We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
121
77
24
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
121
77
24
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews johnny's italian steakhouse greeted warmly des moines stayed one night great hotel wedding reception jordan creek accommodating staff bed and pillows breakfast buffet shower head location was perfect top floor great shopping business trip shopping and restaurants rooms are clean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 237 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Really nice new hotel with friendly staff . Convenient to freeways, airport and anywhere around DesMoines. I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling there. The price was reasonable as well. The breakfast area is nice and kept clean.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to send in a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Please let us know if we can ever do anything to make your experience better.
Thank you
Tony Shepard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

While I only stayed one night, the service and hotel were excellent. The hotel and rooms were clean, comfortable and stocked with plenty of towels and amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful. The highlight of my stay was the meal I ordered from room service. The scallop appetizer, pan-seared scallops and brussel sprout slaw with hot bacon dressing was absolutely delicious. The food serviced at the conference was just as good. My compliments to the chef.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wander18301197818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to send in a review. Our goal is to give every guest a 5 Star experience and the team will be happy to know we achieved that for you.
I am glad you enjoyed our Award winning Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, It's where all the locals come and you enjoyed it in the privacy of your room. We look forward to seeing you next time. Please let us know if we can ever do anything to make your stay better.
Thank you
Tony Shepard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

The customer service was top notch. The bartender remembered my name on the second night of my stay along with the drink I enjoy. At I was greeted warmly by Kathy and she was very attentive. The icing on the cake was when Michael gave myself and coworker a hotel shuttle ride at 4:40 a.m. since we were concerned about getting an uber at that hour. We was right on time and handled our bags.

The room was a little dated but clean. The bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondetexan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Hi, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. We will be sure and share your compliments with restaurant and hotel staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

We had a marvelous week at the Holiday Inn on Mills Civic Pkwy while our last son was getting married just outside of West Des Moines. We stayed for virtually a week and had the wedding guests stay an average of three nights for the event. We cannot express deeply enough our appreciation to Gina and her staff (particularly Stephanie at the desk). They all went above and beyond in every respect.

We would up with about 60 rooms being utilized by the wedding guests and Gina had
been working with us for literally six months planning things like distribution of individually customized welcome bags to guests, grouping rooms together for different parts of the invitation list, making sure transportation was coordinated, and every other thing imaginable.

The onsite dining was outstanding as well. Generally, hotel dining is merely passable but located in the hotel is a Johnny's Italian Steakhouse that is one of the best restaurants in Des Moines and has a terrific breakfast buffet as well. The service was first class and could not have be improved upon.

Back to Gina for a moment. We had met with Gina last May after speaking on the phone several times earlier and she was an absolute delight to work with and really showed that she loves her job and is a fantastic professional. Kudos to her and our most heartfelt thanks. Without her personal attention, this weekend could have been difficult. Stephanie at the desk ran things flawlessly and within a day obviously knew who were there for the wedding and treated everyone as family.

The whole week at this establishment was absolutely perfect and went off without a hitch.
We received several comments from our guests that they could not believe this was a Holiday Inn and not one of the commonly thought of 5 star names.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TrailBlazer558898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you so much for such sharing the great experience you and your family had while staying for your wedding event! Gina is the very best at what she does, and it is a privilege to have her as a part of the team. Attention to every detail is the goal in which we strive to meet. A big part of achieving this goal is for the front line and service staff to be committed in reaching this goal. Stephanie has demonstrated this commitment time and again, and thank you for taking the time to recognize her efforts as well. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and your guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

I stay at this hotel often for work and have had nothing but positive experiences. The rooms are very nice and clean. The restaurant in the hotel has amazing food (Johnny’s Steakhouse). The location is also great as it’s close to many restaurants and shopping areas and is located just off the interstate. I highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank TraciH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you so much taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is great to hear from our guests that stay at the hotel on a regular basis. Consistency is such an important part to providing great service, and that we have been able to provide you with a great experience for all of your stays is the greatest compliment. I look forward to accommodating you again the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews