We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and great area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2007

2 year old hotel, very nice and in a great part of Des Moines. Very good selection of restaurants and shopping within in minutes of the hotel. Would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newone222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 614 of 614 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2006

While driving through Iowa to Wisconsin - we needed a place to stay for the night. I found a good rate at this hotel and decided to try it. We were so happy with our stay we returned a week later to stay again while returning to Colorado! The accomodations were very nice for a run of the mill hotel! The service was through the roof! Our first stay we checked in around midnight...and the clerks were just as accomodating at midnight on the first stay as they were at 6pm on our second stay!
We had four very expensive bicycles ($4k each) that we transported for a triathlon that they securly held for us...we had Salmon from a fishing trip that they kept in the freezer overnight for us...the pool was stocked with toys for our small children (ages 3 & 6)...and yes..they have an indoor kids pool, adult pool and hot tub that is immaculate! We got take out from PF Chang's Bistro and ate by the pool on our return trip. We couldn't say enough about this hotel other than too bad it was in Iowa!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coloradotrigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Where do I start with this? I booked our room with a back to school special, very low rate for an otherwise upperscale hotel so I was a bit skeptical that we would get what we wanted, but the front desk lady assured me all was okay and I took along our confirmation email at check-in.

I go to check in and one of the managers is assisting me. We were confirmed for a King suite with pull-out sofa. The manager told me we were in a 2 queen room, I tried to show him our email and he said that " KING EVOLUTION 1 RM STE" (as it stated on our confirmation) is their coding for a 2 queen room, I stated that we were informed of it being a king suite, and so on. He basically treated me like an idiot.

Come to find out later, they were overbooked and the rewards customers were bumped into our suite. That first evening I was still fuming from being treated like this so I sent my husband down to the front desk after the manager had left, he showed her the confirmation and asked her what type of room we should have, she confirmed we should have the suite, apologized and after some discussion promised us our suite for the remaining two nights. Since we would be taking off early the next morning to an amusement park the hotel staff was to take our luggage out of our incorrect room and transfer it to our correct suite. We get to our suite at a little before 10 that evening and guess what...NO LUGGAGE. No one can find it in storage, or anywhere.

Finally a maintenance man or someone found it in our old room, it hadn't been moved and that room hadn't been cleaned all day. We were cold and tired and wanted to go relax in the hottub but it closed at 10:00 and by the time we found our luggage it was well past this time.

As I am unpacking in our new suite I find a dirty bra in the closet from a previous customer, how nice! We were also promised free breakfast buffett for every day of our stay but the manager would not allow it, only one day. The front desk staff did give us coupons for the remaining days. The front desk staff was very helpful (other than the manager that we dealt with) and one of the cooks from the kitchen was VERY helpful, trying to straighten everything out for us, but I will never forget being treated like I was by the manager.

I think the hotel is very nice, the breakfast was wonderful and the rooms are comfortable but it was just recently opened when we stayed and I hope they look into their policies a bit more and do a little "house cleaning" with some staff. Treating customers like I was treated is a sure-fire way to end a otherwise successful hotel. The pool was wonderful, they had a lot of toys for the kids and the baby pool was separate from the big pool, very nice. We never complain at hotels but our experience here was worse than anything I have encountered before and finally after everything that went wrong we were not charged for two of our three nights here. We would have gone to another hotel but everything was booked up and like I said, the hotel itself is very great, nice location, etc. just rude managerial staff, or at least the one we dealt with.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dkjm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#12 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Address: 205 S 64th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: $105 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines located close to Wells Fargo Corporate Offices and Jordan Creek Town Center. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our hotel in West Des Moines, Iowa is conveniently located near the restaurants, entertainment and shops of West Des Moines. Our Iowa hotel is near Interstate 35, Interstate 80 and 20 minutes from downtown. Plan a business conference or party in over 3,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space. Our experienced catering staff will assist with the menu and details. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi in guest rooms, common areas, and our 24-hr business center. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center or a swim in our indoor heated pool. Start the day with cooked-to-order omelets, waffles, or French toast in our Great American Grill(R). The restaurant is also open for dinner. If you'd prefer a relaxing dinner in your guest room, order room service or pick up a prepared meal at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Hilton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing