We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places we have stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the best places we have stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. We stayed on NYE and had a 2 room suite- such a beautiful and clean room. The hideaway bed was very comfortable and the other beds were wonderful too. Not one complaint about the room. A+. I can't really comment on the 5:30 kickback because it was overly packed, being NYE. Was only able to get one of my 3 free drinks, due to the line. That is okay though. Breakfast was wonderful, staff was friendly. I did not meet any rude employees at the hotel- from the front desk to housekeeping, bartenders, etc.

The only complaint I have is the parking....awful. Def not enough parking. The Drury Inn in Kansas has a covered parking ramp, which is amazing and holds plenty of cars.

But again- A+ spot- can't wait until they open a Drury in Coralville-

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanillac2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    77
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
114
78
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here around 8 pm while traveling. Great hotel! Easy access. The only downfall I would say is the comforter (old school slick comforter); otherwise, fantastic stay! The free breakfast was an excellent added bonus!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkilhoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our first stay at a Drury and it was clear where all the good reviews come from. Easy access from I 35 and it sits at the entrance to a neighborhood-type shopping area (we didn't have time to explore it.) Fastest check-in, period. Excellent customer service. Rooms were very clean, though the recliner in our room had seen a few spills. I never sleep well in hotels, but I did here. Very comfortable beds, including the pillows, which were supportive but soft and didn't wrench my neck. Nice big bathroom with shower mounted dispensers of soap, shampoo, and conditioner (great for kids.) Pretty quiet, though our wake-up call was the neighbor's shower. The food is a great perk. Hot dogs, baked potatoes, salad, nacho fixings, and some sort of soup/chili seemed standard with a rotating dish of some sort of pasta. Breakfast had the normal offerings of sausage, eggs, waffles, and also real hot oatmeal (not the packets) with a variety of toppings available. The couple in charge of the food service are exceptionally friendly. A couple of hiccups for us. The hotel was full and we occasionally had a long wait for an elevator. We took the stairs more than once, even though we were on the 6th floor. The 2 elevators are at the entrance to the food area, so the congestion there was pretty bad at meal times. The evening food line was long with tired, whiny kids and both times we had to take our food to our room because there wasn't a free table (not really the hotel's fault- the eating area is quite large.) The indoor/outdoor pool was nice, but pretty small for a hotel full of families. We bought lunches and put them in the fridge, which was running, only to find them room temp. the next morning (staff quickly credited the cost of the food to our bill.) Friends told us later that the fridge had to be removed from the cabinet it was in and the temp. adjusted from the back. But this is being nit-picky- clearly this place is far superior to most of what's out there. Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myinfo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Drury. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The meals, dinner and breakfast, were excellent. Loved the free drink idea! :-)
It was all good. The only suggestion I would have is for them to get new comforters!! Those old fashioned slippery bedspreads are awful
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This is another nice, clean, friendly place to stay, and you don't have to pay for all of the extras just like they say. You can have your free breakfast buffet, and your 5:30 hot snacks buffet, with 3 free drinks included. So kick back and enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slfreshour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
525 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here in the past. The customer service here is top notch. The staff is very friendly and genuinely help and serve their customers. The room was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The drink line was very long/slow the 2nd night at the Manager's Reception but the bartenders kept a positive attitude and the manager was also there to help where needed. Food ran out quickly, but the staff kept hard at work replenishing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, WI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were just passing thru town & stopped at about 9:00 pm to get a good night sleep before moving on....very comfortable beds. This is only 2nd time we have stayed at a Drury property....both times are a winner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegoodfood899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#1 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#2 of 19 in West Des Moines
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#11 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Drury is conveniently located within walking distance of a the Jordan Creek Town Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing