We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Des Moines Marriott
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
“Great staff”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The staff at this hotel was frankly fantastic. Special mention goes out to Bill the driver of the shuttle, but most of all to Mesha Husejnovic. Mesha went out of his way to help my 87 year old mother print her boarding pass when she had difficulty finding the airline on their system. After spending several minutes trying to make the system on the guest computer work, he moved to the hotel computer, found the airline, got her checked in, and printed her boarding pass. Thank you, Mesha! You made my stay and my mother's stay less stressful and more enjoyable by your going above and beyond.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
William D,
We appreciate your review and recognition of our team members that made your stay at West Des Moines Marriott such a memorable one. Bill and Mesha Husejnovic will be thrilled to know that their extra efforts in service exceeded your expectations and left a lasting impression. We're pleased to have had you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    127
    42
    12
    7
See reviews for
85
73
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Modern, clean and convenient. Good breakfast and coffee, just right for in and out business stays. I stayed there quite a few times during 2013 and always found the experience consistent. Evening bar/ restaurant food is OK too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whodat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Whodat75,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at West Des Moines Marriott. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your business travels and we're pleased to know each visit has consistently met your expectations in convenience and cleanliness. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you for your writing.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What service! Jack Boettcher, Director of Event Management and his staff go far and above what other hotels have done to handle our annual dinner event. From the initial contact to the final bill paying, this organization does a true "first class job". Jack, Ryan and even the chef, Don Garrett were personally on site during the set up and through the evening to make sure everything went smoothly. If you want an event to be handled in a professional manner, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlbennett2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
rlbennett2010,
Thank you for sharing your kind comments on all the ways our staff exceeded your expectations at West Des Moines Marriott. Incredible reflections like yours give us great talking pieces to commend our team on the excellent service delivered. Jack Boettcher, Ryan and Don Garrett will be thrilled to know that their extra efforts in service made for a memorable event. We thank you for choosing West Des Moines Marriott and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have stayed at several different properties in West DesMoines for work. However this property wins hands down. Great remodeled rooms with nice bathrooms, good restaurant and room service. However it is the shuttle that will keep me coming back. Free pick up at airport, pick up drop off at work. Awesome and kept me from driving in the snow.

This last trip I was there for a Guest Appreciation cocktail hour. Just awesome food, pan-Asian assortment, nice pour of pinot noir and a chance to visit with hotel management. Unexpected and great fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoAZ85251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
LeoAZ85251,
We’re happy to have had you as our guest at Wes Des Moines Marriott and we thank you for sharing your experience. It’s wonderful to hear that our complimentary shuttle service added value to your stay, along with the high quality services and amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel when traveling to the area. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Marriott West Des Moines is a very reliable option in West Des Moines. I always find it clean, and service is on par or just above the Marriott average. The lobby seating area with the gas fireplace is a good hangout spot just away from the bar on cold nights when business associates want to congregate. The only minor negative is that the price can really fluctuate here with demand, so you have to keep your eye on it if you want to ensure a good relative value each stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pick6king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
pick6king,
Thank you for sharing your positive reflections from your experience at West Des Moines Marriott. I'm delighted to hear that we consistently deliver great service and clean accommodations on your visits. We appreciate you writing a review and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in late February, for business. Hotel has a good location just off the Interstate in West Des Moines but is far enough away so there's no traffic noise. Very good restaurants are 5 minutes or so in either direction. The hotel is a good quality Marriott. Everyone I had contact with was friendly and professional and seemed to genuinely want my stay to be pleasant.

The hotel has a restaurant, and I am happy to say the food and service were both surprisingly good! The potato soup was simply delicious and I'm not a big fan of potato soup--I ordered it mostly to remind myself of why I didn't like it and I was totally blown away with the flavor and consistency. The next night I had rigatoni with a locally made sausage marinara sauce and again it was an excellent dish. I apologize if I belabor the point, but the food was excellent and I'd likely eat at the restaurant if I lived near the hotel-- the potato soup at least.

The rooms are spacious and clean and the bed is comfy. The only suggestions I have are that the towels are a bit on the thin side and the radio part of the clock-radio is, as in most hotels, basically useless. I guess hotels don't buy good radios because people steal them and that's too bad.

Oh, and the martini's are on the expensive side for their size... they should knock a couple bucks off the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentleyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
bentleyj1,
We appreciate you selecting West Des Moines Marriott while traveling for business, and thank you for writing a review. It's wonderful to receive your compliments regarding our food service and comfortable accommodations, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanawha, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our Company holds annual meeting for clients and have had a tough time finding a good hotel to accomodate our needs. This hotel was fantastic. Planning the meeting was easy and did not seem to take long thanks to Doug. Once you walk in the door and are greeted till you lay your head down on the great bed, it was a good experience. Denise and Ryan who were in charge of the staff for our meeting did an outstanding job to help things move efficiently and were always asking if we needed something. There was not one time that we were concerned about anything that day as they were always one step ahead of us. Keep up the good work.
I would definitely recommend this place for meetings of all kinds as the facility is great and the people are awesome.
Thank-you for all you did.
Peter

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Peter B,
We appreciate your company selecting West Des Moines Marriott for annual client meetings, and we thank you for writing a review. I'm pleased to hear that our staff accommodated all of your requests and needs efficiently. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our team and will be certain to recognize Doug, Denise, and Ryan with special commendations for their outstanding service. Thank you again for your sharing your experience and recommendations. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
157 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Des Moines Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Des Moines Marriott

Property: West Des Moines Marriott
Address: 1250 Jordan Creek Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Des Moines Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest of West Des Moines hotels, the newly renovated West Des Moines Marriott is ideally located for business or leisure travel and is just 8 miles to downtown and 1 mile to Jordan Creek Town Center. We're close to businesses including Wells Fargo, Marsh, ATHENE, Farm Bureau and Mercy West Medical Center. Complimentary shuttle service to the airport (12 miles) is available 7am-11pm daily. This West Des Moines hotel offers 219 rooms including 38 suites with WIRELESS Internet and 37" flat screen TVs. On the Concierge Level, upgraded amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres await you in the exclusive lounge for Concierge Level guests. Enjoy delectable cuisine at Two Rivers Grille or unwind with cocktails and conversation at Two Rivers Lounge. Freshly renovated event space for 10 to 450, enhanced by our award-winning service and catering, will make your presentation, wedding or reunion truly dazzle. We invite you to experience the best among hotels in West Des Moines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Des Moines Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing