We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located, just off I-80. The public space is welcoming and comfortable. It is spotless throughout. My room was spacious and comfortable -- bedding was premium. Staff were outstanding as well, very courteous and extremely helpful. Room service food was served hot and in shorter time than estimated; pickup of the tray was prompt as well. I didn't use pool/gym etc. but I'd guess they would be in good shape as well. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithrowGM, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    114
    87
    29
    28
See reviews for
90
51
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I work for the airlines so I'm in all kinds of hotels and I sure can rip and tear one apart...but I really can't find anything big wrong with this place....except that my tissue box only had like 3 tissues in it and there is a burn mark on the carpet (looks like an iron mark). No big deal! Otherwise I almost feel like I'm in a resort when I'm in my room...and I don't like being in a hotel room for very long. But I'm actually enjoying just vegging out in mine.

My bed was very comfortable, everything looks clean. It has all the amenities I need...and the buffet was excellent! Everyone here is extremely friendly and nice from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the omelet maker and food service people!! There is shopping down the road, so if you're a walker and a shopper like me you'll like that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl75555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I did not pick the hotel. We were there for a Debate Tournament. I was very apprehensive after ready previous reviews. Our experience was excellent! The rooms were clean, well equipped and comfortable. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful! The food was excellent. It actually reminded me of a nicer hotel in London.
So often for the children's activities we stay in new "family friendly" hotels. This was more elegant.

Room Tip: The bedding was first rate. If you can get on the 10th floor, the breakfast was very good and the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

While traveling on a business trip I experinced a one night stay at this location. This was absolutely terrible. They were experinceing some sort of sewer problem in the area which made many of the rooms having a smell that would knock you over. We had to ask for other rooms which they found in another area of the hte and they were slighlty less odorless but still not fully acceptable. The hall way carpets are very stained and in fact probably hold some odor as well. We were hosting a large group meeting and the main room for such was also poor. It had stained and wrinlkled carpet, and it had an odor that was quite offensive. This appears to be a converted embassy suite property which does not appear to be updated and certainly not up to the usual Sheraton brand standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithrowGM, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank for for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our guest comments are a very important in improving our services. We have addressed each issue with our Department Managers and staff. Please visit us again; our improvements are sure to show you a better hotel and a truer picture of our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was very accomadating in every aspect except the restaurant/bar area. We were there for a dance convention, and waited 2.5 hours 1st night for food. My daughter didn't get to eat before her class. 2nd night waited 30 min. for a glass of wine. The set up for the restaurant is terrible, the kitchen is very far away from where the tables are and they don't staff enough for weekends. I'm not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbobier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A really nice hotel. I saw a bunch of negative reviews and was surprised by how nice the hotel and room were. Fresh and clean, and overall a wonderful place. Everything appears new. I'm really glad I stayed here.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank garymiller426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithrowGM, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I am really struggling with some of the positive reviews I see here. I am really not a complainer but this one was bad. I was here for a conference and to say my room, and those of several of my co-workers smelled bad is an understatement. They were unbearable. Horrible mold smell that they attempted to cover up with some spray that just made it worse. They moved me to a different rom that just smelled musty but you could actually breathe in it. The toilet did however run all night and the bathroom sink didn't drain. The meeting room was a problem for some of our equipment and it too smelled very bad. By the time of the meeting the smell had gotten better but still not a great room. The hotel looks to have been an Embassy Suites at one point and it is VERY dated. Carpets in the hallways are very stained, etc.

The breakfast served was very bad as well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithrowGM, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton West Des Moines. We take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the problems with your guestrooom and meeting room and I hope you addressed it with the front desk, so we could have the opportunity to make it right. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely, D. Withrow, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Property: Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Address: 1800 50th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing