We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
91
85
40
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
85
40
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk room was clean waffle maker des moines hard boiled eggs yogurt whirlpool suite soccer tournament hot items would stay here again gas station one night stay morning breakfast breakfast area a great stay nice place to stay free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 233 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Multiple families met in West Des Moines for the Thanksgiving Holiday. We picked Fairfield Inn for its convenient location, easy access to the highway, and price. When we walked in, we were greeted by two very friendly desk staff, which made us feel welcome and appreciated. Apparently they have different floors designated for different bed types? Those that had king size beds were on the 4th floor. Those of us with 2 queens were on the 3rd floor....no problem, just curious. Immediately, we commented on how nice the property looked. The desk clerk said that they were planning an upgrade to a Level 4 next year.
There are several restaurants in the adjacent parking area. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Everything worked and we had a good nights sleep. The complimentary breakfasts were very nice. They had Jimmy Dean bacon-egg-cheese and sausage-egg-cheese biscuits ready to microwave. They had fruit in packaged cups. The waffle batter was pre-poured in individual cups (with lids) that made the whole buffet look (and stay) clean and neat.
We would definitely stay here again, and recommend that you do the same. We got our rooms on PriceLine for $53/nite. The property was rated 2.5 stars. It should be rated higher.

Room tip: We asked for a room on the south side (away from the highway). We didn't hear any noise.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Clean with all the amenities. Common areas much nicer than room. Room pretty simple but bed wasn't bad and pillows were nice. Would stay again for location and price. Staff was friendly and efficient.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go2FunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got this place super cheap by naming our own price on priceline. We were so pleased. The room was very nice and very clean with comfortable beds and good shower pressure. The pool and fitness area were nice. It is in a convenient area with plenty of restaurants and near Jordan Creek. The breakfast was great (breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fresh bananas and apples, grapefruit, yogurt, toast, muffins, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal...quite the spread for a free hotel breakfast. We paid less than the advertised price at a junky motel 6 we drove by on our way to the Cyclones game in Ames the next day, and this place was definitely deserving of at least the 2.5 star rating it had on priceline.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_from_Midtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Its exactly what you expect. Which is a good thing. The rooms are neat, its not fancy but its clean and functional. You get a bed, a desk and a bathroom. The breakfast is a little short on fresh but if you like yogurt or bread you are all set. The summary is clean,close, and corporate which is pretty good lately.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atubbyhubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

At the bottom end of the Marriott Chain of hotels, there is nothing spectacular about this property, but IT IS all that I said in the title.

As a traveler, I stay in many Marriott properties, but not often the Fairfield's. You know what you're getting; decent bed, good tv, okay shower, and decent breakfast food (complimentary).

If you want a no frills clean and comfortable stay, this will suit you just fine. If you want something "comfy", you should pay more and look at other Marriott or Sheraton properties in DesMoines.

Part of the no frills was that the (free) in-room wifi was S...L...O...W.

Room tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room NOT on the interstate side of the hotel.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews