We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean and quiet hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great clean and quiet hotel!”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed here during state basketball weekend, lots of people(lots of teenagers). The hotel was very clean and quiet. We were checked in immediately.
We didn't use the free drinks and food at 5:30 but thought that was a great bonus. We did get free pop and popcorn, kids liked that. The pool was crowded, small but nice and the kids liked being able to swim to the outside of the pool.
We had an adjoining room with friends and had our 11 month old sleeping in our room and the rest of us(4 adults and 6 kids) in the other. I could not hear a thing when I would go to check on the baby. So nice to not have paper thin walls.
Beds were nice and comfortable. Room was very clean and modern. This will be my first choice the next time we are in Des Moines.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    90
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
150
90
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Drury Inn & Suites in West Des Moines during a road trip to see the covered bridges of Madison County (well worth the trouble to find them, believe me!). The Drury Inn was excellent. I have no complaints at all except for the 8 inches of snow but that is not the hotel's fault! The happy hour at 5:30 was great and we both enjoyed our 3 free drinks and munchies. The room was excellent - clean, wonderful shower, nice beds, big rooms, flat screen tv. I especially liked that they gave you 3 different pillows - soft, medium, and firm. Nice idea. The breakfast was standard free breakfast fare but there was plenty of it, the staff worked hard to keep it stocked and clean. I was really impressed with how large the seating area was in the happy hour/breakfast area. I really saw no one waiting for a seat. For $100 a night you can't get much better. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We held our family Christmas get-together here with an age range of 1 - 88 years! Everyone had a great time and the service was some of the best we have ever experienced. They truly looked for ways to make us happy and they certainly did. Every staff person we came in contact with must have taken training in customer service, as we have stayed at many places over the yearsand this place is truly at the top as far as customer service! The only thing we would have liked to seen is a room for family to gather that had more of a 'cozier' feel to it. Being the Christmas season, it would have been nice to have had a tree, and also access to water, such as a sink and counter, but we made it work. Thank-you for making our family Christmas a memorable, fun, comfortable and wonderful event. This is our new favorite place to stay in the Des Moines area. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed with a group of girls (ladies) for a girls weekend out and would highly recommend this place to anyone. Very clean, and courteous. Within walking distance to some great places to eat, drink and be merry and the staff was very tolerable to a group of intoxicated women. We all had a blast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Wonderful staff, excellent hotel, very nice, great pool & Spa, excellent GM! very friendly.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dansdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The Drury Inn is located in a beautiful new shopping center with interesting shops and restaurants. It is a beautiful hotel with excellent service and nice extras such as late afternoon drinks and snacks. Later in the evening, pop corn and soft drinks are available. Complimentary breakfast includes healthy and not so healthy items so everyone will find something to eat and enjoy. Eggs, sausage, home made waffles, cereals, yogurt and good coffee. Service was good, check in smooth and fast. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. We definitely would stay there again when we are in Des Moines.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TKMAugusta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

As I've mentioned in other Drury Inn posts on TripAdvisor, I love Drury Inn. However, this was my first experience at a newer property and, boy, have they upped the class and quality.

Don't get me wrong, I'd stay and an older property any day, but from the beautiful and huge breakfast area to indoor-outdoor pool, this place was very nice.

The only hiccup was a delay in being served at the check-in desk...no one was there for a few minutes, but that was minor and the rest of the stay was great!

The price was right too...in part because we had a free night through their frequent stayer program. Otherwise, the price might have been a bit more than what I want to pay in West Des Moines.

The location was great - right off I-35 and near several shopping options.

Thanks for another great stay Drury!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines is located off I-35 near West Glen Town Center, which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The hotel serves free hot breakfast as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback® - and many more free extras! The hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Des Moines, the Iowa State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing