We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first stay at your motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Des Moines Marriott
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
“My first stay at your motel”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I want to thank the front desk staff especially Bill the Door Man for helping me with my two small grandchildren this past weekend. Both children were under walking age and Bill helped me not once , not twice, but three times to get them into my car to attend the wedding festivities that I was in Des Moines for. He went out of his way to help me.
Thank you again and I will recommend The Marriott to all.
Jo from Sioux City , Iowa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Joann H,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at West Des Moines Marriott. I’m delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay and appreciation of our staff. I’ll be certain to recognize Bill for with a special commendation for his excellence in service in helping you with your grandchildren. We have a wonderful staff that genuinely cares about providing each guest with an exceptional stay. We appreciate your recommendations of our great hotel and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    128
    43
    12
    7
See reviews for
85
73
24
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel. I have stayed there numerous times and the staff have always been great. Morgan and Aimee at the front desk, and Bill and Tracy have always gone out of their way to be welcoming and accommodating. Kelly at the bar makes an awesome gimlet. The rooms are always clean and spacious. I would definatley recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
TC755,
I’m delighted to hear of your pleasant stay and appreciation of our friendly staff. We have a wonderful team that is dedicated to providing each guest with an exceptional stay. I’ll be certain to recognize Morgan, Aimee, Bill, Tracy, and Kelly with special commendations for their hospitality and excellence in service. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for your review and high recommendations of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisc. Rapids, WI
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel over a long weekend and a great time. The service from Morgan to Bill was superlative. Bridgett is also a great asset to your hotel. The bartenders were also very nice and accomadating to our every wish.
Would reccomend to anyone without reservation, but they probably will need them at such a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Elliott C,
We’re delighted to hear of your pleasant stay with us and your appreciation of our staff. I’ll be certain to recognize Morgan, Bill, and Bridgett with special commendations for their excellence in service and pass along your complimentary feedback to our team. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing and sharing your recommendations of our great hotel to future travelers.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I found the staff exceptional-from the front desk, to the shuttle driver, to the bartender. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and roomy. I would definitely recommend this to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
pgruss,
Thank you for writing a review. I’m delighted to hear of your pleasant stay with us, your appreciation of our staff, and complimentary feedback on our clean accommodations. We work hard on offering excellent customer service by having a wonderful team of genuine and dedicated associates. We appreciate your review and recommendations of our great hotel to family and friends. Please plan to visit us again at West Des Moines Marriott.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Traveling 2 weeks out of the month, I stay at several hotels and meet my fair share of hotel employees.

Morgan McCullough, the Front Desk Supervisor is definitely "the best" I have ever met. Having been at the West Des Moines Marriott 6 times over the past year, I got to know Morgan and speak with him from time to time.

On this particular trip in June, there was a "mix up" with my credit card. A payment was received, but for some reason, it was not credited to my account. Now what? Morgan heard my story and told me to take my time, do what you have to do and we will take care of you. Most hotels would tell you to hit the bricks. The "mix up" was fixed within the hour, but to know that Morgan was there, was a great relief.

The staff at the West Des Moines Marriott are outstanding. Not just Morgan, but the cleaning staff, the people you meet walking throughout the hotel, every single person is just happy that you are staying with them and they let you know it.

I look forward to my next trip to the West Des Moines Marriott in July. Very special people, making travelers feel as though they are home.

Kevin
Boston, MA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Kevin B,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with us at West Des Moines Marriott. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and their excellence in service. We have a special team of dedicated associates that work hard to provide an exceptional stay for each guest. I’ll be certain to recognize Morgan McCullough with a special commendation for his exemplary customer service. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again in July. Thank you once again for your patronage and review.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

When I am on business in the Des Moines area I usually stay at a different hotel that I really like a lot. This time a reservation was made by someone for me and it was for the WDM Marriott. From the front desk staff that went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome, to housekeeping, restaurant and the Conceirge Level attendants, everyone was great. The room was very clean and comfortable. The fitness center had a great variety of equipment, etc. for a hotel. The food was better than I expected it would be and was reasonably priced for a hotel/the Marriiott brand.
I plan on returning to this property as "everything was great." What a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: The Conceirge Level was a great value with a nice breakfast and great Happy Hour food selections. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Tim B,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with us at West Des Moines Marriott. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while you were in town on business. I’m pleased to we exceeded your expectations with our clean hotel, comfortable accommodations, and excellence in service. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed in a whirlpool suite twice in the last month. We enjoy the room and enjoy the amentities. Bridget at the front desk is awesome and friendly and makes sure your stay exceeds your expectations. Bridget is an asset to Marriott and we enjoy her friendliness and professionalism at the front desk.

The only complaint that we have had the 2 times we have stayed is the restaurant lacks for dinner service and food preparation. Breakfast service and food has been great. We have also been dissapointed with the bar drinks they are weak for the amount of money you spend.

Regardless of the restaurant at dinner and bar drinks I will still rate this a 5 due to the time we enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Panther4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Pink_Panther4747,
I'm delighted to hear of your pleasant stays with us and your appreciation for our staff. I’ll be sure to recognize Bridget with a special commendation for exceeding your expectations with her excellence in service. We appreciate receiving your feedback, especially about areas where we can improve our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Des Moines Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Des Moines Marriott

Property: West Des Moines Marriott
Address: 1250 Jordan Creek Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Des Moines Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest of West Des Moines hotels, the newly renovated West Des Moines Marriott is ideally located for business or leisure travel and is just 8 miles to downtown and 1 mile to Jordan Creek Town Center. We're close to businesses including Wells Fargo, Marsh, ATHENE, Farm Bureau and Mercy West Medical Center. Complimentary shuttle service to the airport (12 miles) is available 7am-11pm daily. This West Des Moines hotel offers 219 rooms including 38 suites with WIRELESS Internet and 37" flat screen TVs. On the Concierge Level, upgraded amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres await you in the exclusive lounge for Concierge Level guests. Enjoy delectable cuisine at Two Rivers Grille or unwind with cocktails and conversation at Two Rivers Lounge. Freshly renovated event space for 10 to 450, enhanced by our award-winning service and catering, will make your presentation, wedding or reunion truly dazzle. We invite you to experience the best among hotels in West Des Moines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your West Des Moines Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing