We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic hotel good for travel on a mid budget.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
321 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Basic hotel good for travel on a mid budget.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Clean with all the amenities. Common areas much nicer than room. Room pretty simple but bed wasn't bad and pillows were nice. Would stay again for location and price. Staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go2FunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
77
48
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got this place super cheap by naming our own price on priceline. We were so pleased. The room was very nice and very clean with comfortable beds and good shower pressure. The pool and fitness area were nice. It is in a convenient area with plenty of restaurants and near Jordan Creek. The breakfast was great (breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fresh bananas and apples, grapefruit, yogurt, toast, muffins, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal...quite the spread for a free hotel breakfast. We paid less than the advertised price at a junky motel 6 we drove by on our way to the Cyclones game in Ames the next day, and this place was definitely deserving of at least the 2.5 star rating it had on priceline.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_from_Midtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Its exactly what you expect. Which is a good thing. The rooms are neat, its not fancy but its clean and functional. You get a bed, a desk and a bathroom. The breakfast is a little short on fresh but if you like yogurt or bread you are all set. The summary is clean,close, and corporate which is pretty good lately.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atubbyhubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

At the bottom end of the Marriott Chain of hotels, there is nothing spectacular about this property, but IT IS all that I said in the title.

As a traveler, I stay in many Marriott properties, but not often the Fairfield's. You know what you're getting; decent bed, good tv, okay shower, and decent breakfast food (complimentary).

If you want a no frills clean and comfortable stay, this will suit you just fine. If you want something "comfy", you should pay more and look at other Marriott or Sheraton properties in DesMoines.

Part of the no frills was that the (free) in-room wifi was S...L...O...W.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room NOT on the interstate side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I slept in a room on the side away from the highway. It was a quiet night sleep. room was nice but its seen its better days As the carpent looked warn, the clock radio was cracked and I couldnt' turn on one of the lights. Nice to see it had a mini fridge and microwave. Liked this hotel better than the Springhill across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cuddlelovebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

For the price that you pay for the room, it definately needs some work. I did read reviews before we traveled to this location so I had alot of things in my head from what I had read. This is how our experience was. Everyone says customer service was terrible, we had no issues someone was at the desk when we walked through the door and greeted us, check-in took like 2 seconds with no issues at all. Person was very nice and polite and quick, knew what he was doing. We checked into the whirlpool suite as we were staying for our anniversary. The carpet definately needs cleaned, for the price that you pay for the rooms you would think the up keep of the hotel would be better. The jacuzzi tub, with the fireplace and tv was AWESOME! That was my favorite part of the room. The bed was comfortable, but everytime you moved or tossed or turned or sat down or up whatever it was it squeaked VERY ANNOYING! About 10:30-11 PM at night all of a sudden we head VERY LOUD noises from the water pipes running, we were on the 4th floor so I'm not sure where it was coming from, but it was LOUD and loud enough to keep us awake for at least 30 minutes. Then it was quite the rest of the night being on the opposite side of the interstate helped as well. However had a BRIGHT SHINING LIGHT that they put on the side of the building that was RIGHT NEXT to our window, so the black out curtains didn't do much as they don't close all the way, so that was also annoying. I definately think the room needs some updates, the couch looked like it was from the 70's and again the carpet needed cleaned. The pool and hot tub were downstairs were great, the AC didn't work the greatest, thankfully it wasn't very hot out. The breakfast in the morning was definately packed, but we didn't stay for that, so I don't have much feedback on that. For the price of the room though I thought it was definately overpriced for the condition of the hotel. Don't think I would return, if you're looking for quality. If you're not picky it's probably ok. :)

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side of the interstate away from a light on the side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Fairfield is in a nice area of upscale office parks just off the I80 exit ramp. Several restaurants, mostly of the fast food variety, are nearby. We were greeted pomptly by a friendly staff member. We called ahead for availability and were offered a handicap accessible room at a slightly lower cost. The only drawback, which was explained to us, is that there is no counter space in the bathroom. Our room was on the opposite side from the interstate and was quiet. Included breakfast is average but suitable. This is a good choice to spend the night when traveling through on I80.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirdcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thirdcoast,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to have had you stay with us and enjoy your visit. We’re glad you found us to be a convenient stop and recommend our nice hotel to other viewers. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#4 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#11 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 20 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#1 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Address: 7225 Vista Dr, West Des Moines, IA 50266-9315
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn West Des Moines
Fairfield West Des Moines
West Des Moines Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing