We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired of the same old Mexican food? Then try MI PATRIA!!”

Mi Patria Ecuadorian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tired of the same old Mexican food? Then try MI PATRIA!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

So, ever since I first ate at this place this past summer, I keep thinking of the tender, flavorful pulled pork. So delicious!!! The dish I love is called Hornato de Mote. Pulled pork, rice, hominy(surprisingly good) and a little side salad. I have been wanting to try something else but now this is one of those dishes I have to have. I have been here with different people and everyone has seemed to like it. The steaks are good too and the sides are deliciously different. The beef empanadas are great to start with and the stuffed yucca, and the coconut fried bananas are great to finish with!! Service has always been great and the prices are very good too!!! So, what more do you want, go try it and enjoy!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supertaster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    48
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service.”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had a delightful, authentic meal with attentive service. It was fun to dig into all the fresh ingredients and not have to worry about getting sick (like we did when we were in Ecuador). We can't wait to return with our daughter's friend from Ecuador. She went crazy when we showed her the menu as all her favorite Ecuadorian dishes were on it.

Located in a strip mall, the ambiance is nothing special. If they threw a few candles on the tables and turned down the fluorescent lights it would be a 5.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iafamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great surprise. Wonderful food. Great staff.”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Family from Kansas City, Overland Park, Ks and Maple Grove Mn got together in Des Moines and to see Wicked. One of our members used this service to find restaurants and hotels.

This restaurant was great. Very inexpensive, in a shopping center, and the food was the
kind you would find in a five star restaurant. the wait staff was great and suggested meals and wine. Don't miss this restaurant. Wish it were in KC area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food- Great service! Will be back.”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Don't let the location fool you. Mi Patria is located between Gordman's and Michaels in a West Des Moines strip center. Our family of 9 guests from Kansas City and Minneapolis met for a weekend getaway. Upon the recommendation of Trip Advisor (#2) we ate at Mi Patria and it exceeded our expectations. The menu required the translation of a few items by our server, Darwin, who also highlighted some of his recommendations. He was spot on with bringing the best of the best. Everything was excellent; the Empanadas, (the cheese empanada is awesome), patacones with a vegetable relish is outstanding as appetizers. Our party tried the tilapia, pulled pork, corvina fish, shrimp dishes as entrees-- all very good. As we travel through Des Moines to see family, this will definitely be our list to stop to eat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miles2go4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary - great all around!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This place is located in the former Yanni's location by Michael's off of 22nd street. The interior isn't fancy but the serivce has always been good and the food - excellent! I've eaten here at least 3 times since they opened and did use a Living Social/Groupon deal.

We always start with the llapingachos which are like potato pancakes filled with cheese and topped with a peanut sauce. Sounds weird but is really good!

I also enjoy the shrimp ceviche which is fresh and very filling. The rice it comes with is nothing fancy which is why I like to start with an appetizer. The plantains are also really good with this item.

For desser I highly recommend the coconut fried banans - nothing else like it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Patria Ecuadorian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mi Patria Ecuadorian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing