We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
322 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good hotel friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is an older Fairfield. A full breakfast is included in the rate ($113). The staff is exceptional. Chris the night desk attendant is an exceptional guy. Full of local information and advise as to where to go and see in the area. The rooms are your typical 10 year old Fairfield. The beds are comfy, the furnishings are a bit dated. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
75
43
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Joplin Missouri
Level Contributor
223 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Multiple families met in West Des Moines for the Thanksgiving Holiday. We picked Fairfield Inn for its convenient location, easy access to the highway, and price. When we walked in, we were greeted by two very friendly desk staff, which made us feel welcome and appreciated. Apparently they have different floors designated for different bed types? Those that had king size beds were on the 4th floor. Those of us with 2 queens were on the 3rd floor....no problem, just curious. Immediately, we commented on how nice the property looked. The desk clerk said that they were planning an upgrade to a Level 4 next year.
There are several restaurants in the adjacent parking area. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Everything worked and we had a good nights sleep. The complimentary breakfasts were very nice. They had Jimmy Dean bacon-egg-cheese and sausage-egg-cheese biscuits ready to microwave. They had fruit in packaged cups. The waffle batter was pre-poured in individual cups (with lids) that made the whole buffet look (and stay) clean and neat.
We would definitely stay here again, and recommend that you do the same. We got our rooms on PriceLine for $53/nite. The property was rated 2.5 stars. It should be rated higher.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the south side (away from the highway). We didn't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
281 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Clean with all the amenities. Common areas much nicer than room. Room pretty simple but bed wasn't bad and pillows were nice. Would stay again for location and price. Staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go2FunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got this place super cheap by naming our own price on priceline. We were so pleased. The room was very nice and very clean with comfortable beds and good shower pressure. The pool and fitness area were nice. It is in a convenient area with plenty of restaurants and near Jordan Creek. The breakfast was great (breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fresh bananas and apples, grapefruit, yogurt, toast, muffins, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal...quite the spread for a free hotel breakfast. We paid less than the advertised price at a junky motel 6 we drove by on our way to the Cyclones game in Ames the next day, and this place was definitely deserving of at least the 2.5 star rating it had on priceline.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_from_Midtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Its exactly what you expect. Which is a good thing. The rooms are neat, its not fancy but its clean and functional. You get a bed, a desk and a bathroom. The breakfast is a little short on fresh but if you like yogurt or bread you are all set. The summary is clean,close, and corporate which is pretty good lately.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atubbyhubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

At the bottom end of the Marriott Chain of hotels, there is nothing spectacular about this property, but IT IS all that I said in the title.

As a traveler, I stay in many Marriott properties, but not often the Fairfield's. You know what you're getting; decent bed, good tv, okay shower, and decent breakfast food (complimentary).

If you want a no frills clean and comfortable stay, this will suit you just fine. If you want something "comfy", you should pay more and look at other Marriott or Sheraton properties in DesMoines.

Part of the no frills was that the (free) in-room wifi was S...L...O...W.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room NOT on the interstate side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I slept in a room on the side away from the highway. It was a quiet night sleep. room was nice but its seen its better days As the carpent looked warn, the clock radio was cracked and I couldnt' turn on one of the lights. Nice to see it had a mini fridge and microwave. Liked this hotel better than the Springhill across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cuddlelovebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#11 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#4 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 20 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Address: 7225 Vista Dr, West Des Moines, IA 50266-9315
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn West Des Moines
Fairfield West Des Moines
West Des Moines Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing