We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Location - Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Quickest check-in I've ever experienced at a hotel with pleasant helpful employees. The location is great for Jordan Creek and heading into East Village or Valley Junction (it will be much easier once the Grande Street bridge is repaired). Warm breakfast is always a nice treat, and the evening snacks and drinks were a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    86
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
140
87
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carroll, IA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place was just what we needed, and while it appears more expensive than others in the area, once you factor in the amenities, the price no longer seems high.

Pros:
Location - just off I35, within minutes of Jordan Creek Mall and other great shopping, and just a few doors down from the Blue Moon Piano bar.
Rooms - spacious (including the bathrooms), love that the rooms have 2 queen not double, very clean and well kept.
Happy hour - while it doesn't seem like 3 drinks per person is much, it was more than enough. As was the food! Loved having popcorn and soda available all evening as well. The space here is also good as we were a large group, but were not crowded.
Breakfast - great selection, plenty of food for the large amount of people staying that weekend, and very good.
Parking - even though we parked on the back side, it was well-lit and the door on the back still led right to the lobby.

Cons: I don't have any ... we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooze22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at the Drury twice in the past 6 months. both experiences were amazing. Stayed for a girls weekend in June and for work in September. the kickback happy hour with hot appetizers that could be your dinner is amazing.. rooms are huge and clean and every single one of the staff is friendly and helpful. From providing directions and restaurant suggestions two extra towels after a mud run you couldn't ask for anything more in a hotel. the location is great right by Jordan Creek and Trader Joe's. the area includes a dueling piano bar and many other shops restaurants and bars within walking distance. Love love love the West Des Moines Drury and will never stay anywhere else in Des Moines!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nspackfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a great hotel. I have stayed here many times. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They have a happy hour from 530 to 730 food and drinks. This place is great because it is close to bars and the mall. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaBojigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Location is excellent, especially if you are a shopper...mall just a few minutes away, plenty of restaurants too in the surrounding area.
The room I stayed in was beautiful, updated decor throughout the hotel, immaculate, you can tell that they pride in keeping it that way.
The staff alone, should be commended for their great services ....Always smiling and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay wonderful.
Pool on site, breakfast available in the mornings (great selection) as well as throughout the day. Would definitely recommend.
A big thank you goes out to Chelsi...for the exceptional customer service.

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor (4th floor)...very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived around 9 PM after a 15 hour drive. Desk clerk was very nice and accommodating. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. This is a very nice hotel and will definitely stay there again when in the area. It was located in a very nice area of town and we felt very safe.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chellyt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel has everything you expect and is reasonably priced. The breakfast spread is the best I've ever had with a great variety. The staff was helpful and attentive. Although I wasn't around to partake, free drinks in the evening is a nice touch. I have absolutely no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKite9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines is located off I-35 near West Glen Town Center, which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The hotel serves free hot breakfast as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback® - and many more free extras! The hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Des Moines, the Iowa State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing