We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Pleased!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Ottumwa,Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely Pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

We loved our stay at thisi hotel. This a very clean and new hotel. It is located within walking distance of a shopping center and many restaurants. Staff was very friendly and rooms were very nice. The breakfast was great! Highly recommend!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittanymc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    83
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
131
85
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Drury in West Des Moines - this is a fairly new Drury in a very nice area surrounded by a shopping center with some restaurants. The furnishings and decor were very nice, as you'd expect in a new place.

We arrived at about 3:30 or 4:00 and our room was ready on check-in, which was prompt, quick, and friendly. Upon arriving at our door, the key cards didn't work, so I had to run back down to the front desk to get them re-activated while my family waited in the hallway with our luggage. Not a major issue and it was quickly resolved. The room we booked was a 2-room suite and it was very nice, with a wet bar, microwave and mini-fridge included. We had requested a rollaway bed and it was waiting in our room when we walked in along with extra sheets, blankets, pillow, and extra towels.

We ate dinner nearby, and it appears there are many good eating choices within a mile of the hotel, whether you want fast food or a nicer sit down meal. We returned for the evening cocktails, which were good but the snacks provided were not great, stale snack mix and broken tortilla chips. The place was pretty busy but it seemed every time I went back the snacks hadn't been refreshed - could have been simply that I missed them as it seemed only one staff member was working the bar and the snack area, and the line for the drinks seemed to usually always have three or four people.

The kids swam in the pool - it's a small indoor/outdoor pool and there's a hot tub indoors as well. There's a couple tables and several chairs in the indoor pool area, with about the same in the outdoor area as well. Drury prides itself on having fresh popcorn and soft drinks from 3pm to 10pm daily. However at about 9pm the popcorn was gone, and so where the bags to put it in as well as cups for the soft drinks. I called the front desk and she said she would go make some more popcorn and call us when she was done. We never got a call, so we went back down anyway and the corn was popped but she didn't know where the popcorn bags or cups were. We snagged some cereal bowls from the breakfast area for the popcorn, but management should be sure all their staff is prepared to keep this running. Many people hang out in the seating area around the popcorn and beverages playing games or watching TV, so it's a great offering when it's flowing smoothly.

The bed was comfortable, and they do have plenty of pillows for everyone to be able to choose between soft or firm pillows.

Breakfast was very good, with the choice of fruit, cereal, bagels, toast, along with hot items including two waffle irons for you to make your own waffles (pre-measured cups of batter were provided) and also scrambled eggs, sausage patties, french toast, and biscuits and gravy. All of this is complimentary - and I will say Tom in the breakfast area did a great job of making sure everything was replenished, and any time someone mentioned something was out he had it replenished very quickly. The guy in front of me in line grabbed the last biscuit, and just as he put it on his plate Tom was right there with a dozen or so more. Nice work Tom!

Checkout was quick, and in all this was a nice place to stay. This is our second time at a Drury - we chose it because we had such a great stay previously at another Drury in the St. Louis area. This stay wasn't as good as our first, but we will be back to Drury in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OmahaHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed at the Drury Inn and Suites in West Des Moines, IA for two nights while attending a family wedding and was very pleased with the experience. The room was very large and very well maintained and the staff was very accomodating, from everything to helping us find a place to pick up some flowers to bringing up an extra bottle of shampoo after my daughter used an entire bottle. Free breakfast buffet was a generous spread of waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, cereal, toast, milk, juice, coffee -- nothing fancy, but I've had worse at some restaurants. Also a nightly managers reception with three free drinks, which came in handy sometimes after spending a day dealing with extended family. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nero69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We recently stayed at the Drury Inn & Suites in West DesMoines, IA and were thrilled with our visit. I was traveling with my husband, two children, my parents and my husbands grandparents and we were all extremely happy with our experience there.
The staff was exceptionally friendly and the building was new & sparkling clean. The pool is half indoor-half outdoor and we were there each evening. Very nice hot tub and the exercise area looked nice though I didn't have occasion to use it. Where the Drury Inn also excelled was the BREAKFAST!!! Hot sausage, biscuits & gravy, french toast, waffels, muffins, doughnuts, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, etc. And it was all at NO EXTRA COST!!! Not to mention that when you check in you receive a punch card for 3 free mixed drinks per evening and there are free soft drinks and popcorn for everyone. All rooms are no smoking and include a microwave, refridgerator, iron & board, hairdryer and flat screen T.V.
And the location was great too. We were just off of the interstate (though you never heard any noise) and right in the middle of great shopping and restaurants.
We were visiting with a Bible convention group, so the hotel was very busy, yet we hardly had to wait for the elevators and the staff was so friendly! My whole family was extremely pleased with our stay and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

Stayed here with our two sons (3 and 12-years old) when we were in Des Moines to visit our daughter for Family Weekend at Drake University. The boys loved it--popcorn & sodas in the lobby every afternoon, very friendly staff, nice little pool, decent breakfast offerings in the morning. The entire place was exceptionally clean and well maintained. (it's a new property so it's in great condition.) The suite worked very well for a family and the hotel is located near many resaurants and shops, as well as a Target. Not located close to Drake at all, but worth the 10 minute drive across town. Good value for a nice, clean, family-friendly hotel.

  • Liked — cleanliness, convenience, friendly staff
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zentravelermn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

We have stayed in several hotels now in the West Des Moines area. To be fair this property was very clean. Check-in did not please me. While I was checking in, the staff member talked on the phone with a future guest while another stood by watching. The gal tried to take my credit card but I told her I would wait until she was complete with what she was doing. The other gal did take over. This was after 5 minutes. The free drinks/snacks in the evening were disappointing. The snacks were stale popcorn and from a pop machine. Our room looked very nice but there were blood stains on 3 of the pillow cases. I did look to see if they were also on the pillow but they were not. I called down to the front desk and they promptly brought up new cases. The pool looked nice but wasn't open late enough for us to take advantage of it. Maid service was nice. We stayed two nights. A huge negative though was one evening we (4 gals on a shopping trip) had a knock on our door. I looked through the peep hole and there was a man outside. I called the front desk and their response was that he probably had the wrong room. He stood out in the hall-we never opened it and he eventually went away. Their explanation could have been correct but it still made us nervous at 11:30 p.m. They do a great job on their free, hot breakfast in the morning.

It is definitely close to Jordan Creek Mall and a Super Target. Valley West is close by. Would we stay here again? No, we prefered the Residence Inn and Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Liked — Convenience to the mall
  • Disliked — Front desk not concerned with someone knocking on our door at 11:30 p.m.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaDisneyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

This was our first stay at a Drury Inn and Suites and it went above and beyond our expectations. We had a Non Smoking King room. The room was nicely furnished with a recliner and LCD TV which sat upon a large piece of furniture that functioned as a dresser as well as when you opened up one side there was a microwave and minifridge tucked away. The bathroom was very niced with granite counters and granite look tile. There are 7 floors to this hotel and we stayed on the 6th. We were place in a room right next to the elevator and we heard NOTHING. Seems they have done a great job of insulating this hotel. The pool was indoor/outdoor where you could swim under a large glass wall. They included Free Soda and Popcorn, Free Breakfast (eggs and sausage and french toast) plus all the other normal continental breakfast items. They also have a bar in which they give 3 free drinks in the evenings. And you defintely could not beat the price. We will likely stay at the Drury again when in town.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briansgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Drury is conveniently located within walking distance of a the Jordan Creek Town Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing