We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you would expect from Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The desk staff was very helpful and friendly and the check in process smooth. The common areas of the hotel were fine. The rooms were adequate. I do appreciate the business set up in the room with multiple outlets, large desk area, etc. The bathroom was spacious and the water pressure in the shower was good. I put out a card to have room service deliver breakfast in the morning and the card was never picked up so no breakfast. I brought it to the attention of the girl at the front desk and she did offer me a complimentary breakfast in the restaurant, however, after waiting for my breakfast in my room, I did not have time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your feedback. Thank you for the feedback on the friendliness of the front desk staff, guest room amenities, bathroom and the Link @ Sheraton. I do apologize for the missing breakfast from the room service card and appreciate you letting us know about it. We hope you will consider Sheraton again should your travels bring you to Des Moines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 353 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a very old property that was converted to a Sheraton. The staff has been very friendly but the amenities are below average for a Sheraton - the lighting in the rooms is poor, the front desk printer never seems to work, and the general layout off the suites if off.



Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank brettsmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank your for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We use all feedback to improve upon the guest experience. I am pleased to announce that we are currently in the process of upgrading both the Link@Sheraton technology as well as the technology at the desk which will help to remedy computer issues. We do strive to provide excellence in guest service at all times and appreciate you mentioning the staff friendliness! Thank you again and we hope you might consider us the next time your travels bring you to Des Moines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped here when passing through and it was a very nice hotel. A typical Sheraton (a little bit older) with great beds, clean rooms, nice fitness center, etc. (although no hot tub :-( ) We were given an upgrade which was nice and included a comp breakfast.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekkenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the nice feedback about the hotel quality, cleanliness and, of course, the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! We are very glad you enjoyed the upgrade and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dog friendly/ Great location. Luxury hotel. Beautiful interior. Close to delivery food outlets. super fitness room. Rooms are comfortable and very clean.

Drawbacks...pay for wifi...pretty cheap on their part. Lesser hotels provide wifi. The cont. breakfast begins kind of late so we skipped it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishnut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing Sheraton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Sheraton West Des Moines is the BEST hotel! My husband attended a 3-day conference in Des Moines this week. He took his personal pillow with my great-grandmother's hand-embroidered pillowcase. Then he was forgetful and LEFT it at the hotel. The housekeepers found it and are using FedEx to ship it back to us today. We really appreciate the promptness and courtesy of Sheila in resolving this matter. {You know how we feel about our personal pillows! :-)}Thank-you! Thank-you! Thank-you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMixdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithrowGM, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing, it is always great to hear such good comments about our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my teenaged son for a soccer tournament. Conveniently located near the interstate exit but not so close to hear road noise. The suite had all we needed for a very comfortable stay. The beds, including the sleeper sofa, were very comfy,the AC in the room was easy to control,and i never heard any hall noise even though our room was located across from the elevators. We both slept great! The toiletries were high quality and my son was most impressed with the cozy robe hanging in the closet. We enjoyed a delicious buffet for breakfast both mornings.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanniebugk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithrowGM, Front Office Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Sheraton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As I checked in I noticed an event was going on with lots of people, kids, bikes and was amazed that the room was silent! None of the noise got inside and the bed was very comfortable and I was able to sleep through the night.

Room Tip: There was a pool, but i did not use...no time..sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithrowGM, Front Office Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sheraton! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
2.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
399 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#12 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range: $105 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing