We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious, clean, pleasant. When traveling back to Des Moines IA this will be at the top of our list for a place to stay. We missed the breakfast that is usually included with Holiday Inn so don't plan on a breakfast buffet. There was coffee and fresh fruit in the lobby. There is a nice restaurant in the hotel which is nice though. It has lots of places to shop right out the door and is a new district. We did not hear a thing in our rooms so the quietness was wonderful and the beds were comfortable. We had a king suite and loved the space. If you are going to Des Moines IA, check it out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    69
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
35
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Wasn't sure what to expect staying at a HI and not a HI Express. Purchased a room package that included breakfast in the hotel restaurant for two adults each morning. Kids eat free at every meal. We're used to the"free" convenient and quick breakfast in HIE but the rate we chose was $10 more/night which meant my mom and I would eat for about $5/piece. I think I heard the buffet is typically $8/person. Also wasn't sure how convenient the parking would be at a bigger hotel. Was pleased that we got a parking spot right up front each night. Ate dinner in Johnny's Steakhouse. My kids ate free so even though my dinner was a little on the pricey side, when averaged out, it really wasn't bad. I had a pasta dish that was very delicious. Server was great. We had the breakfast buffet in the restaurant two mornings. One of the days was a weekend day and they had an omelet station. They did not have the omelet station on the weekday but there was still plenty of hot items to choose from. They had the best bacon! And again, my kids ate free, so that is always a plus! Our room was plenty comfortable, but I would point out that I believe all the rooms have *showers* and not bathtubs. Maybe there are some exceptions? But our room only had a shower. We had to cut our trip short due to a death in the family and the front desk staff was very accomodating and understanding. The hotel was in what felt to us like a very safe area. Very convenient to the mall and plenty of restaurants. It is just a short drive off the expressway and a short drive to downtown Des Moines (10-15 minutes). If you're looking for a hotel that is a step up from the Holiday Inn Express model, then this is the hotel for you. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mission_50Capitals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Nice property located within walking distance of Jordan Creek Mall. Newer H.I property with attached Johnny's Steakhouse restaurant. Entire hotel is nice. Rooms and public areas very nice. Flat screen TV in room with plenty of channels. Friendly desk help and hotel and restaurant workers. Price of hotel continues to creep. Breakfast offers a hot buffet but it's not that great. Not too many choices - maybe you can order from the menu. For 8.95, I've certainly paid more and gotten less. This is my top choice in West Des Moines.

Room Tip: Don't see any "negative" rooms. This is a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kubzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a good value if you can get a discount

Nice and clean

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

West Des Moines is the "nicer" part of the city IMO, with several restaurants and a big mall with not much urban blight. We were there for a soccer tournament so we just needed a clean safe place to rest between games. The breakfast had several hot choices as well as the routine cold choices. The hotel was very clean and the personnel were friendly. The indoor pool was very small and had a cramped feeling but then again, we were not there to swim. This hotel also had a computer area, with two computers that you could log onto for free, but with a hotel full of kids it was hard to get to the computer before a kid got there...no time limit either so that was a hassle if you had to rely on that computer. Now I travel with my laptop, so its not an issue. Parking was plentiful around the entire property so you could choose to park under your window. Overall a nice stay for our business needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momwith5kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I arrived at the Holiday Inn in West Des Moines with a fever of 100 degrees and a variety of other medical issues meaning that I felt dreadful. I needed emergency medical attention and the team helped me to find the local doctor, took me there in their minibus and then came to collect me and take me to get prescriptions. Lucas, the driver and the general manager were all fantastic in taking care of me.

The hotel is exactly what you would normally expect from a Holiday Inn, clean, modern, basic but this one had really great customer service so I would definitely recommend staying here.

My heart sank when I saw that there was a grill attached to the hotel (I'm a vegetarian) but they coped relatively well with this.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Flyer_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Just moved to the area, company put us up here. Very impressive as Holiday Inns go. Free beverage at their restaurant for Priority Club members. Gorgeous, new hotel. Big glass walk-in showers (a fave feature of mine). Courteous staff (including great bar tenders at Johnies). Will recommend to family when they visit us here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan...
#9 of 22 in West Des Moines
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Address: 6075 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Des Moines, Iowa hotel offers comfort and convenience Our newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Des Moines offers business and leisure travelers a comfortable stay with premium amenities at an affordable cost. This hotel is near the Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and conveniently situated off Interstate 35, making our choice Des Moines, Iowa accommodations perfectly located for all types of travelers. Corporate travelers can benefit from the close proximity of our Des Moines hotel to many nearby businesses, including Wells Fargo, Principle Financial, the Farm Bureau and Pioneer Dupont. Our hotel features four flexible meeting rooms that can be arranged in eight different styles to accommodate any corporate event. Our non smoking Des Moines hotel offers easy access to many of Iowa's best attractions, including the Living History Farm, Wells Fargo Arena, Adventureland Theme Park and the Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino. Valley Junction, Des Moines Art Center and Big Creek Lake are also near our location. While lodging in Des Moines, Iowa, hotel guests can take advantage of the special amenities that our family friendly accommodations have to offer, including an indoor pool, a convenience store and our own restaurant, Johnny's Italian Steakhouse. This steakhouse serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Be our guest at Holiday Inn and enjoy our great Des Moines hotel room deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
West Des Moines Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing