellent.

My bill was $12, and this included my tip. I got a lunch entree, crab ragoon, soup, and a soda. A real bargain. Its your fault if you leave hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalyan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese food.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We were very surprised to find such a great restaurant in this location. Started with crab ragoon which were better than most. The wonton soup had yummy bits of chinese bbq pork in it which was a nice touch. The dinner servings were large and well done. We had the kung pow &the moo shu which both were excellent. There was a team of servers that took good care of us. Kudos to the owners and staff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODESSA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We liked it. We didn't think it was a great place, but it's a nice place for a small town. The menu said the orange chicken was spicy, but neither the chicken nor the sauce seemed very spicy to us. Maybe they were referring to the peppers. The wonton soup was very good - lots of stuff in it. Much better than the broth that you get at some places. It's right on the town square, which is a good place to go for a walk after dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILLIP F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food find!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The small town of Williamsburg, IA has by far one of the best Chinese restaurants around. We live in Coralville and recently had our first dining experience at A8 Chinese Restaurant and will definitely be repeat customers. Located in the old library, this wonderful food find is a delight to the senses. The owner invested his own time to renovate the building into an bright, airy, clean, well-decorated food establishment. The staff were all friendly and efficient. Everyone in our party ordered something different but we swapped samples and found it all very tasty, each dish with its own distinctive flavor. All the lunch entrees were less than $7 and included an appetizer, a cup of soup, an entree and steamed or fried rice. What a bargain! Dinner entrees were only a few dollars more and we'll be returning to have those too! Would highly recommend A8 to anyone who likes Chinese and to anyone wanting to experience a new cuisine. A big find in a small town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank n1nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A8 Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Williamsburg, IA
 

Been to A8 Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing