We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveler rating
430
166
76
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
430
166
76
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews des moines road noise room was clean great place to stay easy access would stay here again staff was friendly complimentary breakfast pool and hot tub king room the breakfast area front desk staff business trip would highly recommend this hotel up to date waffles very nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 691 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Stayed here over the holiday weekend. Overall I was very impressed with this hotel. Very updated in the rooms and super comfortable. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Free morning breakfast was fantastic. Staff super friendly and helpful. This hotel was defiantly five star.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank omahaquadfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmurray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello and a big THANK YOU for the great 5 STAR review of your recent experience with our Hampton Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel so much and look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

For the price you pay to stay at Hampton they should be adding not removing amenities. This is all Hamptons we stayed at on this trip. No more bathroom drinking glasses, no table and chairs, no in-room restaurant and TV info.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank goinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmurray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience with our Hampton Inn. I am sorry to see that we did not meet some of your expectations regarding the hotel amenities. The wrapped plastic cup that Hampton's have traditionally used has been replaced with a paper cup designed for both hot and cold beverages and it is Hilton's effort to become more green. There are in-room TV channel guides near every desk and chair along with general hotel information that is useful to our guests. Our front desk team members have all been trained to assist our guests with providing local information and recommendations for restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Please feel free at anytime to ask any hotel associate for needed information that would make your stay more enjoyable. We hope that this information was helpful to you and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

My wife andI have probably stayed at 35 Hampton Inns and is almost usually our first choice when we are on the road. This Hampton Inn was totally different in what we have come to expect from a Hampton Inn. We asked for a king sized bed and a tub. We did not get a tub and the room was very small, no counter space to speak of, and there was only one chair with a back and two little stools to sit on. The windows were dirty. We wanted to mix a cocktail in our room before we left for dinner. The only 2 cups were the paper cups with the coffee maker. I asked at the front desk if there were at least plastic cups to use. The front desk person begrudgingly gave me a couple of very small plastic cups. I asked her what people use to rinse out with after brushing. She curtly replied that they use the paper coffee cups! She was not rude but cooly dismissive. There was a dirty wash cloth on the floor in the hall in front of our door that was there from the time we checked in until the time checked. out.This room would be acceptable for a single occupant in the area for business but most women would have trouble finding enough light for cosmetics and nowhere to put them.The air conditioner was very loud and the south side of the hotel is very close to the interstate so there is a lot of street noise also. I was told that the hotel just had a complete redo. I hope this type of room is not something the chain is thinking about doing in other locations. The place was clean but we could have stayed at lesser chain motels for less and had about the same lack of amenities that we experienced here.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmurray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience with our Hampton Inn. I am sorry to read that we fell short in a few areas with regards to some of your expectations. We will certainly use your feedback internally to make proper adjustments to our operation and ensure that we do everything within our ability to exceed our future guest's needs and expectations. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you back through our area again.

Regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Travelling from West to East coast this location was a timely convenient stopover. Located within a couple of miles from Jordan Creek Mall with plenty of nearby amenities and very convenient to interstate 80. I booked 3rd party since the price on the Hilton app for this stay was about $65 higher but the hotel was able to accommodate my request for 2 double beds with a simple phone call. Staff very friendly and accommodating and I would say an above average breakfast. Overall, very happy with my stay at this property.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A1194SBjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmurray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Hello and thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team in hopes that this will motivate them even more to deliver the best guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

This Hampton is like most of the brand: Clean, Comfortable, great beds, warm staff, excellent breakfast. Great location next to I-80 just west of Des Moines. I would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank edlawic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmurray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to tells us and others about your recent experience with our Hampton inn. We are thrilled with your 5 STAR review and will share your thoughts and kind words to our team. This will inspire them to continue with their efforts to deliver the best to all of our hotel guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews