We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh for FSM sake!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I found this property great. No, it's not fancy. It's very basic. But it's immaculately clean, well-maintained and a great bargain. One review noted that there are no ice machines. No, there are no ice machines in the HALLS. But each room has a full sized refrigerator with it's own ice maker, plus a stovetop, full sized microwave, dishwasher, dishes and silverware, pots and pans, toaster, and coffeemaker. Even a garbage disposer. Coffee and microwave popcorn included. And a little convenience store next to the FREE guest laundry and fitness room, where you can get food to prepare in your room, plus snacks and sodas--all on the honor system. Pay by putting the cash in the slot, or a slip with your room number and prices of what you took and they'll put it on your room tab. High speed wired and wireless internet access--free--with speeds that are usable but not blazing fast. The property is quiet, and in a small grouping of hotels of various price points and flags. The front desk personnel were very friendly and eager to please. I am disabled and walk with a crutch, but I never reserve handicapped rooms, but the first thing the young lady who checked me in was concerned about was if I needed a room with an accessible bathtub or any other features. I assured her I didn't need these. She placed me near a door on the first floor so it would be as easy as possible for me to get my stuff in, but happily moved me upstairs when I said that I felt safer there, and made sure my room was close to but NOT across from or adjacent to the elevator.

I see reviews of this property complaining that the TVs are not large flat panels, that there are no soup spoons in the rooms, that it's "no frills," "dated," and "tired and dingy." One even suggested that it cost "nearly as much as most other hotels in the area." Really? Something other than the Motel 6 was nearly as cheap as this property's full rack rate of $79/night? And do these "nearly as cheap" rooms have full sized fridges, stovetops, full sized microwaves, dishes, pots and pans, dishwashers, and pretty much everything--including the kitchen sink? The Hampton Inn nearby has rooms with just beds--no fridge, no microwave, nothing like a kitchen--same for the nearby Fairfield Inn--so much for Hilton and Marriott. The Hampton's rack rate is a whopping $139, and the Fairfield's a more reasonable $84. For MUCH smaller rooms with far fewer features, though both are much "fancier."

I don't know that you could do much better for less than $80/night. Certainly not in the Des Moines area.

Room Tip: This is just a really great value. Unless you really want to pay a lot more to get a fancier room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spookiewon319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

I spent 45 days at this property. This is basic extended stay property. No-frills lodging. The hotel nice and clean for its age. I really enjoyed being close to the mall, nice restaurants, and the interstate.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Despite reporting a remodeled status in the past 2 years this hotel is clearly 'dated'. Everything from constantly broken washing machines that leaked all over the floors and into the main hallway. There didn't seem to be an overly focused effort to make a permanent repair. The television in my room was something from the past. Must have been a 20" TUBE TV that was frustrating to watch when one is used to a larger 26" or higher LCD or Plasma. The hotel just doesn't inspire confidence in me all all. The staff I found to be mostly friendly one moment and the next totally disinterested. It is easy to understand why this particular Candlewood isn't popular with traveling business staff. I'd avoid it and go to the Staybridge instead.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have stayed at Candlewood before and I didn't remember it being so tired and dingy. The room was spacious, we had a two room suite. The floors were what got me though, they really needed deep cleaned and well really the walls and everything could of used a deep clean. Very disappointing since it cost nearly as much as most other hotels in the area. We woke to the smell of fire...my guess someone burned something in another room and it just went right through the vents. There were a lot of channels to pick from which was nice.
I do have to say that the guy at the front desk, I can't remember his name, but he was excellent at his job and i wanted to like the place on his behalf, but we won't be staying there anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suite79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had never included a stay at Candlewood because we knew nothing about it. We made a late reservation and had no problem. We were surprised. It is not your typical hotel. Geared to long term stays it included a full kitchen, including dishes and silverware. The laundry was complimentry. The room was clean and good size. The young lady at the desk couldn't have been more pleasant. A good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcwdz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We made reservations using points. We were to get a NON SMOKING room. When we arrived our room was 60 degrees and FREEEEEZING!! We shut the a/c down and went to check out the fitness room...VERY SMALL! When we came back to the room it smelled like something was burning. We called the desk and someone came up. The thermostat was broke on the wall so the air kept trying to cool as it said it was 80 degrees when it was NOT! We were put to manual on the vent. We put it on warm which then made EVERYTHING in the room WET!! And the SMOKE smell came out horrible. I asked the man when he came to our NON SMOKING room why we had ashtrays and matches.....he said this was the only room left but it was treated to not smell like smoke. UMMM the bed and sheets smelled like an old ashtray and when we got home the clothes in our suit case smelled like a smokers bar. This hotel was horrible with what we were to get and what we got. PLEASE read these reviews. I am very honest and this hotel did us WRONG with the SMOKE room and broken a/c. We were also told there was not another open room when the parking lot was less than half full. SO DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stay at this Candlewood Suites location on a regular basis. It can't be beat for the personal service and as a frequent traveler, I almost always get a free upgrade I have experienced very few minor issues in the last several years that I have stayed there and they are promptly addressed. I am very pleased with the value and service from the excellent staff.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
Thank KSMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
611 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#17 of 22 in West Des Moines
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
253 reviews
3.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#20 of 22 in West Des Moines
98 reviews
2.3 mi away
Element West Des Moines
Element West Des Moines
#9 of 22 in West Des Moines
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Des Moines

Address: 7625 Office Plaza Dr N, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range: $79 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites West Des Moines hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in the room. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen that includes a microwave oven, full-size refrigerator and 2 burner stove. Work efficiently at your over-sized desk with 2 phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while enjoying the DVD/VCR player. Borrow some of your favorites from our free video/CD library. Work off some stress in the fitness center or grab a snack from our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, beverages, snacks and sundries at value prices. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel (fees apply), which can be helpful when relocation with pets forces you to leave your old surroundings. Our location is perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Located just 1 mile from the Wells Fargo offices in West Des Moines and the Jordan Creek Town Center Mall. Offices for State Farm Insurance, Farm Bureau and American Family Insurance are only minutes away. Downtown Des Moines is an easy drive (12 miles) and the Des Moines Airport is only 14 miles from the hotel. Enjoy the zoo or the best restaurants and entertainment the Des Moines area has to offer only minutes from the hotel. Also located nearby are HyVee Food Stores, Wal-Mart or Sam's Club and Target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Candlewood Suites West Des Moines
Candlewood West Des Moines
West Des Moines Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing