We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Des Moines Marriott
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Our stay at the West Des Moines Marriott was great! The rooms were freshly refurbished and very nice. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially the front desk manger :) I would highly recommend this hotel to any and all. I would like to thank the staff for making us feel like V.I.P.'s

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemountainmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Bluemountainmom,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thanks especially for recognizing our Front Desk Manager, it made their day! We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!
Yours truly,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    128
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
87
74
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have stayed at this location several times and really haven't been disappointed. This hotel is located at the far west side of the Des Moines metro area but is really well situated for shopping, dining and travel into the city. The lobby area is nicely decorated and the front desk staff always friendly. As a Marriott Rewards member I am used to being greeted by name when checking in. Not this time which surprised me. Warmly greeted but not as well as before. The interior surfaces of the elevators need some work. They are a bit ragged. We found are room overall to be very nice but not as close to the elevators as we had requested. The furniture in the room was newer and dark but this was offset by the large amount of lighting available in the room. Our king size bed was very comfortable and had more than enough pillows. The one downer seem to be the heating system. It was wall thermostat controlled but it seemed we needed to crank it up high to feel warm. The number of new recent release PPV movies available was the best I've seen. Several of the movies including War Horse are still in theaters. Bathroom area was nice, vending and ice on all floors and nice hallway areas. Room seemed very quiet. Room # 628. Don't look for a continental breakfast here. There is a full service steakhouse in the hotel but it is pricey. Room service for all meals including breakfast is available. Connecting to the internet was a snap. We were going to stay two nights but cut it short due to weather. Located only minutes from Jordan Creek shopping mall with numerous restaurants, big box stores, movies, etc. Just off I-80 with very very easy access to all of Des Moines.

Room Tip: Better views of surrounding area from 5th floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear srehmann,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Our standard king room had been recently renovated and the bed was very comfortable. We were on the concierge level however the club room was closed by the time we arrived on Friday and not open on Saturday. The "new" smell in the room was a little overpowering so I wanted to open the window only to find the windows don't open. The heater was a little noisy and after shutting it off, the room was very quiet and we couldn't hear neighbors or the interstate. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room away from the vending area and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlfromCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Even though I live within a couple miles of the Marriott, I stayed there with friends on Friday night while they were visiting. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Our room was on the 9th floor, which is one of two concierge level floors. However, the club room is not open on weekends. We called for a rollaway bed, and it was delivered in under five minutes. The room was clean. I was most impressed with the very comfortable bed. I didn't hear any noise from the interstate outside our window, or from other guests in the hotel (and there was an entire college football team from Ohio staying there)!

Free parking, free wifi, close to Jordan Creek shopping. We didn't use the pool or restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to be in this part of town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is scheduled to be updated and it really needs it. From bad sheets, door locks that don't work, bad food and only one bar tender on duty with a large event, this hotel was a disappointment all around. Definately do not use for events. The food was like cafeteria food at best. The location was the only good thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miliowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Upon check-in I was greeted by a warm, genuine, front-desk professional. She checked available rooms and spontaneously upgraded me to a beautiful suite--she was the best. The room was fantastic and a few hours later I was sitting on my couch, watching an on- demand movie and eating an amazing burger from CK's Steakhouse. I retired to my king sized bed, watching television and tapping on my iPad thanks to the FREE wi-fi. This is what a hotel should be folks.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtmyers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thanks Mtmyers1 for your review and recommendation! We’re fortunate to have a great team in place who strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to see you again!

Best wishes,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I recently stayed at the Marriott in West Des Moines. The room was nice and priced right. The staff was great and the bartender was very friendly. I would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rew1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Des Moines Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Des Moines Marriott

Property: West Des Moines Marriott
Address: 1250 Jordan Creek Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Des Moines Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest of West Des Moines hotels, the newly renovated West Des Moines Marriott is ideally located for business or leisure travel and is just 8 miles to downtown and 1 mile to Jordan Creek Town Center. We're close to businesses including Wells Fargo, Marsh, ATHENE, Farm Bureau and Mercy West Medical Center. Complimentary shuttle service to the airport (12 miles) is available 7am-11pm daily. This West Des Moines hotel offers 219 rooms including 38 suites with WIRELESS Internet and 37" flat screen TVs. On the Concierge Level, upgraded amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres await you in the exclusive lounge for Concierge Level guests. Enjoy delectable cuisine at Two Rivers Grille or unwind with cocktails and conversation at Two Rivers Lounge. Freshly renovated event space for 10 to 450, enhanced by our award-winning service and catering, will make your presentation, wedding or reunion truly dazzle. We invite you to experience the best among hotels in West Des Moines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Des Moines Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing