We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel - Some Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Des Moines Marriott
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2008

I have stayed here 4 times in the last 2 months. Its in a nice area, close to the Jordan Creek mall which is VERY nice. The rooms could use an update as they are dated, however the bedding is new and they have LCD TV's, so just old carpet, desks, and bathrooms.

Last time I stayed i pulled back the covers when I checked in (as I always do) and it was apparent that they had not changed the sheets. I called down and complained and then went out to the mall for some dinner. When I came back, guess what? Nothing had been done. I called down again, and they seems surprised that nothing had been done. By now it was too late for housekeeping as they had left. So I took a new room. This one was better.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 402 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2008

We went to Des Moines for a girls weekend and to do some shopping. This Marriot is very conveniently located near the new Jordan Creek Mall and many chain style restaurants. The hotel was lovely with a smooth check in and out, spacious clean rooms, and extremely comfortable beds. A great Marriot property.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

The hotel was very nice and the staff was friendly. It is very close to the Jordan Creek Mall and several good resturants. The only issues was breakfast at the hotel resturant called "CK" it was awful. They had a breakfast buffet and menu items all of which were terrible. There is a Perkins next store should have went there otherwise the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank havencroft3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

The West Des Moines Marriott was fantastic in every way possible. We checked in for 2 nights in a 2 queen room on the 4th floor. Arrival was seamless, and the staff was very pleasant. The linens and showerhead were both spectacular, and the 37" LG flat panel television was a great surprise. In addition, the hotel was right off of I-80, just about a mile away from the new Jordan Creek Town Center shopping mall. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice, clean, well-appointed room in the up and coming area of West Des Moines!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RaceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

We got caught in a snowstorm on New Year's Eve and found this hotel just off the highway. Although we didn't have a reservation and had a dog with us, they welcomed us and gave us two beautiful, clean rooms. The beds were very comfortable and we got a good wireless signal. We used room service instead of the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. I'd gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank db05202014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed here due to the 2 Marriotts in downtown Des Moines being full. It is very conveniently located right off the highway, with ample parking.

Checking in and out could not have been more of a breeze, and the room was very spacious and luxurious. (one slight issue: I had requested extra pillows and towels, which we did not get). But the room was very clean, the bathroom was well-lit, and everything worked - like the TV, A/C and hot water.

We took advantage of the breakfast buffet in the main dining room. There was a pretty nice spread including a guy who custom made omelets and waffles for you. They were a bit stingy on the coffee, as a huge carafe placed in front of us only yielded a cup for each of us (2). We probably could have asked for more if we had more time and wanted it though.

But, really, all in all Marriott runs a good show and you will be pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank madcapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Won this on a Priceline bid of $52. The room wasn't the largest, but more than adequate. Bed was so comfortable!!! Pool area is decent and the hot tub is especially large. You can't beat the location just off the Interstate in West Des Moines. VERY nice new mall about a mile south along with solid chain restaurants. I can't think of anything I didn't like about the hotel overall ... maybe narrow hallways???

Nice touch with a speaker in the bathroom to hear the TV when getting ready. We didn't eat there, so I can't comment on the restaurant but breakfast in the morning looked solid. The front desk was very polite and nice. Hotel was VERY busy with a classic car show in town, but that's not the hotel's fault in the least. I haven't stayed elsewhere in Des Moines, but this would be a tough place to beat for the great deal we received.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Husker4theSpurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 23 in West Des Moines
631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 23 in West Des Moines
631 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#11 of 23 in West Des Moines
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 23 in West Des Moines
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#15 of 23 in West Des Moines
165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#17 of 23 in West Des Moines
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Des Moines Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Des Moines Marriott

Address: 1250 Jordan Creek Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: $100 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Des Moines Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest of West Des Moines hotels, the newly renovated West Des Moines Marriott is ideally located for business or leisure travel and is just 8 miles to downtown and 1 mile to Jordan Creek Town Center. We're close to businesses including Wells Fargo, Marsh, ATHENE, Farm Bureau and Mercy West Medical Center. Complimentary shuttle service to the airport (12 miles) is available 7am-11pm daily. This West Des Moines hotel offers 219 rooms including 38 suites with WIRELESS Internet and 37" flat screen TVs. On the Concierge Level, upgraded amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres await you in the exclusive lounge for Concierge Level guests. Enjoy delectable cuisine at Two Rivers Grille or unwind with cocktails and conversation at Two Rivers Lounge. Freshly renovated event space for 10 to 450, enhanced by our award-winning service and catering, will make your presentation, wedding or reunion truly dazzle. We invite you to experience the best among hotels in West Des Moines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Des Moines Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing