We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly overpriced "average" hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We used points for this stay. Had we paid in cash...this review would likely be more scathing.

If you like stuffy, hot, poorly designed hotel rooms at a higher than premium price - then this is your place! In fact the only nice thing I can say is that "Cody" was very polite at check in.

So - I travel a lot and have platinum status at IHG. One thing that I cannot stand us having to ask for an upgrade. While driving, we checked the website and found that many suites were available. Still I had to ask. Crappy!

I asked for a crib at check in - 730 pm - took the family out for a long dinner and returned at nearly 10. No crib. My wife called down for one and she was told that it would be a while. She informed the desk that we had asked for one nearly three hours ago. Then he said...OK it will be pretty quick. 20 minutes later it arrives...without linens of course!

The rooms are stuffy! We did get an upgrade to a family suite which was fine...but the AC quits running once no movement is detected in the room. I'm as "green" as the next guy but c'mon!

If you are considering a stay here - don't - unless it is free perhaps. Even then, there are so many great choices near Jordan Creek that I am confident we will not ever be back.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Jason H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and for being a Platinum member. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 203 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a really nice hotel. Great location, parking, lobby. There is a very nice restaurant onsite with a reasonably active bar scene.

There is good and bad though. Let's start with the bad and get that out of the way.

Two of my five keys to satisfaction were not met. First, the WiFi is intolerably slow. This seems to be a new trend in hotels. Give us throughput! How is this overlooked by hotels? If you plan on doing business through a VPN you will need to be prepared to wait.

Second, the shower, while really nice in condition and appearance, has very little water pressure.

My other three keys, bed comfort, pillow comfort and available electrical outlets were all met with satisfaction.

In all, it is a good choice for the area but the WiFi, with its "Dial-up-feel" is a real pain.

And I almost forgot - the best elevators of any hotel I have ever visited! They are super quick and seemingly always available. Well done.

Room Tip: Floors 1 and 3 have no ice or vending for some reason. Avoid those if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Y2kc5oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm a Corporate Meeting Planner and just got a phone call from our associates who stayed at the Holiday Inn for business! It's the phone call you love to get.........raves and thanks! Wonderful experience for the Associates....and for me. Great staff, facility, and customer service! Thank You!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this Holiday Inn. I stayed here overnight 8/9 in Rm 513. It's in an excellent location. There are plenty of restaurants and shops (Trader Joe's, TJ Maxx etc.) within walking distance of the hotel. There is also a restaurant in the hotel that I did not try.
The staff was friendly and the room was clean. I Loved the walk in shower! If I never see another tub/shower combo in a hotel, I would be ok with that. The bed was decent.

This is my second time staying in a Holiday Inn within the past few months. They are really stepping up their game. I will be staying with them again in the future. Nice!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miltowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here and we were very happy with our stay.. we had to come very late into the night due to some travel problems we had. We ended up getting here at 3am and the hotel staff was so nice, they could see we were stressed.. they offered to open the pool and hot tub to use so we could relax a bit... they also allowed us a very late check out, 4pm... rooms were very clean and big... great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetLMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for three nights. Approx. 15 min. drive from the airport. Very nice hotel in a great area. The hotel is new and nicely decorated. Rooms are a nice size and well decorated. Showers are a great size and plenty of counter space. I had forgotten my hair dryer and expected to have to use the typical "suck to the wall" hair dryer but they had a regular hair dryer. The morning breakfast has a very good selection, though I think they could make less at a time so that it does not get cold before they need to replenish again. The wait staff in the restaurant is very friendly as well. We also opted to eat dinner in the restaurant one night which was very good. I had the stuffed pork chop, my daughter a steak and my husband had pasta. All was very good and again very good service.
There is plenty of great shopping very close to the hotel, both strip mall and a very large mall within minutes. There is also a Starbucks within a 5 or so min. walk from the hotel.
We would recommend this hotel to others for sure !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I hate hate hate giving this hotel consistently rave reviews because the price has almost doubled from my last stay but what can I do? They deserve it. They under promise and way way way over deliver.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Mplsdtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek

Address: 6075 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: $122 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Des Moines, Iowa hotel offers comfort and convenience Our newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Des Moines offers business and leisure travelers a comfortable stay with premium amenities at an affordable cost. This hotel is near the Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and conveniently situated off Interstate 35, making our choice Des Moines, Iowa accommodations perfectly located for all types of travelers. Corporate travelers can benefit from the close proximity of our Des Moines hotel to many nearby businesses, including Wells Fargo, Principle Financial, the Farm Bureau and Pioneer Dupont. Our hotel features four flexible meeting rooms that can be arranged in eight different styles to accommodate any corporate event. Our non smoking Des Moines hotel offers easy access to many of Iowa's best attractions, including the Living History Farm, Wells Fargo Arena, Adventureland Theme Park and the Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino. Valley Junction, Des Moines Art Center and Big Creek Lake are also near our location. While lodging in Des Moines, Iowa, hotel guests can take advantage of the special amenities that our family friendly accommodations have to offer, including an indoor pool, a convenience store and our own restaurant, Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. This steakhouse serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Be our guest at Holiday Inn and enjoy our great Des Moines hotel room deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
West Des Moines Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing