We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpets Need Cleaned but great enviroment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Gilbertville, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carpets Need Cleaned but great enviroment”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We just stayed On Aug 12th brought famly in town for State Fair. Room: We started the Air when we got there about 4:00pm, by Midnight still not cool in the Room, we slept with no blanket or sheet. Had it set to lowest temp allowed. 6th Floor Carpets in Room and specially the Hallways are dirty and are in need of deep cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    114
    88
    29
    28
See reviews for
90
51
18
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel was a beautiful sight from the outside and a divine experience inside. I was traveling alone cross-country and just needed to stay here one night, but when I was tucked into the big, fluffy white bed after a room-service dinner, I texted my husband to say I might stay there a few days. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh..... Everyone was so nice and pleasant and competent. I slept late on purpose because I didn't want to leave, and i had requested room-service breakfast the night before, so it was a lovely way to wake. Just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliasalias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Room clean and OK. Restaurant/bar leave much to be desired and there is nothing near by. Menu the same as any other roadside Sheraton.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWonderfulToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed here numerous times simply because I collect Sheraton points on my American Express. The hotel is located in West Des Moines and is only a mile or two from Jordan Creek Mall/ restaurants- so the location is OK. There are hotels that are closer to those attractions if that is what you are looking for. It's a very basic Sheraton. The rooms are small and have low ceilings. It is an atrium style hotel so you do hear noise from other floors which has always been one of the worst parts about this hotel. The rooms have always been clean and the bed is very comfortable with triple sheeting and no nasty comforter. I give the bed 8 out of 10. I give the desk staff/management 5/10 and the overall hotel 6/10.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sarah_annej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

There is nothing special about this place. The walls are paper thin, and I was right next to the ice machine.
Not worth what they charge.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toybuscookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the Sheraton West Des Moines in June 2011. The hotel is conveniently situated to reach local restaurants, but the in-hotel food is pretty good, too. My room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to get up in the morning! The hotel is in excellent shape, but the appearance looks a little outdated, mostly due to the plastic plants that line the lobby.

The shuttle service was prompt, and the driver was wonderful. I wish I could remember his name! He has only worked at the hotel for a few months, and we had a great talk on the way to the airport. He and the front desk staff were all very respectful, and helpful when I had to arrange a UPS pick-up.

The only reason I rate this 4 stars instead of 5 is that $10/day for wireless internet is ridiculous. One tip to work around it though - if you get a room on the second floor and connect your laptop in the lobby, where it is free, and then walk to your room with your laptop (or smartphone), it will stay connected to the free wireless.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pocketcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed at the Sheraton in West Des Moines for a recent business trip. The hotel is undergoing renovations (and none too soon). The room I stayed in was completely renovated (new carpet, new furniture, new flat screen TV) all of which were very nice. With that said...the hotel is rather old and my room had an odd musty smell. I burned incense several times each day and the order never went away. In addition the carpet in the elevator and hallway are covered in stains. Once the hotel has completed the renovation...I appears it will be a much better facility. BTW: nice amenities: free water, bath sponge. starbucks coffee....etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RondaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
268 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Property: Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Address: 1800 50th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing