We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Scenic City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Dakota, IL
2 reviews
“Great stay in Scenic City”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

On a trip for WingDing (Annual Goldwing motorcycle show) and had the best stay at the Candlewood Suites. Room was spacious and enjoyed leisurely breakfasts we cooked in our fully equipped kitchen. The room was within great travel distance to the venue for the weekend. The city has fabulous fireworks display over the water. The staff was friendly. Since staying at the Candlewood in Des Moines have since stayed in Springfield IL and look forward to more trips in this hotel chain facilities

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
20
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My wife & I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. It is a nice location just off the interstate and close to Jordan Creek Shopping Center, with great shopping and many excellent restaurants. Our room was very nice, clean, and roomy. All the rooms have queen beds. I would have preferred a king, but oh well. The I would have also liked free wireless internet, although there is free wired internet in the room. Liked the local, family feel, with a special introduction from the desk manager, as well as an extensive library of free movies and food and drinks available on the honor system. Overall, this was an excellent value with a kitchenette in the room. My wife and I really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famdoc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Booked for a weekend stay, but left after one night. Probably should not have checked in at all. When we arrived after 4pm we were told the room had not yet been cleaned and to come back later. To compensate us for this inconvenience we were offered two 50 cent coupons for a can of soda pop.
We returned, checked into the room and went out to dinner. When we returned to go to bed, we discovered the toilet would not flush. Reported this to the desk and they handed me a plunger and turned away. We were able to "flush" the toilet with multiple plunges and flushes and went to bed. In the morning we again told the desk clerk of the problem and he promised to call in the maintenance man for repairs.
When we returned just before dinner time we found the toilet still did not flush and reported this to another desk clerk. We were informed the maintenance man had the day off and they would see if they could "snake the toilet" when they had some time.
We decided we would not stay an additional evening and have to worry about having a functioning toilet.
We were never offered another room, or compensation for the problems we experienced. Desk personel did not apologize or express concern for the problems we were having.
.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank netlakeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton,IL
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed with a mother that snored, so the extra room was great. It was set up for a extended stay, but was very clean!! It was a great value, but no frills.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank carguy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We needed a place close to the interstate so we chose this because it is in the Holiday Inn family of hotels. This place was clean but we found out walking down the hall to our room that the second floor is the smoking floor. The room wasn't anything remarkable but the bed was very comfortable. This hotel seems to be for those who want to be left alone as far as staff and amenities go. The staff is not there from 11 pm to 7 am. They have a pantry for food items to purchase which is located in the same room as their fitness equipment. Again, no staff, just the honor system. My husband's cinnamon roll tasted like it was way past expiration. So based on that the most I can compliment is the cleanliness and the comfort of the bed which for a lot of people is plenty.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWKbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

based on reviews of hotels in the area, I chose this one partly because it seemed the most convenient (West Des Moines) and to maintain my points. I agree with previous poster regarding need for updates on the property. Gym is pretty sad and basic. I got a free pass at the local YMCA, which is gorgeous. Hallway layout is old and uninviting. It is located near 24 hr supermarket, which is great. And the staff have been friendly and accommodating. I would have preferred to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn but alas not located where I needed it to be. Also no wireless in the rooms... they provide an ethernet cable, but still...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setiramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I spend over 75 nights a year in hotels for business. Of all the Candlewood Suites that I have stayed in this one is at the bottom of my list. This hotel just doesn't have the little things that I have come to expect from these properties. To begin, the entryway looks more like a back door than a front entrance. The halls are poorly layed out and lit. The second floor is apparently a smoking floor. Had I known that prior to checking in I would have opted for a different room. The cabinets and dishwasher are sub-par for other Candlewood properties. I wouldn't expect to find these in a new hotel but rather a fixer upper home built in the 80's or 90's. The TVs are usually a wide screen flat panel but the ones found here are older 'non-flat panel' standard Philips models. The DVD library that most other properties offer is made up of VHS tapes!

All-in-all I would probably rather have stayed in the Holiday Inn Express that's right down the street. It too looks brand new.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pab485s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
577 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Des Moines

Property: Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Address: 7625 Office Plaza Dr N, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites West Des Moines hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in the room. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen that includes a microwave oven, full-size refrigerator and 2 burner stove. Work efficiently at your over-sized desk with 2 phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while enjoying the DVD/VCR player. Borrow some of your favorites from our free video/CD library. Work off some stress in the fitness center or grab a snack from our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, beverages, snacks and sundries at value prices. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel (fees apply), which can be helpful when relocation with pets forces you to leave your old surroundings. Our location is perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Located just 1 mile from the Wells Fargo offices in West Des Moines and the Jordan Creek Town Center Mall. Offices for State Farm Insurance, Farm Bureau and American Family Insurance are only minutes away. Downtown Des Moines is an easy drive (12 miles) and the Des Moines Airport is only 14 miles from the hotel. Enjoy the zoo or the best restaurants and entertainment the Des Moines area has to offer only minutes from the hotel. Also located nearby are HyVee Food Stores, Wal-Mart or Sam's Club and Target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Candlewood Suites West Des Moines
Candlewood West Des Moines
West Des Moines Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing