We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”
Review of Valley West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley West Inn
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Let me preface this by saying the actual bedroom itself was shockingly clean and decent compared to the rest of the facility. The hallways are dirty and run down, with stained carpeting and dingy dirty walls. The elevator belongs in a horror movie. To get to our room, we had to travel down 3 long hallways that just kept leading to another door and another door and then a staircase (even though we were on the first floor) and then another door. The "breakfast" consisted of a case of hard, stale mini-cinammon rolls. None of the outer doors into the hotel seemed to be locked no matter how late or early. And we didn't even attempt the pool after smelling the pool area. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cableguy62120112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Valley West Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great Hotel with very reasonable rates. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were perfect..VERY CLEAN. Great location, near tons of restaurants (Joe's Crab Shack is my favorite) and the Jordan Creek Mall is only a couple minutes away. I travel often for work and very few hotels offer the convenience that Valley West Inn has. The hotel has a sports bar inside along a great pool for the kids and a great diner for food (fabulous breakfast, get the homemade green chili on your hashbrowns). You really don't even need to leave the hotel! Thanks for the great stay, I will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Over the years, I hadn't heard great things about this hotel. But it recently went through a management change which has apparently done wonders for the place! I was impressed by the upgrades to the facility. It has a great little sports bar on the second floor, and was very convenient all the way across the board.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I recently needed an extended stay hotel that was good for my business and some place my family would enjoy with me on the weekends. I heard thru the grapevine that my needs could be met at The Valley West Inn, in West Des Moines, Iowa. My kids were thrilled due to the great indoor swimming pool, my wife was pleased, because she could shop till she dropped at a beautiful mall acrosee the street, and I could get my work done. It was my home away from home in the 3 months I would be in Des Moines. The staff made me feel like part of a family rather than a guest, and they have a great bar for me at the end of the day to relax. It's hard to be out of town, but this hotel made my life and travels much more pleasant. "Happy Travels"

Room Tip: I stayed in the middle of property. It seemed to be very convienient, to lobby, parking lot, etc.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4BigSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a concert I came to town for. I left my phone at the event and the lady at the front desk let me use hers to contact who I needed to. She was very friendly. The new owners have done a lot of work to this staple hotel in Des Moines. It is very nice and the rooms are up to date. It has everything you need with a resaurant and a bar inside the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishaman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was recently had a trip to DM and wasn't sure where to stay since it was my first trip there.
My travel agent recommended this place and it was a pleasant surprise! The check-in was really pleasant and smooth and all of the employees were really nice and helpful. When I checked into the room it was really clean and the beds were really comfortable. Definitely check out the penalty box-the food is great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel years back and wasn't overly impressed. But I figured with the excellent location and super low rates, I'd give it another try. I'm glad I did! Apparently it has come under new managment, and it's night and day from my previous experience. Much cleaner than what I remember, and the full-service sports bar meant I didn't even have to leave my hotel to enjoy my night! The only thing that hadn't changed from my last stay 10 years ago was the room rates! Highly recommended to anyone staying in the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#20 of 22 in West Des Moines
98 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley West Inn

Address: 3535 Westown Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1007
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range: $65 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley West Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great mallside location! Within walking distance to Target, and Hyvee (grocery store). Excellent location next to Interstate 235 in West Des Moines. Very close to downtown. Only a hop-skip-and-jump away from Des Moines entertainment venues! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley West Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing