We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty rooms, inconsistent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
MIDWEST
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Pretty rooms, inconsistent service”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Two stays in this hotel. First stay was great. Gorgeous drapery, welcoming and so different from the usual hotel minimalist decor. Quiet room, comfortable bed. Second stay was given smoking room and told there were no other rooms available. However, when I told the desk clerk to cancel the reservation and I'd go to the nearby Holiday Inn, he suddenly started looking harder and eventually found a non-smoking room available. The desk clerk freely placed blame on housekeeping not cleaning enough rooms, "Reservations" for over-booking, etc. The room he found was noisy, sounded like pipes banging. During check-out, the front desk clerk was not interested in hearing about pipe sounds, stating in a bored airy tone "oh really" and then walking away to another customer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    84
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
135
86
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Drury has a formula that works. The other reviews cover all the reasons to love Drury-and this location is no exception. Upgrade to the huge suite for an extra special stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJFogelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Not only is the property modern and clean, the General Manager, Kim, is working the front of the house to ensure guests are pleased with their stay. She not only checked people in at the front desk, but cleared our plates after our filling, delicious and free breakfast. The property and staff are evidence of her dedication. Can't wait to stop here again (and the Super Target right next door!)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rckautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

we stayed at drury in for 2 nights. it is very clean and well kept up. i love the free breakfast and dinner even though the variety is a werid choice of food. i like the free 3 drinks a day. i asked to check out at 1pm because my husband is working a night shift and wanted him to sleep sum before we left and the housekeepers woke him up 4 times to see if we were still there. we were told twice it was ok to leave at 1pm but apparently they didnt give the housekeepers a notice. it was rude because everytime not only would my husband have to wake up but my newborn of 2 months would also and everyone with a baby knows HOW hard it is to put them back down.

everything esle was great just really annoyed in the last impression of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Drury Inn a couple of years ago and had such a pleasant experience that we decided to stay there again. We weren't disappointed. The rooms are still beautiful–they look almost brand new. There were a lot of kids staying at the hotel because of a hockey tournament going on that weekend in Des Moines and we thought it was going to be a noisy night, but that didn't happen. We slept great. The large breakfast area kept up pretty well with the demands of such large groups of people. We had no problem finding a clean table to eat our breakfast. I like that they still have shredded cheese and salsa; I always have that on my scrambled eggs! I wish there were more Drury Inns around the country. It's a first class hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDtheVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very nice place to stay. They have an awesome warm breakfast in the morning, then they have snacks and drinks from 5-7pm while we were there it is chicken strips, nachos, mac n cheese, salsa, hot dogs, some other stuff as well but we got there just before 7pm- they do have drinks as well- beer and vodka are the 2 I know for sure- had good bloody mary's
There is a really nice restaurant right across the parking lot- and several clubs within walking distance- The Blue Moon is a dueling piano bar defiantely worth going to
We will be going back again this summer and will stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtb355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed over two nights at the Drury for business. The hotel offered a hot breakfast in the morning and in the afternoons, they offered a hospitality room with hors d'oeuvres with drinks. The rooms were clean and great. The location offered shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigslimSiouxCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines is located off I-35 near West Glen Town Center, which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The hotel serves free hot breakfast as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback® - and many more free extras! The hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Des Moines, the Iowa State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing