We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Des Moines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice big rooms with nice bedding. Great lobby. Awesome Restaurant. No charge for room service and my breakfast was less then $10 including tip. Any other hotel it would have been at least $20.
Bar closes too early.
Great location. Near interstate. You can walk to the mall, movie theaters, and numerous restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mplsdtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 208 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

When one typically thinks of "Holiday Inn", one things of mid-budget family travel. I was plesently surprised by this Holiday Inn & Suites locale. Room layouts were nice (having additional blankets would have been nice), good selection of TV program available, acceptable amenities in the room. Overall, the hotel seemed pretty modern, easy access to local shopping, restaurants, acceptable fitness center facilities, good/comfortable seating in the lobby, coffee bar in the morning, etc. I was especially surprised with the above average food quality / price point at the in-house restaraunt (Johnny's Italian Steakhouse) where I and my co-travelers each enjoyed a very good dinner.

One minor downside was the "old style" wall-unit heating/cooling unit, which provide good functionality although at a room noise cost.

Overall, the facilities, customer service and small touches were better than I had anticipated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Been to Des Moines many, many times and this is by far my hotel of choice. Located right off the freeway with access to plenty of shopping and dining via the areas newest retail areas. Quick drive to the airport from these easy location, Great restaurant on site too.

Service is awesome and the rooms are super comfortable and clean. Way to go Holiday, keep it up with building properties like this!

Room Tip: View either faces east toward the city or west towards all the new development, not much to look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was not too excited to be staying at a Holiday Inn for business, but was pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn in West Des Moines. The hotel appeared to have been recently constructed. The lobby was nicely decorated. My room was spacious, nicely decorated, and very clean. I liked the retro B&W framed photos. I didn't get to check out the indoor pool but it looked nice and clean. Will likely return when in the area on business.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryang73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is our preferred Des Moines area hotel. We typically stay 2 or 3 times a year. The hotel is close to food, shopping and entertainment. We like to visit the main floor restaurant, Johnny's Italian Steakhouse for at least one meal during our trip. The hotel staff is always friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We love the tile showers with floor to ceiling glass doors. Each room contains quality amenities including Bath & Body Works personal care products and gourmet coffees and teas, and very large flat screen TVs. Like I said in the title, it can't be perfect all the time and with this last trip, there was a hint of odor (guessing it was body odor) on the 4th floor in the hallway. It was fine once we were in our room but it was definitely not a pleasant smell while coming and going. In addition, there were some loud/rowdy kids running up and down the hallway past midnight on the 2nd night. I'm assuming the hotel staff responded quickly to another guests complaints because it didn't last too long.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlhook77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a platinum member at Holiday Inn, Diamond at Hilton, and Platinum at Marriott, so I know hotels. I thought I would give this one a try since it appeared to be newer. First, the good, nice lobby, newer rooms, pleasant front desk. The bathroom had a shower only, which I prefer, why hotel have bathtubs, I don't know, who would want to use them? Problem is nice shower, except there was no water pressure. It was the least amount of water I have ever seen come out of any hotel shower ever, and I stay in hundreds of hotels a year. I imagine this is something the hotel installed to reduce water pressure to save money. It just is depressing when you come in late from the airport looking forward to a nice shower to be disappointed. I would have gave 4 stars except for wage pressure.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank rugdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here one night for a conferance. The resturant had excellent food and service. The rooms were wonderful. Staff was polite and fast. The motel looks fairly newer and more in a upscale area of Des Moines. It is also located near great shopping malls and in walking distance and close to the interstate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlhazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek

Address: 6075 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: $93 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Des Moines, Iowa hotel offers comfort and convenience Our newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Des Moines offers business and leisure travelers a comfortable stay with premium amenities at an affordable cost. This hotel is near the Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and conveniently situated off Interstate 35, making our choice Des Moines, Iowa accommodations perfectly located for all types of travelers. Corporate travelers can benefit from the close proximity of our Des Moines hotel to many nearby businesses, including Wells Fargo, Principle Financial, the Farm Bureau and Pioneer Dupont. Our hotel features four flexible meeting rooms that can be arranged in eight different styles to accommodate any corporate event. Our non smoking Des Moines hotel offers easy access to many of Iowa's best attractions, including the Living History Farm, Wells Fargo Arena, Adventureland Theme Park and the Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino. Valley Junction, Des Moines Art Center and Big Creek Lake are also near our location. While lodging in Des Moines, Iowa, hotel guests can take advantage of the special amenities that our family friendly accommodations have to offer, including an indoor pool, a convenience store and our own restaurant, Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. This steakhouse serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Be our guest at Holiday Inn and enjoy our great Des Moines hotel room deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
West Des Moines Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing