We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay... considering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good stay... considering”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a busy hotel which accomodates many sports related teams on weekends. We were in town for a soccer tournament over Memorial Day and the rain turned everyone's schedule upside down. The Hotel staff was great and accomodating to our needs. The Breakfast area was clean and kept up. Housekeeping did a great job working around us since the weather kept us from heading out. The pool area and workout room were well maintained. Yes, it can be loud with all the kids and activities, but the location, service and cleanliness made up for it. No complaints, other than the weather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
83
49
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We requested a rollaway bed for the room. It was just shoved into the entry hallway to the room. We had to roll it into place and set it up ourselves before we could even get our luggage into the room. Not very helpful when arriving late at night with 3 tired kids. The area around the pool was never cleaned the 4 days we stayed there. Wet food was left on the tile floor around the pool. We found clumps of hair floating in the pool that we fished out with their net, the bathroom by the pool was never cleaned (we know this because there wasn't a wastebasket in the bathroom and there were used paper towels left on the floor the 4 days we were there). The toilet paper in that bathroom wasn't restocked. There were broken ceiling tiles directly over the pool. The room was clean enough and the staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was nice. There was a complimentary 4 cup coffee maker in the room, but the coffee packets they provided were for a 1 cup coffee maker, so we had to figure out how to take the coffee bag out of the plastic tub it came in to use it in the basket, and then either make one cup at a time, or make 4 cups of really weak coffee. They never restocked the coffee packets in the room the entire time we stayed there. We would not stay there again. We ended up there because the Sheraton and the Marriott were fully booked for a wrestling tournament for the dates we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petfxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. The breakfast was a large assortment and wonderful. When the coffee and water ran out, it was quickly replaced with new 'pots'. Even the cleaning staff were friendly! Only concern was that there wasn't any type of handle in the shower/tub. Normally there is some type of 'handle' you can grab to get in/out of the shower and/or tub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emptynesters50613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice enough room, good breakfast area, pleasant folks at check-in and 10-15 min drive to couple of strip malls /eating joints. About 20-25 min from the airport as well...why not a 4 or a 5 ? Well the courtyard nearby was awesome when I stayed there last !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exploringwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night when my son had a basketball tournament. i had booked it ahead of time, but called about a week before to request a rollaway bed for the room, they said it would be no problem. They delivered what they promised, and when we went to see if we could check in early, our room was ready with the rollaway bed already in there. Great hotel, clean, and good breakfast that is included in the stay. we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is an older Fairfield. A full breakfast is included in the rate ($113). The staff is exceptional. Chris the night desk attendant is an exceptional guy. Full of local information and advise as to where to go and see in the area. The rooms are your typical 10 year old Fairfield. The beds are comfy, the furnishings are a bit dated. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Address: 7225 Vista Dr, West Des Moines, IA 50266-9315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn West Des Moines
Fairfield West Des Moines
West Des Moines Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing