We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Surprisingly nice new Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice new Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was not too excited to be staying at a Holiday Inn for business, but was pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn in West Des Moines. The hotel appeared to have been recently constructed. The lobby was nicely decorated. My room was spacious, nicely decorated, and very clean. I liked the retro B&W framed photos. I didn't get to check out the indoor pool but it looked nice and clean. Will likely return when in the area on business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryang73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    63
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
33
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is our preferred Des Moines area hotel. We typically stay 2 or 3 times a year. The hotel is close to food, shopping and entertainment. We like to visit the main floor restaurant, Johnny's Italian Steakhouse for at least one meal during our trip. The hotel staff is always friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We love the tile showers with floor to ceiling glass doors. Each room contains quality amenities including Bath & Body Works personal care products and gourmet coffees and teas, and very large flat screen TVs. Like I said in the title, it can't be perfect all the time and with this last trip, there was a hint of odor (guessing it was body odor) on the 4th floor in the hallway. It was fine once we were in our room but it was definitely not a pleasant smell while coming and going. In addition, there were some loud/rowdy kids running up and down the hallway past midnight on the 2nd night. I'm assuming the hotel staff responded quickly to another guests complaints because it didn't last too long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlhook77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I am a platinum member at Holiday Inn, Diamond at Hilton, and Platinum at Marriott, so I know hotels. I thought I would give this one a try since it appeared to be newer. First, the good, nice lobby, newer rooms, pleasant front desk. The bathroom had a shower only, which I prefer, why hotel have bathtubs, I don't know, who would want to use them? Problem is nice shower, except there was no water pressure. It was the least amount of water I have ever seen come out of any hotel shower ever, and I stay in hundreds of hotels a year. I imagine this is something the hotel installed to reduce water pressure to save money. It just is depressing when you come in late from the airport looking forward to a nice shower to be disappointed. I would have gave 4 stars except for wage pressure.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rugdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilber, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here one night for a conferance. The resturant had excellent food and service. The rooms were wonderful. Staff was polite and fast. The motel looks fairly newer and more in a upscale area of Des Moines. It is also located near great shopping malls and in walking distance and close to the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlhazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Sept for a wedding. The experience was good - super nice and very accommodating staff at check in (Cody)- gave us our request for room and allowed us to check in a little early. Bar nice. Whole place very clean. No pets allowed, which is our preference. They could expand the hours of the shuttle. Didn't use the restaurant or pool. Complementary coffee in lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmull50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place was amazing! One of the nicest hotels I have seen! And the staff was incredible. It started with I think (Cody ??) at check in. Not positive if that is his name but he was so nice and welcoming!!! You can tell he really cares about his job and working there! also the bartender was great, went the extra mile & the Food and Beverage Mananger was very freindly too! I think they are all top notch. The room was beautiful. My mother in law came with us and she does not travel that much and she felt like she was on vacation. We have family in the area and a branch of our church just started meeting there. So we will be back! Thanks for an unforgetable experience! :)Justine Alexander

Room Tip: Corner suite was perfect, my mother in law wanted to move in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Given my position within the logistics and supply chain industry, I travel quite frequently to visit clients across the United States. Without a doubt, one of my absolute favorite stops on my business travels is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in West Des Moines, IA. This hotel is relatively new (less than 5 years old), is unbelievably clean and is situated in a fantastic area of West Des Moines. While it is roughly 15 miles from the airport, the Jordan Creek Mall and a great selection of restaurants are within minutes of the hotel (Johnny's Italian Steakhouse is actually in the hotel as an FYI). There's also relatively easy access to several business traveller favorites like Wal-Mart, Target, TJ Maxx and other retailers for those times when a toiletry item or even dress shirt/tie has been forgotten at home (all less than a couple minutes drive). Although the hotel can be pricey for the normal business traveler, the expense is well worth it based upon some of the aforementioned items. If you're looking for a quality, clean hotel with access to varied retail and food options, this hotel is an ideal choice.

Room Tip: Corner suites seem to be "larger" than the standard rooms. Consider bringing your workout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJC31589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#1 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#2 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan...
#7 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Wes...
#12 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 20 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Address: 6075 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Des Moines, Iowa hotel offers comfort and convenience Our newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Des Moines offers business and leisure travelers a comfortable stay with premium amenities at an affordable cost. This hotel is near the Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and conveniently situated off Interstate 35, making our choice Des Moines, Iowa accommodations perfectly located for all types of travelers. Corporate travelers can benefit from the close proximity of our Des Moines hotel to many nearby businesses, including Wells Fargo, Principle Financial, the Farm Bureau and Pioneer Dupont. Our hotel features four flexible meeting rooms that can be arranged in eight different styles to accommodate any corporate event. Our non smoking Des Moines hotel offers easy access to many of Iowa's best attractions, including the Living History Farm, Wells Fargo Arena, Adventureland Theme Park and the Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino. Valley Junction, Des Moines Art Center and Big Creek Lake are also near our location. While lodging in Des Moines, Iowa, hotel guests can take advantage of the special amenities that our family friendly accommodations have to offer, including an indoor pool, a convenience store and our own restaurant, Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. This steakhouse serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Be our guest at Holiday Inn and enjoy our great Des Moines hotel room deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
West Des Moines Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing