We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I were part of a 50 plus passenger bus tour, and even though we all walked in for the drinks and food at the same time, we were well taken care of. Great breakfast, also, which helped get every one fed and on the bus on time. Very nice rooms and comfortable beds. Will definitely stay again at a Drury if we have a chance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmaoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 399 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We prefer to stay at Drury, and this Drury certainly didn't disappoint. This Drury is clean, beautifully decorated, and appears to be a business center as well. As usual, our service was good and the rooms nice and clean. Comfortable beds and the usual Drury amenities.

Our only issue was during the 5:30 kickback, the bartender kept serving alcohol to a group so long as other guests were giving them their unwanted tickets. It was clear they were already 3 sheets to the wind. We were surprised, as we've never seen this occur at other Drury locations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExploringBuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Located in West Des Moines this hotel is excellent. It is always clean and is located in the new section of Des Moines near shopping and great resturants. The hotel is about 10 minutes from downtown and other attractions. Every night the hotel offers free drinks (6) and hot food for the guests. The hoel always seems to be full so I would suggest calling ahead and reserving a room if you need to stay ion Des Moines

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is quite new and the staff was amaizingly responsive. Even the night guy mopping the floor wanted to be sure I was having a good stay. The hotel is right at the interstate in a large shopping/dining complex. Everything you need is right there. Be sure to visit Joseph's Jewelers a 140 year old family owned business and one of the best stores in America right across the street from Drury Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was my first stay in a Drury--not a good experience. It began with being given an unmade room at check-in. Within a few hours of check-in, a water main broke and the elevators flooded and were inoperable. At 10 PM a screaming alarm went off hotel-wide--for 10 minutes during which no one picked up the phone at the front desk to address the matter. A nightmare! If you are into arterial blockage, the snacks and breakfasts will do the job: macaroni and cheese, hot dogs, chips, chicken tenders, biscuits and gravy, sausage, doughnuts... Fruit and oatmeal as options would have been welcome. The outside "pool" is not swimmable-- app. 30' by 30'. The pool chairs are metal and unfortunately, without pool towels provided, scorchingly hot. There is no sun in the pool area until early afternoon. skimpy amenities: no kleenex, hand lotion...To be fair, it was the weekend of the state fair and the staff remained friendly and calm under very bad conditions. I was given a free night at another Drury. I will pack a snorkel and some fruit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

I'm truly sorry for the issue's you had while staying at West Des Moines Drury Inn & Suites. We strive for Quality and Service and it upsets me that you did not receive the best we can do. Please contact me so I have a opportunity to apologize and make it up to you for your stay with us. Your comments will be taken seriously and will be addressed.

Thank you,

Kim K. Biery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Drury Inn was an excellent location for our small family reunion. It is in a great location for shopping, entertainment and dining. Although it was extremely busy on Saturday night, we still enjoyed the complimentary drinks and food. Sunday night/Monday morning was obviously not as busy and we didn't have to stand in lines for food, drinks, breakfast. Drury Inn staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were clean, roomy and modern. Definitely worth the extra money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel is new and in convenient location to the interstate and Jordan Creek Mall. Also, some nice eating establishments in the area.
The rooms were clean and staff was helpful and pleasant. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS03t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#12 of 22 in West Des Moines
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
242 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: $131 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines is located off I-35 near West Glen Town Center, which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The hotel serves free hot breakfast as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback® - and many more free extras! The hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Des Moines, the Iowa State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing