We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Nearby Hotels
$159
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Des Moines Marriott(West Des Moines)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$125
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$91
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$123
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$107
$103
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$109
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
293
92
17
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
92
17
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot dogsfree drinksnachoshappy hourbaked potatosuper targetdes moinesan indoor outdoor poolgreat hoteldueling piano barwithin walking distancechilliplenty of foodevening foodcocktail hourbreakfast and dinnercomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 417 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We really enjoyed thips hotel. Mom traveling with 3 kids, Dad found it for us online, and it was a great find! Brand new, very clean,well decorated, nice staff and in a neat shopping district. Walked right in off the interstate at 9 pm and got a room. Pool was still open so kids could burn some energy. Free popcorn and soda in breakfast room for the evening. Employee told me that price is $10 more if you check in before 5pm, and that includes hot appetizers and 3 drink tickets. If you check in after 7, price is $10 less. Room was very clean and comfortable and we slept great. Breakfast was good - hot eggs, sausage, French toast, waffles, yogurt, muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, milk - everything! There had been a bunch of kids in there right before us so tables weren't very clean, but, otherwise, a great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripongood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Very much enjoyed this hotel, staff was very friendly and accommodating. The manager's reception was nice and breakfast was very good. Pool a bit small but the kids enjoyed going between the indoor and outdoor pool. Suite was beautiful and roomy. Location is excellent, lots of things to do in area. If willing to drive, I would recommend dinner in downtown Des Moines at the Spaghetti Works Wearhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

After walking around Worlds of Fun all day we needed a place to stay. So we had a coupon for the Drury Hotel in West Des Moines, Iowa. We arrived at 9:30 PM to get the last regular room they had. I was shocked they took the coupon. We missed out on the free supper buffet they provide. The room was clean, and looked brand new. The only thing I didn't like was the connecting door to the room next door. I wish we had room that didn't have this feature. The beds were comfortable, and I enjoyed a good nights sleep. The Breakfast Buffet was packed when we tried to us it. I didn't feel like waiting in the line for the waffle machines. I guess we shouldn't have slept in. If you plan on staying here I would make reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiratefanOttawa_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Since we normally plan our hotel stays during the week and avoid holidays, we weren't prepared for the crowd that weekend. (including wedding parties)

We checked in around 2:00pm on Friday and headed for the pool. At the time, it wasn't very crowded, but the crowds started pouring in about 4:30pm and we vacated. The pool is small and is split between the inside and outside. The water in the outdoor portion bothered my son's eyes - we are not sure why.

The evening snacks were nice - baked potatoes, hot dogs, hot wings, chili, chips, veggies, and salad. It was more than the typical happy hour. We aren't drinkers, so the bar tender was happy to make us sun rises w/o tequila. (they also had shirley temples and roy rogers) Happy Hour was very popular, so I would suggest getting there right when they start. (5:30) In the same area, they also had free popcorn and soft drinks.

We took a nice walk around the neighborhood. It is supposed to be like a small village with uniform store fronts and fountains. (not many trees, lots of brick) There are some little spray fountains that shoot up from one of the sidewalks. We saw some kids enjoying those. There is a Target within that area also and it is very easy to walk over there for any needed supplies.

We didn't have many issues with noise. The hotel was pretty full and there were some rowdy guests, but that really is not Drury's fault.

Breakfast was the typical make-your-own waffles, sausage, eggs, biscuits with gravy, toast, bagels, and juice.

We chose a King suite to have a little more room to relax. The bedroom area was quite a bit larger than other suite hotels that we have seen. The room was clean and comfortable.

The staff at the front desk was pleasant, but not extremely experienced.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isufaninindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This Drury Inn is in the middle of a vibrant night life on Des Moines weekends. There was live music, lots of crowded roof top bars, and lack of parking. We cruised the parking lot for 15 minutes just looking for a place to park. The party atmosphere continued inside. A guest was at the front desk when we went to check in, complaining of the loud music outside and the party noise inside preventing him from doing work for his business trip. He asked to see the manager, who had already gone home. The hotel staff was very friendly and upfront, informing us that the cable was down in their hotel. They offered to find another hotel with cable, which we accepted as the hotel was not the quiet retreat we were looking for. The hotel looked clean and new.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews