We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location ”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for a work meeting in Des Moines. The hotel staff was really friendly. I sat at the bar for dinner and the bartender was extremely pleasant. The good was decent. Decent wine menu. The hotel gym was okay, very clean, few exercise machines & a few weights in addition to a stretching area. They do have an indoor pool, I did not use it. The area itself had a bunch of restaurants, Starbucks, & general shopping. I booked it via Priceline for a one night stay & was satisfied overall.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShannonW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear ShannonW3,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the experience at the hotel and connecting with our staff. I will make sure to share the comments with our f&b team about the experience in the Waterfall Grille and specifically the bar staff. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    114
    86
    29
    28
See reviews for
90
51
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a meeting. The lobby area is nice. The staff was exceptionally friendly. Answered all questions. Room was larger than normal hotel rooms and it was clean. Starbucks coffee inside of room. Pillows were comfortable. Internet was easy to get onto but they charge for it. I had breakfast at the hotel and it was good and waitress was pleasant. The two things I will mention, however no big deal to me. One, the thermostat for the room was right under the heating vent. Therefore, I had to turn it up 80 just so it would feel like 73 in the room. Second, the shower nozzle wouldn't stay upright and was hugging the wall. I mentioned the shower nozzle while checking out to fix.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank proftnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us! Thank you for the comments regarding the staff hospitality and service during your visit. I am glad you enjoyed the Starbucks Coffee and other in room amenities. Thank you, too, for the feedback on the room- we were able to resolve the issue with the shower head right away. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at the Sheraton this past weekend and had an amazing stay. From the initial check-in, to the bartenders, to the room attendants - they showed that they were here for us and cared about making our stay enjoyable. Great looking atrium, great looking rooms with an amazing bed for a great night's sleep to top it off. The fact that this hotel is currently #12 in WDM is a joke and easily deserves to be in the top 5. I will return to the Sheraton WDM again very soon.

Room Tip: 2 room suites are well worth it, some may be elevators but still worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We sincerely appreciate the feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed connecting with our staff at the hotel and enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. We look forward to serving you again when you next visit our community! Thank you again and safe future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This us a great property. Well located in West Des Moines, it has an open atrium design, the rooms are spacious and well designed. The hotel was exquisitely clean. Most importantly was the friendliness of the front desk staff. They were wonderful. I was "stuck" in Des Moines due to weather and needed to extend my stay. They were very accommodating. I would/will definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the comments regarding the staff connections, cleanliness of the hotel and overall experience. Thank you for choosing Sheraton and please keep us in mind should your travels bring you to Des Moines again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a regular stop for business that is starting to show its age. The lobby is impressive but once you get to the rooms the older bathrooms and overall condition make this place average. The ceiling height in the bathroom must be less than 7 ft.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LordWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you using the hotel frequently for your accommodation needs in Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for a business convention of sorts. Great rate, convenient location. My only minor issues were no hot tub and no mini fridges in the rooms. Good service, very clean. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaParrotHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback on the service and cleanliness of the hotel as those are things very important to us! While our standard rooms do not have refrigerators- all of our suite rooms do have those along with microwaves. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you through Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

At first the water fall and open area lobby are sort of impressive but......
On my last stay for a week, there was a very strange smell in my room. It smelled like chemicals from the huge waterfall in the lobby. It was very powerful. On day two i couldn't take it anymore and requested my room be changed. They moved me a few floors down and on the other side. It still had the strange smell of chlorine and bleach present.
The rooms are nice and clean. Comfortable beds. Helpful staff. Close to restaurants.
There were stains on the carpets in the hallways. The massive open air lobby makes every noise in the building heard (very strange design). Not a place to stay if you cant take noise and the smell. I will not book again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I apologize for the smell that came from the hotel's cleaning solutions. I was glad to hear you enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds and found the hotel to be clean and staff helpful. Thank you again for the comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Property: Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Address: 1800 50th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing