We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Nice Rooms, Good Breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I recently spoke at an event is Des Moines that was held at the Sheraton West Des Moines. Initially, I was not able to get a room at this hotel as it was a very busy weekend in Des Moines with the Drake Relays and several sports tournaments as well.

I went the say before the speaking engagement to check on the set up up of the conference room. The Sales & Catering staff I dealt with were extremely amiable and helpful. Both Brian and Haleem catered to everything I asked for. They really went above and beyond to ensure our workshop was a success.

When I explained to Brian that even though I was speaking at this hotel, I had been unable to secure a room there, he promptly went to work. He found a great room at a fantastic price for me and my colleague!

On Saturday morning they had a breakfast buffet complete with an omelet station. My colleague and I wanted to just grab something to go from the buffet and take it with us. We spoke to the hostess and she told us the buffet was $11.95, to go ahead and make out plates and then we could pay. We had no problem with the 11.95 price, but when we went to pay, she opted to charges us $7.95 for the amount of food we had taken to go! I even had an omelet!

The room was clean and the AC worked great. It was a spacious suite with a king sized bed and a sitting area with a fold out sofa.

My SINGLE complaint is that this Sheraton charges $9.95 per day for internet access. I was not happy about that and considering this day and age, I strongly feel wireless internet should be free. They do have a bank of 3 computers in the lobby as well as a small business center that allows internet access.

Should I ever have the need to travel to Des Moines again, I will certainly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on Valentine's night. The room was clean and the front desk staff was friendly. We enjoyed our stay. The only drawbacks were that the elevators weren't working, so we had to use the service elevator. The hotel was pretty full, so getting up and down was kind of inconvenient. At breakfast the next morning, the restaurant was extremely understaffed. However, when we did finally get seated, the food was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stg4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I stayed at the Sheraton West Des Moines for one night as I was in town for a concert. The location is great, close to the interstate, shopping and restaurants. My king room was nice and big with a couch and a desk. The bathroom was smallish, but the shower had a curved rod and a separate light source, which helped quite a bit. The bed was comfy. The cable was either really snowy on most channels or just slightly snowy on the rest, which made watching TV challenging.

They are currently doing maintenance on the elevators, so there is only one available and it's pretty slow, especially on a Sat night. I had a drink at the bar, which was pricey (as expected) but really good. They also have 3 computers with internet access in the lobby, which was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hhrvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel on Jan. 24 for my boyfriend's company Christmas party. The stay was awesome! The only drawback was that one of the elevators was out of service. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were gorgeous! I can't wait to bring the kids next time!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tigress127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I was in Des Moines for a business trip last week and stayed at the Sheraton. On my way back to the airport in the hotel shuttle van, I had just received word my flight was delayed due to the ice storm coming into town. Rick, the van driver, called the hotel, reinstated my reservation and turned around and drove me back to the hotel. When I got back to the hotel, I was disappointed that I might not make it back to my daughter's birthday the following day. I walked into the hotel and the front desk staff welcomed me back, had my room all ready and when I arrived to my room, they had a present from the hotel for me to take home to my daughter along with a note apologizing that their dad had to stay an extra night. The hotel staff went above and beyond and made me feel at home when I couldn't get home. When I arrived home, the following day, I gave the gift to my daughter and she smiled and said, it's ok dad, I'm glad you are safe. She opened the present and was thrilled as it was a picture of High School Musical when they stayed at the Sheraton. This made my daughter's birthday as she loves High School Musical and thought this was the best gift ever. For what I thought was going to be a sad birthday for my daughter ended up being the best birthday. The Sheraton is the nicest and friendlist hotel in Des Moines.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nash4562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

The amenities and welcome received vary from stay to stay. Only half of the time did I receive the room type I reserved, and most of the time I was greeted with "is there your first time here" even tho I was a frequent guest. I also did not like that they would not take my word, but required an affidavit signed each stay attesting that I would neither begin to smoke or bring a pet to the room - I'm not used to being treated as a liar. There are many better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I wanted to stay somewhere on the west side of Iowa between Council Bluffs and Des Moines. I didn't find very many hotels between those two cities and the hotels in Council Bluffs were pretty expensive. So I evaluated a number of hotels in the Des Moines area and decided that the Sheraton in West Des Moines was the best deal. It turned out to be a good choice. This is a very nice hotel and an excellent value. It was better than most of the hotels we usually stay in, but didn't cost more than we usually pay. If you plan to stay in this area, I highly recommend you check out the Sheraton in West Des Moines.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBarohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
603 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
585 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range: $119 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing