We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned visit with another good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
253 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Returned visit with another good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We returned again this year as we think this hotel is a great value for the money. We traveled 9 hours from Toledo, Ohio to West Des Moines, Iowa and found the hotel clean and the rooms well done. It's not the "Ritz" but it's comfortable and friendly. The staff is very friendly and willing to help if you need it. You can't beat the Marriott chain restaurants for the money and we'll for sure stay her again if we're on a motor trip West.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkngprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    75
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
79
48
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel appeared to be very recently remodeled. Rooms were decent size with plenty of outlets for your electronics. Beds were comfortable and the chair with ottoman was a welcome addition. Fridge and microwave were nice conveniences, Location is very convenient to the interstate.

Our room faced the interstate and it didn't seem well sound proofed. Nice gathering area and an acceptable breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel had a huge face lift. It's very nice and modern inside. The people are super nice and the location is great. They have security at night. You have to use your key to get inside all doors. They have a microwave and refrigerator in the rooms. The beds are very comfortable and they had little stools that you could pull over and put your feet up when you sat on the couch. There are restaurants and a gas station within walking distance. They also have room service now. The morning breakfast in the same but it's nice. There is coffee all the time which we loved. We used to stay here every other month when my husband came from Mn for a doctors appointment. It used to be a lot less expensive. They definitely passed on their remodeling expense to their customers. Still a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: King rooms are large and come with a couch. Hotel is quit so I'm sure all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysmaketime2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel on our way out west. The hotel is located close to the freeway, making it easy to find, but you may encounter a little excess noise from the traffic. We stayed in a room right by the elevator banks, an unfortunate location when people come back to their rooms late. The room itself was fairly spacious and nicely decorated. The king sized bed was comfortable, though a bit soft for our taste. We were surprised (and disappointed) to discover that the sofa bed in the King room was a twin sized mattress versus the expected Queen. The bathroom was large with a great shower. The kids enjoyed the pool, but unfortunately the hot tub was not operational during our visit. Breakfast was the standard fare, with yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fruit, turkey sausage, bagels, cereal, etc. We tried the waffles and found them to be incredibly tasteless, even with a full container of syrup. Several fast food places nearby, however. One of the best parts of the stay was the staff. We found everyone to be very polite and friendly. In all, a decent place to stay, but don’t count on being amazed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway and away from the elevator banks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbud22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abid T, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your stay.Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. We pride ourselves on the customer service delivered by our associates at the hotel , and do appreciate you comments about the Staff and a personalized the customer service you have received. I look forward to your return visit with us, so you can continue to experience great service and improved accommodations at the Fairfield Inn and Suites West Des Moines.

Best Regards,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night, the room and all public areas were nearly completely new, only a few legacy fixtures showed some wear. Perfectly clean, great linens, pool looked nice, as did the lobby and breakfast area. Conveniently located by the highway and several fast food and fuel choices. I would definitely recommend to anyone not needing an on-site restaurant. Very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rugrats2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are an Marriott elite rewards member and there was no mention made of this upon my arrival. No upgrades or even hey we have your account information. The only way I knew it was in their system was when it came on the bill on the final day. The courtyard across the way puts up a nice sign welcoming each member which at least lets you know they value your visit. The staff seemed nice enough though. You can tell this hotel was recently renovated. Nice clean feel to it with the modern decor. The pool was 5 feet deep. The hot tub was out of order. We enjoyed swimming. The fitness center had an elliptical, some free weights, and a treadmill. It has a mirror facing equipment so pictures may make it look bigger than it is. The breakfast was not tasty. There was a waffle maker but the waffles turned out bland. There were hard boiled eggs and some sausage links. Packets of oatmeal some bread you could toast, some yogurt, juices. You could tell that all the food was set up to be of convenience to the employees rather than for comfort or taste. It was clean and you can make it work for a continental breakfast. We were looking for some scrambled eggs or a breakfast potato. The room brochure said there were Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Which they did not have. There was some decent fresh fruit cut up which I appreciated. The bed was king sized and comfy. I slept great. The elevator beeped throughout the night. We were on the opposite side of the interstate and I didn't hear traffic noise at all. There is an Arby's and a Quizno's within a short walking distance from the hotel. Probably 500 feet away.There is no restaurant on site. The hotel room did have a small refrigerator,coffee maker and microwave. The shampoo was Pantene. There was no lotion. Only shampoo, conditioner and soap. We got a decent rate for this hotel due to Easter. I have seen it advertised though for the mid $130's per night and that would not be worth it in my opinion. It is near Jordan Creek shopping mall and there are a lot of restaurant choices in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abid T, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your stay.Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I look forward to your return visit with us so you can experience the true level of service and accommodations the Fairfield Inn and Suites West Des Moines has to offer.
Best Regards,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed on 3 separate Saturday nights in April and March and checked in late, around 11pm. The front desk person was courteous. We had asked for a top (4th) floor room with two queen beds - no two-queen rooms on 4th floor, so our rooms were always on the third floor. Room were great - new decor, very clean, and very quiet. I thought the beds were comfortable, but they are firm and definitely too hard for my husband.

Breakfast was okay - the usual fare. The Fairfield Inn's website has multiple photos of the breakfast showing hot scrambed eggs, including the one advertising their 'HOT' breakfast. All three Saturday nights we spent here, we got down to breakfast an hour or more before it closed and there was never once any hot eggs of any kind - disappointing. Sometimes they had the cold hard boiled eggs, but were even out of those one time. The only 'hot' items were turkey sausages and waffles. Since I am gluten-intolerant and can't eat the waffles, cereal, muffins, etc, having eggs is probably a bigger deal for me than for most people.

We didn't try the pool or exercise equipment, so can't speak to those. All ice machines but the one on 4th floor were out of order, but not a huge deal, since it was so cold outside.

This Fairfield Inn was/is the most reasonably priced 2 1/2 star motel in the area, so with our discounts, we'll stay here again and just not count on seeing any hot eggs for breakfast!

Room Tip: Get down to breakfast early if you want a complete selection before they start running out of stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like-to-hike24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abid T, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your stay. Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I look forward to your return visit with us so you can experience the true level of service and accommodations the Fairfield Inn and Suites West Des Moines has to offer.
Best Regards,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Address: 7225 Vista Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn West Des Moines
Fairfield West Des Moines
West Des Moines Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing