We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Cookeville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“exceptional for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I booked this hotel based on TA reviews and their pet policy, and I was really impressed. Check in with Alison was quick and easy, but I was more impressed with her- very sincere, very professional. As a matter of fact, every staff member with whom I interacted during our 3 night stay was superb. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Great location with several restaurants adjacent to the hotel. Very quiet room (see my room tips). For the price, I would say this is probably the nicest hotel at which I've stayed, based on the hotel itself and the great staff. If I'm ever back to Des Moines, this will definitely be my place to stay

Room Tip: We booked an "oversized" king bed room. It was located on the corner of the top floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    84
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
133
86
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for the price. It has an indoor and outdoor pool. The nightly kickbacks with free food and drinks is a plus and the rooms were clean and comfortable. This hotel is located next to a bunch of shops, restaurants and bars all within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Went out of our way 20 minutes to stay at this hotel based on our experience at other Drurys and it was worth it. The room finishes and quality were excellent. the kick-back food and drink were a great perk. A good value for a family with kids.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a great property that is located close to Jordon Creek mall, the staff is friendly and always very helpful. Clean rooms and the breakfast in the morning is quite adequate, they also have a hospitality time in the evening but we never seem to get the for that

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocahontas, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Drury Motel in West Des Moines Iowa. Great location, average motel. Nothing special. Very pricey. Room smell was stale, but clean. Bed and pillows very used. Would not stay here or choose a Drury again assuming they are all like this.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank UNINISU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chariton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

If I were looking for a great getaway for a family I would need not look further than the Drury Inn and Suites in West Des Moines. From check-in to check- out the experience was fast and easy.

We traveled as a couple at the time the Junior Olympics was being held in DSM. The noise was not at all noticable even though the hotel was full of families. The facility offers a complete dinner bar every evening of the week. Pasta, baked potaoes, hotdogs and so much more. They offer a complete breakfast bar also with oatmeal and belgian waffles to name just a sampling.

They have an indoor and outdoor pool area as well.
What a way to spoil the kids.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is for non-smoking and was for thenweekend we traveled for single and couples with old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

A great place to stay passing through Des Moines. Inviting lobby and pleasant staff, immaculately clean. Comfortable well-supplied room with flat screen TV, micro/fridge, good lighting, and the "extras" that make a great stay. The pool was a little cold for us, but we enjoyed both the evening meal and breakfast the next morning, a glass of wine, and a late popcorn snack. Even though a bus had just unloaded, there was plenty of food and the dining area was not overwhelmed. We didn't use them, but there were also a guest laundry and a fitness room. A little more than we usually pay, but if we had gone out, even for fast food, it would have more than made up the difference.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.5 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines is located off I-35 near West Glen Town Center, which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The hotel serves free hot breakfast as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback® - and many more free extras! The hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Des Moines, the Iowa State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing